Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doggone it!, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. Margaret Bruce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this for my husband who has quite a collection of Fred Basset books (which are also read by the rest of the family!). This one was enjoyable even though we had seen some cartoons before and although most of these are not drawn by the original artist. Fred's "family" has been updated a bit...the wife now wears trousers and they have a computer etc. Otherwise, it's the same old Fred!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And Fred still carries on..., 7 Dec 2010
By 
My moan last year seems to have been sorted, printed nicely on smooth paper, so :o) there

Still B&W though & having read all his annuals since 1964 you can't help but feel some of the stories seem a little familiar. Not heard Fred get GERRATAVIT yelled at him for decades though.

The comic strip seems very retro now, edging into old fashioned even. Other cartoons like BLONDIE the USA 1930s are still going yet seem more contemporary. FRED still seems stuck in 1980, with those 1930s fences & gates long since rotted away in real life, kids playing "Indians" which seems oddly non PC today & a pub full of 70s faces not a 'shaded' one in sight! An old fashioned community life around high street shops & events is still enjoyed by Fred's owners, the sort of life that sadly is fading away in most towns & cities.

The odd hint to modern life is there as they get a new LCD/Plasma TV & do glass recycling.

Still, it's like watching Stacey in the Jungle (I'm A Celeb), it's a nice break from real life & should be cherished by those lucky enough to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...love FRed Bassett!!!, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Y. M. Batten "Yvonne" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love reading Fred every day in the Mail-the author is obviously a 'dog' person the witticisms and comments by Fred are just so true to life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fred Basset Year Book 2012, 22 Nov 2011
By 
M. A. Richardson "mags book worm" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Basset Yearbook 2012 (Paperback)
I have only had a quick look at this as I bought it as a stocking filler for my husband - I always get it for him then I can read it as well !! It is up to the usual standard of the Fred Stories. If you like Fred or know someone who does then I would say buy it.

I have also bought the calendar as well which is just as good. and again it needs a ***** rating.

When asked to review this item by Amazon I could not understand that this comes under 'Toys' and therefore I can not rate it in this section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fred at his best, 2 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Fred Basset book i have read since i was a youth and it is still as good as i remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Basset Yearbook 2012 (Paperback)
The book is a gift for an avid FB fan, Although it isn't my sort of thing I KNOW she will be delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars family, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Basset Yearbook 2012 (Paperback)
i buy these books for christmas for the family and they are always well read by everyone all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fred Basset, 7 Jan 2013
By 
A., R. Worrall "Gwylfa" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Basset Yearbook 2012 (Paperback)
Very good book and now in it's fiftieth year and I have them all! Look out for the anniversary special due out in June 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fred Basset, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Basset Yearbook 2012 (Paperback)
I buy Fred Basset Yearbook 2013 every Christmas as an extra present. He is always well pleased with it and, as I read the Daily Mail every day, I know it must be good. Recommended for dag lovers who like a laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Basset Yearbook 2012 (Paperback)
My 80 year old dad loved this! He has always liked the Fred Bassett cartoons in The Mail so this made a great addition to his Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fred Basset Yearbook 2012
Fred Basset Yearbook 2012 by Alex Graham (Paperback - 5 Sep 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews