Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The son also ruses...
Dummer's sequel to the quirky and very entertaining Serge Bastarde Ate My Baguette delves further into the uncertain ducking and diving world of southern French brocante markets.
There's a famous story that recounts Mike and Bernie Winters' first appearance at the notorious Glasgow Empire where, after Mike's introductory clarinet solo turn, Bernie pokes his head...
Published 22 months ago by Failed Pop Star

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The 'Del Boy' of French antiques
I enjoy reading almost any book about France and the French and this one was no exception. I enjoyed reading about the exploits of this character (I wonder if his name is real?) and how the author got drawn into them, unwittingly on some occasions. I am looking foward to reading the second volume of this series and expect it will be as amusing as the first one.Serge...
Published 24 months ago by G. Colville


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The son also ruses..., 21 Sep 2012
This review is from: Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France (Paperback)
Dummer's sequel to the quirky and very entertaining Serge Bastarde Ate My Baguette delves further into the uncertain ducking and diving world of southern French brocante markets.
There's a famous story that recounts Mike and Bernie Winters' first appearance at the notorious Glasgow Empire where, after Mike's introductory clarinet solo turn, Bernie pokes his head round the curtains, prompting an audience member to howl: "Oh Christ, there's two of them!"
That may well have been Dummer's unvoiced reaction to the appearance of Serge's indolent, rap culture-loving son, Didier. In fact though, it is Serge himself who continues to be the main pivot throughout a second volume of picaresque adventure, vivid characterisation and occasional, heart-quickening dodginess; a Runyonesque combination in which the narrator is similarly, repeatedly and unwittingly embroiled.
Unlike so many English scribblers, living the French dream, Dummer doesn't sit by the pool, happily ruminating on the discrepancy in property prices between the English home counties and south west France. He is there to make a living and however far you may buy into the stories, you can at least be sure they are based on a fund of first hand, real life experiences that may well be unique among expats. A genuinely different angle and a lot of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More characters, more fun, more of the real rural France..., 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France (Paperback)
I read and greatly enjoyed Serge Bastarde Ate My Baguette, John Dummer's first account of life as a brocanteur in rural France. Now he's come up with a worthy sequel, which recounts more bizarre adventures in the antiques trade, and takes up the story of the oddly-named Serge where the previous book left off. A little more serious than 'Baguette' (but none the worse for it - and it still has many laugh-out-loud moments) Son of Serge is another fascinating journey into the underbelly of South-West France, and it's stuffed with even more memorable characters: Lord Snooty, the faux-posh English dealer, 'Diddy' Bastarde, the even dodgier son of the dodgy Serge, Claudette the ancient but still charming lady of the night, to name but a handful. Well-written, easy to read, stuffed with fascinating detail, 'Son of Serge' deserves a place on the bookshelf of anyone who enjoys a slice of French life interwoven with memorable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun and very light reading, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good fun and very light reading. Has annoying typos but for anyone loving this region of France it is a quick and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant Read, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France (Paperback)
I loved the book, great writer. Couldn't wait to read the book at bedtime.
Alas it finished all too soon. look forward to next one in series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France (Paperback)
Ive only got part way through this but love it, the first one was good this promises just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encore! Brilliant!, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The follow up to the brilliant 'Serge Bastard Ate My Baguette' finds us in the weird but wonderful world of the French brocanteur (antique dealer) and we meet the son of the wily Serge Bastarde. I made myself late a couple of times for work after reading in my lunch hour as I just couldn't put it down! John doesn't mind poking fun at himself, and certainly has a knack for bringing characters to life. When on holiday in France I have always loved poking around old stuff in junk shops and car-boots, and am now looking at vide-grenieres and brocantes with a different eye. What a brilliant community! Being more flea-market than posh-antique, and having enjoyed a bit of bin-diving now and again, I have also gained respect for big skips after reading this book! A laugh-out-loud book with some great characters. Can't wait for the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read the first book and had to read this. Very amusing for anyone who knows the second hand game and is a francophile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first one., 30 Sep 2013
By 
mickpaul (point arena, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France (Paperback)
What a fabulous read, I thoroughly enjoyed the first installment and lapped up the sequel. It's one of those books that you can't stop reading, but with the dilemma of knowing it's going to end. I hope John has a follow up in the works as I am eagerly anticipating another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm so glad Serge is back!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France (Paperback)
It's wonderful to catch up with John Dummer and his adventures with the incorrigible Serge Bastarde again! I've missed him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read! Couldn't put it down., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France (Paperback)
I loved it. Too me straight to France and the markets that I love. Great read. I strongly recommend it. Smashing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son of Serge Bastarde: Mayhem in the Antiques Markets of Rural France
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews