Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
Being an arm chair traveller I have read a number of adventure books and travel literature.
I would put this in the top half dozen without doubt. The suspense and humour, together with
the ups and downs of mental state make it a compelling read.
Published 22 months ago by Dave

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
Little more than a log of progress on a long and tardy walk and row. Don't expect any extra tales of discomfort or horror as they simply aren't there. Refused to give up and finally got to the end of the book! Very disappointing.
Published 12 months ago by Gareth E. Powell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Into the Amazon: An Incredible Story of Survival in the Jungle (Paperback)
Being an arm chair traveller I have read a number of adventure books and travel literature.
I would put this in the top half dozen without doubt. The suspense and humour, together with
the ups and downs of mental state make it a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliantly written, funny in parts, kind of frightening in others, and also sad at times, I totally loved it.

I learned so much about the history and the economics of the area too.

Thanks to the author for sharing his journey, what a privilege.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story of a journey that to those not obsessed with doing something different probably seems a bit insane. The authors wife, fed up with her husband disappearing for months at a time into the Amazon on pointless quests, decides to accompany him on a pointless expedition with no back-up whatsoever in the depths of the rain forest. What results is an entertaining and at times both gripping and hilarious journey trying to cross some badly mapped hills on an old Indian trail through the forest between two rivers. The authors sometimes curmudgeonly attitude almost destroys their marriage, but he's not the only one having dark thoughts about their partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, at times unbelievable but very readable, 3 July 2014
An at times soul destroying tale of one man's determination and single minded obsession to make a journey and follow in the footsteps of a sidestream of history. He really creates the harsh nature of the adventure, pulling no punches on an emotional striptease as the elements appear to conspire agains his wife and him on their quest. Interspersed with wry humour and accute observation of the ruthless imapct of civilisation on such a remote spot, this book is guaranteed to take you away from your surroundings and to feel the tickle of imaginary insects on your skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the Amazon by John Harrison, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Amazon: An Incredible Story of Survival in the Jungle (Paperback)
Into the Amazon
I like travel but do not usually read travel books but am delighted that I decided to read this one. It is probably wrong to refer to it as a travel book for it is really a true life adventure story told by a serious explorer. On this occasion John Harrison is accompanied by his wife Heather, the fact of which, at times, adds extra stress to a stressful journey. This journey takes them down rivers and rapids and hacking through dense jungle with all the risks laid bare and clearly described just to get from Molocopote, in the Brazil upper Amazon region, over the French Guiana mountainous hills to Maripasoula a small town in French Guiana. To do this amazing trip all they had was a lightweight canoe, a shotgun, a fishing line and a very poor map.Indeed the poor map nearly resulted in a tragic end for both John and Heather but they made it. The book is well written and includes extracts from previous trips as well as extracts from Raymond Maufrais' notes from a similar journey which cost him his life. I found the book informative, interesting, amusing and very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredible adventure, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Pjhale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Amazon: An Incredible Story of Survival in the Jungle (Paperback)
An absorbing adventure. At times it became a little repetitive in the middle of the journey, but this was only a reflection of what happened. It certainly made it possible to experience every nuance of this extraordinary undertaking. Thoroughly recommended reading for those who love travel and Amazonia in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read although I don't know why they punished themselves ..., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read although I don't know why they punished themselves so hard. Those who have read this might also enjoy John Man's book Survive written in collaboration with Jan Little whose true story it was.. Jan was blind and deaf yet survived the death of her daughter Rebecca and husband Harry and was left alone in the snake ridden jungle to fend for herself. How she survived marriage to Harry is equally miraculous.. Another great read, again, based on truth and with an Amazon background, is Petru Popescu's book Amazon Beaming, researching Loren McIntyre's quest to find the source of the Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survived the jungle, I hope his marriage did too!, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Amazon: An Incredible Story of Survival in the Jungle (Paperback)
Personally I like an author who tells warts and all stories, this doesn't disappoint.
Some of the descriptive work goes a little too far but it's an easy read.
After printing such "delightful" points about his wife I did wonder if they remained together after publication

Like he says himself times of stress do bring out the worst in people and it does tend to show here.
The way previous and historical material is included really adds to the effect you can tell he's a survivor
If Godzilla and he went into an alley I wouldn't bet on Godzilla coming out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into the Amazon, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an amazing book about a husband and wife who journey into the Amazon. How they survived I've no idea but it was a great book to read and often hilarious at some of the situations they got into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic and real adventure, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the adventure but this book gives you so much more. Would i?, could i? take my wife with me on a trip like this. A fascinating book on the dynamics of a relationship put to the test in a true adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Amazon: An Incredible Story of Survival in the Jungle
Into the Amazon: An Incredible Story of Survival in the Jungle by John Harrison (Paperback - 6 Jun 2011)
Used & New from: £2.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews