Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars47
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2011
The story hangs well based on the cuppa. More importantly it does not pretend riding through West Africa is anything but easy while giving insights into local cultures. Keeps a good pace, so interest never flags.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
This book is a brilliant read there a area that needed to be expanded on basically where he was injured and how he managed to continue with a serious injury
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
This book is a real page turner. You can feel the exhilaration, frustration and joy as the author takes you through his emotional journey. Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
African bike travel. The reality. A good read and worth getting. Cover the journey down through Africa and all his assorted problems and adventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
A fabulous and fun read. Alan takes you with him on the back seat of his Triumph as you ride the roller coaster journey and tales he encounters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
after reading some pretty decent reviews, I thought I would give this book a try. I found it to be absolute Tosh... and that isn't the word I would use if Amazon would let me use it. Don't bother buying this book when there are plenty of far better motorcycle adventure books to be read on here
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
I loved this book. Alan undertakes his journey for the simple pleasures of travelling and drinking tea! The way in which he goes about it is far from simple though. If I undertook a similar journey I doubt I would attempt it on such a massive slab of bike as the Triumph Tiger like Alan did, preferring something a bit more manageable like a 500 single cylinder off roader that I could drag through the mud and potholes unaided, thus saving a lot of energy, but maybe that was the whole point of the journey, to battle the conditions and the terrain to the limit of his endurance. He succeeds, but only just, having to take an aeroplane to his final destination due to time restraints. I can forgive him this one indiscretion though as the journey he descibes and the people he met along the way renewed my faith in humanity. People who had nothing and less than nothing welcomed him into their lives and hearts to share what they had. One character I would dearly love to meet is, 'more than the word' Tabot. What a gem to find on any journey. With his unknowing witticisms he lifts the story to a different plane just at the right time on the trip!
An excellent absorbing read that I thoroughly enjoyed that left me wondering about the peoples lives Alan touched briefly on his travels through Africa.
I have awarded Alan four stars, purely because he didn't manage to accomplish the journey all the way on the Triumphs saddle!
An excellent read. If you enjoy tea, travel and motorbikes, this book contains a heady mix of all three!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Slow start and at first I thought it was going to be boring, turned out to be a pretty good read with plenty about his bike and travel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Gave up after three chapters.Bought this book after reading favourable Amazon reviews.
Have learnt not to trust reviews!!!!
As a keen motorcyclist I was hoping to read a bit about bike choice preperation,
problems along the way etc.There is barely a mention bike wise.
This is a book about a journey through Africa collecting tea bags along the way????
the bike is purely incidental.As such I was not willing to waste any more of
my life reading something of no interest to me...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Love reading adventure books and this one was great reading about the simple things in life that make a diffrence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)