Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
A brilliant book. Maybe not everyone's cup of tea, but if you have any interest in travel, motorbike riding, Africa, social commentary on people and culture, or tea, (of course) then this is a must have book.

Very well written with a dry and, at times, wicked sense of humour Alan Whelan has captured the adventure of taking on all Africa can throw at anyone...
Published on 14 April 2010 by Michael Donkin

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Annoying and best avoided
Am I the only person who found this guy arrogant and intensely annoying? His trip through Africa is one disaster to another. It seems that the idea was thought up in a pub and then carried through without any basic planning or realisation that maybe not everyone else in the world shares or has even heard about the English idiosyncrasy of drinking tea.

The...
Published on 28 Oct 2010 by Elliot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 April 2010
By 
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
A brilliant book. Maybe not everyone's cup of tea, but if you have any interest in travel, motorbike riding, Africa, social commentary on people and culture, or tea, (of course) then this is a must have book.

Very well written with a dry and, at times, wicked sense of humour Alan Whelan has captured the adventure of taking on all Africa can throw at anyone crazy enough to ride a Triumph motorbike through the deserts and jungles. All for a cup of tea.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What we all dream of but don't dare do, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read reams of tales about adventure biking, but never one like this. It's so well written that when you finish it, you want to brush off the red dust and wash your bike. I was ready to jump on my GS and drive to the ferry when I finished it. The book made me feel that I'd been with Alan on his journey. On the cold dark winter nights where I live in Norway, I know I'll be picking this off the shelf and escaping to the enigma that is Africa together with Alan again. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL Biker-adventurer, 19 April 2010
By 
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
This book is a brillant read. It's very funny; it's educational; it's thought provoking; it's inspirational. Alan Whelan has produced something sensational and very easy to read. I could not put it down once I had started it, and every chapter, indeed every page, was riveting.

The two BBC bikers 'cum so called adventurers' take a full team with them when they head off somewhere - Alan had himself and his bike. He's a REAL Biker-adventurer, not a pretend one like they are, and the book shows up that difference. This is REAL adventure, REAL danger, REAL excitement, and not made for TV like theirs is!

Read it now and buy it for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Annoying and best avoided, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
Am I the only person who found this guy arrogant and intensely annoying? His trip through Africa is one disaster to another. It seems that the idea was thought up in a pub and then carried through without any basic planning or realisation that maybe not everyone else in the world shares or has even heard about the English idiosyncrasy of drinking tea.

The culmination of this is an awkward exchange with a poor local who has no idea of the custom and wastes money indulging this weird Westerner in a custom he doesn't understand. It would have been much better to have drunk the local `Brew'; be that tea, coffee, beer etc

Also, the fact that he chose an inappropriate motorcycle, was completely hopeless when a problem arose, didn't complete his journey (he flew a significant part of the way), moaned the whole way about customs and did not seem to know anything about the countries he planned to cross or anything about fixing his bike irritated me to the point where I was glad I had finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If I wanted a sermon, I'd go to church, 11 Jun 2010
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book, as I am a keen motorcycle myself, and lived and worked in South Africa for over a year, then travelled through Africa and back to the UK, so had had great empathy for him. The book was very entertaining for the most part, however towards the end it became sermon-like, so much so that I gave up and just skipped through the last pages. For three quarters of the book it was exciting, funny, and engaging, but towards the end it fell a little flat and his arrival in Cape Town was a great disappointment. His criticism of Namibia really turned me off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, bad execution and dull writing, 9 May 2013
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
I bought this book because I'm into Africa, travel and bikes - seemed like a no-brainer. Mr Whelan embarks on a very long and hard trip with little preparation other than some "Tea Encounters", and knows near nothing about his bike and how to repair it, apparently hasn't read anything about the countries he's visiting, his sense of orientation is very limited and his riding skills are very poor. Therefore, he spent about half the book complaining and moaning as he fells off his bike, his old and inadequate bike breaks, he doesn't find the way and the locals don't help him as he'd like to (jeez, he doesn't even speak french). At first it was funny but at the tenth time it isn't funny anymore. This stuff also leads to very awkward situations.

As he doesn't know much about the countries he goes through, large parts of the book are spent describing the dirty roads and the villages, complaining about the weather and moaning about how nothing seems to work in African countries -surprise!

When you read a book about Africa you expect some insight into each country (as Theroux or Bryson would do), but Mr. Whelan never says anything about the countries he goes through, no information, analysis, political situation, no history or good critic whatsoever. This means the book becomes very dull at times and the hundreds of setbacks he suffers because of lack of preparation make the read hard and slow and boring. Finally, the rough critic he makes of Namibia (without really knowing anything about the country) and the sense of anti climax as he reaches Cape Town meant I was happy to finish the book.

On the upper side, it has a couple of funny moments, and apparently Mr. Whelan enjoyed himself. Shame I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Develops into great story, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
Initially disapointed as reason for trip seemed 'wooly' but quickly gained respect for the authors humour and perseverance.
Remarkable persistence allows him to complete a memorable and fascinating trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
Fantastic book! Full of heart warming stories about the good things in life when all around is falling down!
A great read, very informative, funny and written in a realistic way about real adventure.
A must read in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a journey through africa on 2 wheels., 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
A very good read from Alan Whelan. Could have done with a few photos to illustrate his journey!
This book is a recommended read for anyone with an interest in travel, motorcycling and an insight to the lives of the African people in the countries on the West coast of that continent.
I put this book up there with Jupiters Travels, Theses are the days that must happen to you, and Old man on a bike.
Forget about the so called travels of Boorman and McGregor, this is a book about an ordinary guy who had the balls to travel solo thru Africa to Cape Town.
After reading this book you feel as though you have travelled every mile in his company!
The journey is not without it's problems, the searing heat, lack of water, dodgy hotels, some dodgy people, trying to ride thru the desert and deeply rutted muddy roads without coming off- a few times the bike ended up on the deck- not surprisingly!
But like a true Brit he overcame these mishaps- including knackering the clutch up a couple of times, and the usual damage sustained when riding thru god awful terrain!
BUY IT AND ENJOY- A REALLY VERY GOOD READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town (Paperback)
This is to date one of the best motorcycle adventure books I have read. Alan Whelan tells it like it is, good and bad, by the end of the book you almost feel like you did the trip with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

African Brew Ha Ha: A Motorcycle Quest from Lancashire to Cape Town
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews