Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Dreaming Of A White Carb Christmas
This is essentially a Low GI recipe book, but the author takes a different approach of not listing all the types of carbs, but instead banishing "white carbs" - as good a shorthand for the naughty stuff as you will find - and using other stuff to fill those gaps. Oddly enough the most useful section I found was the one on using different purées to replace the High...
Published 9 months ago by Charles Vasey

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potatoes, rice, bread and pasta are the enemy
A bit of a mixed bag. I liked the inventiveness of quite a few of the recipes (e.g. using puréed cannelleni beans to replace mashed potato) - and the salad section I also found quite inspiring. General recipe and ingredient combos are also good and I liked the book in this regard.

However... What I liked less was the over-arching premise of the book...
Published 8 months ago by Dulwich Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 511 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to beans and pulses, 31 July 2014
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
We make the front cover meal almost every week! It's delicious and having resisted beans and pulses for a while, this book has been an excellent introduction. I appreciate that it doesn't rule out carbs altogether - which would be a bit too extreme for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful inspiration to switch out white carbs!, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
I'm finally clutching my copy of Cut the Carbs! Not because I'm an avid cook book buyer (quite the contrary), but because my white carb cooking needs a (colourful) makeover. Much like Tori describes, my go-to recipes all involve pasta, mash - and I may be the kind of person who declares, "twice as nice with rice!" So what I like most about Cut the Carbs is the inspiration to switch out these habits for simple, tasty staples.

I love knowing that I can stock my cupboards with beans/pulses and be able to quickly throw together a base for some lean protein. Tori's recipes are busting with flavour - but, gratefully, not ingredients which are impossible to find. And like her blog, each recipe comes with an entertaining and enticing introduction (matched with beautiful, mouthwatering photography) - which, for a reluctant cook like me, acts as a friendly nudge to give something new a try.

Now, I love sourdough waaaaaaay too much to ever give up white carbs completely, which is just one more reason to buy this cookbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely presented, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
Free Spirit "shilo115" (North Wales, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am trying to reduce my carb intake so when I saw this cook book I ordered it. However I found that alot of the ingredients were not standard store items and a bit too complicated for normal life therefore it wasn't particularly "workable" for me.

Nicely presented and some great ideas but not the cook book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One or two good recipes, nothing earth-shattering and the entire dessert section for me is a "con"!, 17 Mar. 2015
By 
Mike Somekh "Gadget Maven" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
One or two good recipes and simple explanations of the science behind cards and GI but overall nothing earth-shattering and the entire dessert section is preface by "sure there is some here" - seriously? Every single dessert is loaded with sugar (usually caster) - I can find those online and they have no place in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low carb diets are sensible and straightforward. this book is a useful contribution, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There was a lot of discussion about banishing the "white carbs" after the last tour de france when Chris Froome's diet was widely aired. I took it up at that stage and managed to lose a stone pretty effortlessly (though shifting any more has proved trickier).

Its a straightforward approach to cooking and eating, it removes the more boring stuff from the diet and doesn't require lots of weighing or tables of calories. What's more their absence doesn't leave you feeling hungry - as the slow release of energy from other foods takes takes their place (in fat i feel less hungry on this than i did on an "ordinary" diet). its also a pretty healthy diet and more straightforward than the low GI diet which it arguably succeeds

So what can you cook - well anything, just leave out the pasta, the flour and the spuds. But that might get repetitive, and that's where this book scores. Its got a good spread of ideas, so if one thing doesn't appeal the next will, its modern (very fusion, rather new world), its practicable - stuff you can churn out without great fuss or ceremony and it looks and tastes good.

So all in all a useful contribution to the No Carbs diet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
This is a terrific book. It is not an austere diet book- though it's perfect if you want to lose some weight and feel better. It's obviously written by someone who loves food- and everything I've tried so far has been delicious. The peach pulled pork and dirty quinoa is a cracker and the chocolate, black bean and cherry loaf cake is so quick and such a winner. Photos are beautiful and each recipe has a great introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More boring than Paul Hollywood, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
Philip Chadwick - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Pretty poor cookery book - the whole point of a cookery book is to stimulate you to cook. This signally fails with dull recipes and bland ingredients.
Another to add to the list of fad cookery books and diets - nothing really new here.
An opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilt-free gorgeousness!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
Perfect fusion of gorgeously yummy tastes with incredibly smart carb alternatives. Tori's writing style is as affectionate and wonderful as her blog - I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inspiring for the healthy cook, 26 July 2014
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a wonderful hard back, colorful delight of recipes to make your mouth water, and want to be really healthy 24/7!

The author has spent time researching food that is healthy and low in carbohydrates to promote healthy balanced meals and possible weight-loss.

It is presented in a professional way so that it is easily understood.

Recipes include:
Uplifting and fortifying breakfasts
Light snacks to serve with drinks
Lean summer feasts
Soups
Interesting sides and salads
Moresh puds

Recipes are tasty, instructions are laid out clearly with everything you need to know from introduction about the meal, additions, portions and how to serve a delicious meal that is as good as the picture displays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book so good for a healthy diet, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great (Hardcover)
great book so good for a healthy diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 511 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cut the Carbs: 100 Recipes to Help You Ditch White Carbs and Feel Great
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews