Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quotations and technique tips to dip into
This is a pocket sized, hard back book. It is made up of lots of quotations and sayings related to mindfulness. These are interspersed with tips and exercises to enhance your practice. You could read it from cover to cover, but it is more suited to being something you dip into to get some inspiration or nugget of information to enhance your mindfulness practice. It...
Published 6 months ago by Robert Hardie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The little half-full book of mindfulness.
'Little' is the operative word here. This is a teeny, tiny book, although the elegant cover and handy ribbon place marker combine to make it a fairly expensive-looking teeny, tiny book (if you're purchasing this for a present). The book's entire concept can be summed up by the opening page: 'When you are on a journey [...] the only thing that is ultimately real about your...
Published 4 months ago by International Cowgirl


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quotations and technique tips to dip into, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Robert Hardie "Rob Hardie" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a pocket sized, hard back book. It is made up of lots of quotations and sayings related to mindfulness. These are interspersed with tips and exercises to enhance your practice. You could read it from cover to cover, but it is more suited to being something you dip into to get some inspiration or nugget of information to enhance your mindfulness practice. It contains a surprising amount of material for a small book. Being hard backed means it is built to travel with you, so sit in your pocket and be ready to open and give you words to make you think, to encourage you and to help you in your day to day meditation. It would make a superb gift for someone you know who meditates. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The little half-full book of mindfulness., 28 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Little' is the operative word here. This is a teeny, tiny book, although the elegant cover and handy ribbon place marker combine to make it a fairly expensive-looking teeny, tiny book (if you're purchasing this for a present). The book's entire concept can be summed up by the opening page: 'When you are on a journey [...] the only thing that is ultimately real about your journey is the step that you are taking at this moment. That's all there ever is.'

This is a book you'll want to dip into, rather than read from cover to cover. Some pages have denser text than others (page 94, for instance, consists of the rather oddly punctuated words: 'Breathe – and – smile!') and it's worth noting that, teeny tiny though it is, this book contains a lot of blank space for your buck. There are tips on meditation and inspirational quotes from Einstein and Mother Teresa, among others, and lots of tidbits about what, exactly, mindfulness is (sort of 'being in the moment', I think). Some tips, of course, are more helpful than others. 'Spend a day accepting yourself' is a great tip, yes, but I'm none the wiser about how I'm meant to achieve it. This one, however – a quote from Lin Yutang – I've got down to a fine art: 'If you can spend a perfectly useless afternoon in a perfectly useless manner, you have learned how to live.' Good-ish, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Breaths Now...., 13 Mar 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In 'The Little Book Of Mindfulness' (and it is indeed a tiny tome) Tiddy Rowan
delivers some sweet thoughts and a gentle model for tackling stress in the
modern world as it races by and through us, one moment imperceptibly following
another, in a whirl of thought and unconnected emotion. Tiddy wants us to make
time for ourselves; to take notice of what is happening right here, right now,
unencumbered and uninterrupted by the million woes and what-have-yous that
threaten to overwhelm us; emptying our busy minds of both past and future.

'Mindfulness' is a quasi-meditative process by which, through a disciplined
process of slow measured breathing, permits us to take stock of our experience
as it is lived; taking notice of the small things happening around and within us
and excluding, through practice, unwanted or unhelpful thoughts. It seems to
be catching on like wildfire, perhaps because it is neat and manageable and
can fit into almost any part of the day. The UK National Institute of Clinical
Excellence (NICE) seems to have approved the techniques transposed to
'Mindfulness Based Cognitive Therapy' for the treatment and prevention of
depression but the ideas would certainly also have meaningful application in
everyday life. It's all about taking time out and treating yourself more moderately.

There are some nice anecdotes and quotes running through the text which gave
me pause to smile on more than one occasion and that's a good thing methinks.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is a little book of mindfulness, 15 May 2014
By 
Phillyfan (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This looks straightaway like a gift book and is well produced and has a brief suggestion or quotation on each page. I had been wanting to find out more about mindfulness for some time and this did help. However, if I had been buying this, I think I would have spent a bit more and tried to get something which went into the topic in more depth. This does no more than whet the appetite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete but a nice gift item, 26 April 2014
By 
girl - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is OK. It's the kind of thing to dip in and out of. It has no real structure and is more a collection of tips and ideas to practice mindfulness rather than a more complete guide to mindful living and behaviour. It's useful for when you have some downtime and want to pick out one of the techniques to practice but not as a replacement for a more thorough mindfulness guide. It's probably most suited as a gift product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for quick read, but not a guide to mindfulness, 23 April 2014
By 
Ajo "ak" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small book with fairly large font thus not much fits into it.
I find it good for a quick read when ever I have 5 minutes (on train, during break) - there are very small sections that can be read in one go and remind oneself of 'mindfulness'. It contains many quotes supporting this as well.
However it is not a guide to mindfulness, I would recomend it only to someone who is familiar with this concept - it is not a book for a novice.
Anyone wanting a start in this subject buy a more in depth guide like: Mindfulness: A practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world by Williams and Penman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Book of Mindfulness - Great gift for those into Alternative Therapies, 24 July 2014
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Small book with a nice hard back, it feels nice and looks like a great gift idea for anyone into alternative medicine.

The pages feel good quality and a ribbon book mark complete the book, so it looks worth the price it is, not a cheap looking paperback.

Small it might be but a lot of insight into how we breathe, relax and need to make time to really smell life around us.

I for one am always rushing around but needed to slow down or else face burn out. Pacing I have tried to not much avail. So seeing this book and as it is not a heavy going thick full of medical jargon thought it might be worth a try.

Easy going pages, in easy clear language, perfect for just dipping into when you have a spare few moments.

Mindfulness really does seem to be a modern way of trying to meditate, not to everyone's taste and some may even find it useless for them. I was at a point where I was basically willing to give anything a go, painkillers only so many, pain clinics etc only do many you can do. Suffering with both Fybromyliga and OA life does seem a struggle at more times than others but hoping this little book may help in some way however small. It does help you look at things in a different light which is what it is all about and concentrate on how and what your body is doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fairly mediocre..., 14 May 2014
By 
Me read (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a pretty, well laid out little book, with the emphasis on 'little'. It's pocket sized so I imagine it's prime use is as a little thing to be tucked away in a handbag or shirt pocket to have ready at hand when in need of a little inspiration to calm the mind.

It's very pretty but is flimsy on content (if what you're looking for is a better understanding of mindfulness). It's little more than a collection of inspirational quotes and while these may help if all you're looking for is a prompt to clearing your mind while on the move, there's nothing nothing new here.

It would make a nice gift and is the sort of little book that you can find in gift shops that sell scented candles and handmade soap. There's nothing too deep here though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 17 April 2014
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Needed to buy a highlighter as there was so much in here that struck a cord with me. Perfect pocket size and inspirational as well. A wonderful find
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Small in size and content too, 14 April 2014
By 
Jack Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Mindfulness (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When you think of books that might be interesting to leave on the side for people to pick up you usually think of the large and highly visual coffee table photography types based around travel or great locations. With this little book of mindfulness however they've managed to create the same effect in something a lot smaller - in fact it's the size, which is really quite small like a notebook and the cute design that draws you in and may get you looking inside in the first place.

When you do get inside it's a little bit disappointing. There isn't much content and what is there is a series of quotes a few tools and techniques that might help you to de-stress. What isn't here is anything new, nor is it particularly well organised which makes it great to dip into but not so great for someone on a journey with the aim to become more mindful.

Overall, while this book is interesting and looks great from the outside, for me it lacks purpose. Neither a reference book nor a how to guide it exists almost for the fact it looks good and little else. If you want something to clutter up your sideboard looking pretty then go ahead and purchase otherwise move on elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Book of Mindfulness
The Little Book of Mindfulness by Tiddy Rowan (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2013)
£4.79
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews