Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kids Only Cookbook
We've had the kids only cookbook now for just over a week and have already made five of the recipes. My boys are not quite the target age at 4 and 3, the book suggests age 8-12, but they have loved the book so far, they've just needed a bit more supervision.

The book has a bright and fun feel and written and presented in a sort of cartoon strip fashion...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun!
My 6 and 4 year old enjoyed making fairy cakes from this book! The recipes are easy and straight forward to go with children! The recipes are not very healthy though as I thought they called for more butter and sugar more than I thought necessary? Well maybe that's why we should not bake too often! Being a children's book I think the recipes could be adjusted and still...
Published 3 months ago by HELGA


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kids Only Cookbook, 26 July 2013
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
We've had the kids only cookbook now for just over a week and have already made five of the recipes. My boys are not quite the target age at 4 and 3, the book suggests age 8-12, but they have loved the book so far, they've just needed a bit more supervision.

The book has a bright and fun feel and written and presented in a sort of cartoon strip fashion. Instructions are easy to follow and there are also some handy tips on techniques and info on equipment needed.

I suggested that my eldest have a look through the book and put a sticky note on the recipes he liked the look of, he ran out of sticky notes, he was excited about almost every one.

When I mention cooking a recipe from this book my eldest looks at me with his serious eyes and says `Remember, it's a kids only cookbook, I'll be cooking it myself' I just have to nod and go along with it. We cook together quite regularly and I supervise with these recipes adapting techniques where necessary, my youngest likes to get involved with the messy jobs such as squishing the avocado for the guacamole by hand instead of chopping, messy is fun.

Recipes that stood out to me (and that I have entered sticky notes for) are the paper bag breakfast, sounds like great fun and showing that cooking doesn't have to be in the kitchen. Also toasty baskets look ideal for picnics and fairy bread is definitely on the list!

What I like about this book as an adult is the recipes are simple, good food recipes and as a busy mum with a brain full of thoughts about how we're going to fill our school holidays, sometimes meal planning is almost impossible. So it's nice to glance through and think `Oh yeah, chicken fajitas, why didn't I think of that?'. I would definitely recommend this book to any child showing an interest in cooking, it would make a great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kids Only Cookbook, 30 Oct 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really great cookbook for kids - colourful, appealing and full of great recipes, with easy to follow instructions. Before the cooking even begins, there is lots of good, practical advice; such as 'how to avoid a crisis' and 'how to not chop off your finger.' There are top tips, good advice and alerts when adult help is needed, (how much will obviously depend upon the age of your child). Each recipe has a double page spread all to itself, with a list of what you need before you start and photos of the different stages, so your child can see exactly what the dish should look like as they go along. Many of the recipes are those obviously aimed to appeal at children; such as chocolate and banana french toast or stripy sundaes, but there are also staple recipes for 'real' food, which it will serve your child well in later life to learn how to cook, such as 'easy peasy pizza' or baked potatoes. My own children (9 and 6) have really enjoyed making a mess in the kitchen this half term (they are fine with the cooking, but the washing up skills will hopefully come later...) and have tried out many of the recipes in the book. I think this would make a wonderful present for a child, as it is so user friendly and fantastic fun - my daughter was especially keen on the 'edible presents', which she plans to make her teacher at the end of term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic!, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Angel - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We have a lot of recipe books for kids, but this one really stands out from the rest, and we absolutely love it! Kids' recipe books can sometimes seem to be a sea of fairy cakes and cookies, but this book, although it does contain delicious brownies, cakes and biscuits, really goes beyond that to include savoury items that kids will actually want to cook and eat.

You can tell that the author has actually cooked the recipes with her children (who feature heavily in the book in refreshingly natural looking photos), as the steps are broken down well. My eldest, aged nine, is just at the age where she wants to cook by herself, and she finds the format of the book with everything broken down into steps with photos of what to do, easy to follow. I was a bit nervous about allowing her to do some of the chopping with a sharp knife, but there alerts on any steps which really require an adult and, sensibly, the recipes are graded with stars from one to three to give you an idea of difficulty.

We've enjoyed making and eating everything we've tried so far from the book from brownies, to the easiest breakfast pancakes ever via fish fingers, fajitas and lemon and garlic prawn skewers. It's the kind of book that is sure to end up with splattered pages as it's really of huge appeal to kids - I love the fact that the photos show real results, the slightly singed biscuits and dough splattered work tops are strangely reassuring to those of us who live in the real world.

Lovely book that requires no fancy ingredients or equipment and that was an instant hit in this house - highly recommended by us whether you are already into cooking or somewhat of a novice, it's a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely wonderful cookery book for children, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Complete with stunning colour photographs and easy to follow recipes "The Kids Only Cookbook" will be adored by children of all ages. My daughter cannot wait to try each and every recipe.

The first chapter is a detailed hints and tips section which shows how to prepare certain foods for cooking (eg. how to peel and chop safely, separate an egg, cook pasta and much more) also included is a comprehensive list of cooking utensils.

Then comes the eight chapters containing illustrated step by step recipes, a few examples are ...

Apple and cucumber salad
Awesome chocolate cake
Paper bag breakfast
Brilliant burgers with everything
Chocolate and banana French toast
Flowerpot bread
Jamwiches
Easy peasy pizza
And many, many more.

Every recipe looks and sounds delicious, so much so that my daughter and I are arguing about whether we should keep "The Kids Only Cookbook" on MY cookery book shelf or in her bedroom with her books (I don't think that I will win this one), but I will certainly try the odd recipe when she's in school.

So to sum up ... A beautiful hardback with large glossy pages containing tasty recipes which are simple to follow.

Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for any aspiring young chef!, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Packed full of lots of good fun recipes, designed to get kids engaged and interested in food. Well written recipes with alerts where an adult's assistance could be required. High;y recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sugar and spice and fish-fingers..., 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's not usually too difficult to persuade children to eat familiar favourites like pizza, lasagne, fish-fingers and burgers but The Kids Only Cookbook goes a step further and tries to persuade them to make their own with easy-to-follow recipes for those favourites and 50 other dishes and treats. There's a good mix of dishes throughout the book, there should be something here even picky eaters will want to try, but there's nothing too scary-gourmet. Some of the recipes take an unexpected twist - like making ice-cream in a tin-can full of ice (you kick it around the park to churn the ice-cream!), or making a toasted breakfast in a paper bag or sticky toffee pudding in a jam-jar - so there's a bit of added fun too.

Really the book's a children's cookery course cleverly disguised as a photo-comic-book, with each recipe presented a its own comic strip illustrated with photo's of the author's kids (and others) doing everything themselves - like a big book of 'SnapGuides', with each recipe distilled down to the essential steps. Any steps which might need a bit of adult help are marked and the book begins with some basic techniques, like chopping and grating, so kids are encouraged to do as much themselves as possible. Learning to cook is so useful, but it should be enjoyable too and this book tries, mostly successfully, to add some fun into the mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for budding chefs, well, perhaps, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This cookbook is aimed at children, generally aged 8 and above, to either impress their parents or thoroughly unimpress the fire brigade!

The recipes are varied, covering anything from a fancy lamb dinner to fairy bread with colour sprinkles. The pages are bright, have lots of photos, speech bubbles to point things out and interesting recipes.

So far so good, but it's lacking in a few ways. The snack and cake stuff look good, and I can see a child wanting to follow these recipes. However, chinese fried rice and lasagne, whilst being nice recipes do not strike me as something a child is going to want to make.The chapters seem a little odd in the way the recipes have been split; the index at the back lets you avoid it.

Overall, this is a fun recipe book for children interested in cooking who want to get on with it independently. It's not perfect, but it's not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will fire the imagination of every budding Jamie Oliver, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Got this book with my young nephew in mind. At 6, he's a year or two younger than the suggested age range, but he adores cooking - albeit mostly limited to buns and stuff so far. Hopefully, this clever and attractive book will fire his young imagination and expand his culinary repertoire!

It's logically laid out, with essential safety instructions, handy tips and a suggested utensil set at the front, followed by some 50 recipes grouped into sections such as "morning munchies", "party food", "when mates come over" and the fairly sophisticated "Posh Nosh". A comprehensive index covers all the dishes and individual ingredients. All recipes are graded from easy to difficult, so your junior chef can start with the quick and easy stuff and work their way up to the more challenging ones.

The instructions are all beautifully clear and are illustrated by plenty of full-colour photos. It's clear that the recipes have been carefully selected to look as good as they taste. The tone of the book is obviously quite fun and quirky, but never patronises the children.

Any child with an interest in cooking is sure to love this book and parents (or even uncles) will have a lot of fun encouraging their budding Jamie Olivers (or Delia Smiths).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 6-year-old is enjoying, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this for my almost 7-year-old daughter. She did some cookery classes at an after-school club and this is a continuation of that. She read the intro to me. It says "the book is aimed at children aged 8-12, but those younger and older than this will also have lots to enjoy". So she falls into the "lots to enjoy" category.

There are some easy recipes mixed with some harder ones. We've just started with some easy ones like the jam-wich, which is a sandwich with butter and jam which is cut into shapes using a cookie cutter. She read the instructions out then did it with some supervision, and now she makes this on her own. We are moving on now to harder recipes using the difficulty star rating so that we can choose appropriately easy recipes.

The pictures and layout of the pages are nice and colourful and she likes the title "Kids-Only" which makes the book feel like it really belongs to her and her alone. I can see her using this book over the next few years to make her first steps cooking her own things, before we can pass the book to her younger sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice concept - teach children how to cook & gain confidence, 24 Oct 2013
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kids Only Cookbook (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Beautifully presented cookery book packed with recipes, photos, ideas, methods and 'fun'. The principle idea is to help children (recommended age range probably 8+) gain confidence in the kitchen and encourage them to cook. For those reasons the recipes and methods are simply presented and the book features stacks of hints and tips to help them on their way to a perfect meal or tasty snack.

There are 50 recipes, each one rated by a star system (1-3) in terms of it's difficulty, over 9 sections:-

The Bits You Must Read First, Morning Munchies, Scrummy Basics, When Mates Come Over, Puddings And Yummies To Share, Out And About, Posh Nosh, Party Time, Edible Presents.

Recipes and methods are easy to follow and set out in a way that's accessible to the young or even an inexperienced adult cook. Not everything's simple and as confidence in gained in the kitchen there's another level to move up to (begin with baked potatoes with toppings and slowly follow the book all of the way to Dreamy Chicken Curry, Lemon and Garlic Prawn Skewers or Awesome Chocolate Cake. Something here for everyone and to suit most occasions.

The book is a large, hardback edition and runs to a total 128 pages with much of the space being given over to the colourful presentation, photos, etc., rather than the recipes and methods but; it's not a case of style over content. Children will be drawn to this vivid display and they're much more likely to want to follow up on the ideas once they're interested.

Personally, I think this is a great book and I can't fault the concept of helping a child gain a decent range of cookery skills so they can fend for themselves when the time comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kids Only Cookbook
The Kids Only Cookbook by Sue Quinn (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews