Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!
As a huge Cath Kidston fan, I was really excited to see the release of this book, to mark the 20th Anniversary of her business. I couldn't put it down and read the whole book in an afternoon, enjoying all the gorgeous pictures and feeling really inspired by how she has got to where she is today, starting from a young girl who loved playing shops. I love the fact that she...
Published 16 months ago by Joanna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A thick book with little content
I managed to read this in under 4 hours. Not much material there! Large print and lots of nice photos, very enjoyable, but kind of skimmed the surface.
Published 8 months ago by chicha33


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business (Hardcover)
As a huge Cath Kidston fan, I was really excited to see the release of this book, to mark the 20th Anniversary of her business. I couldn't put it down and read the whole book in an afternoon, enjoying all the gorgeous pictures and feeling really inspired by how she has got to where she is today, starting from a young girl who loved playing shops. I love the fact that she has followed her heart, staying true to the vision of the brand, and being brave enough to challenge when something isn't working (e.g. opening her American shops). Her attitude towards money and business is inspiring, as she hasn't always followed the expected or recommended route, and hasn't let the fact that she doesn't have any higher education qualifications intimidate or stop her.

Overall it has reinforced my love for all things Cath Kidston, and is a book I'd recommend for both CK fans and anyone starting out in business. I have already leant my copy to a friend, and have another one waiting to borrow it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 6 May 2013
By 
Grace (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business (Hardcover)
I always thought Cath Kidston's story was a riches to riches to story, you know the sort where there is heavy investment by affluent parents throughout. However I couldn't have been more wrong she worked incredibly hard to build her company into the worldwide brand it is today. Starting off in the industry as a interiors designers assistant slowly building up her own reputation within the field and earning the money to start her own enterprise. Having those links within the field proved invaluable in her early years when promoting the brand would have been incredibly difficult almost impossible without a marketing budget. Anyway I think I've given away to much already, it's a fascinating read!

She is very generous with the content of this book, giving the step by step process of how the brand got where it is today. I was temped to describe it as a 'how to guide' and I suppose in a general sense it is. Although a lot of the 'fortunate' things which happened to her came down to good timing, there is no reason why someone with a great idea now couldn't capitalize on the same sort of things. For example she was informed enough to open her first shop in an up and com ping area where rents were relatively low, but there are places like that now dotted all over London, including Brixton and Shoreditch, just to name a few.
Although this book has all the characteristics of a coffee table book, the large print easy to dip in and out of text, the beautiful full page glossy images and pretty CK print cover it's worth it's weight in gold to anyone looking to open a craft business. I honestly found it hard to put down and read the whole book in a afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read!, 30 Jun 2013
By 
jce "jo_ce" (hampshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't a huge lengthy book, I read it in just a few hours-in between doing other things...but it was the perfect length. I'm an aspiring small business owner and it was an invaluable read in that respect. Cath undoubtedly was in the right place at the right time, but you can't help but admire Cath for the hard work she has put in to the business to make it what it has become. I really liked that Cath was very generous with information in the book, which made it very much more real. Cath really shows that she is a visionary and never let's the business stand still.

A great book to read even if you are just a fan of the brand. It'll make you look at the shops with a new perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for Kidston devotees, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found the story of how Cath built her business very interesting. The warmth of her personality shines through the text and the pictures are a delight. For dedicated Kidston fans like me I think the book is a must although I can quite that it won't appeal to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Proof that Authenticity is Key, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this in a few hours and loved that it continually reinforced the idea that core values and authenticity are key in building and maintaining a successful business. I am a big fan of the Cath Kidston aesthetic and loved that there were pics scattered throughout showing collections and the consistency of the brand throughout the 20 year (so far) journey.
The 5th star is lacking in colour because of the way I felt drawn in to the whole Cath Kidston story, living it as though I were there and then suddenly being thrown back to the third person perspective.
However getting over the structure, the story is both inspirational and informative.
I love the end quote "when you're self taught you always worry that you will be found out"
and the idea that "gut instinct around your business is as good as any formal training."
A great read for anyone interested in branching into or through the creative minefield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business (Hardcover)
This was a lovely book to read. Nice to get to know a bit about the lady behind Cath Kidston.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cath Kidston story, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Catherine (Hardwicke, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business (Hardcover)
This book tells the whole Cath Kidston story from start up to the date 2013 of twenty years of trading. It covers all of Cath Kidston's struggles both personal and business wise. The book has some lovely photographs and I really enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fab read, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for my mum who's a huge kath kidston fan! She loved it
Super delivery time
Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reviiew of Coming Up Roses., 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business (Hardcover)
I gave this book to my daughter for Christmas. She loved it and really enjoyed it. Beautifully presented and illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice easy reading with some lovely pics. Interesting to learn a bit more about cath and how it all came about, wish it was a bit longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business
Coming Up Roses: The Story of Growing a Business by Cath Kidston (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
11.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews