Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cath Kidston Collection
This is a nicely presented set of three Cath Kidston paperbacks and the material needed to make a shoulder bag (apart from thread). The slip case is not at all flimsy and should stand up to reasonable wear and tear as it is made of thick cardboard.

STITCH!

The book is about needlepoint and cross stitch and includes brief instructions with cleat...
Published 24 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not arrived
I ordered this as a Christmas present well before Christmas. Still no sign of it other than an emailed update from Amazon saying no stock. Might be worth saying this before order is placed.
Published 9 months ago by judy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cath Kidston Collection, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nicely presented set of three Cath Kidston paperbacks and the material needed to make a shoulder bag (apart from thread). The slip case is not at all flimsy and should stand up to reasonable wear and tear as it is made of thick cardboard.

STITCH!

The book is about needlepoint and cross stitch and includes brief instructions with cleat diagrams if the reader is not familiar with the stitches used. Then there are thirty projects for which instructions are included. The diagrams are clear and easy to follow and not all the projects are flowers. Union Jacks and flowers might not be an obvious choice of patterns to go together but the cushion which uses these two together seems to work quite well. There are some eye catching Bargello patterns and while I don't always like the colour schemes there is nothing to stop readers choosing their own colours.

Each project is graded according to the skill level required and `ingredients' are clearly set out. Often there is an extra tip at the bottom of the page. The book contains a glossary, lists of useful addresses and a conversion chart if you want to use a different make of thread or wool. There are detailed finishing off instructions for all the projects as well as general instructions at the beginning of the book.

PATCH!

Covering patchwork techniques for both hand and machine sewing this is a useful book. There is plenty of information for the beginner covering materials, threads, templates and some basic embroidery stitches. Then there are projects ranging from very simple to more complex.

The projects include shoulder and messenger bags, cushions and pillow cases, table clothes and bed linen as well as children's toys and pin cushions. Anyone who is hoping for a full size patchwork quilt project will be disappointed but it would be possible to design and make your own after learning techniques described in this book. There is a collection of patterns for templates at the end of the book as well as lists of useful addresses.

SEW!

There are useful sections at the front of the book about sewing techniques, essential equipment and sewing machines as well as instructions for stitching hems, seams ties and fastenings. The forty plus projects range from simple to more complex and all are described in simple language with easy to follow diagrams.

The projects include all types of bags, cushions in all sizes, spectacle and iPod cases as well as mobiles and aprons for adults and children. Once again if you didn't like the colour schemes provided it would be easy to substitute your own choice of materials. There is a list of addresses at the end of the book and a collection of templates for the applique designs.

Overall this is a useful collection for someone who is perhaps just starting out on handicrafts and who likes the Cath Kidston style. It would make a welcome Christmas or birthday present especially as it includes the project materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely set, 8 Oct 2012
By 
V. Kilby "Wickywockles" (Hastings, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Being a lover of all things kidston, this arrived with great anticipation. I have no real sewing experience, but caths fabric designs just have me inspired to have a go, and really like the different skill levels, enabling me to start off easy. The book and instructions are presented well, the proof will be in the making, so may well come back to review again in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the free gift alone!, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Currently at a bargainous £12.00, this set is worth it for the exclusive free gift alone- everything you need to make a Cath Kidston shoulder bag in (my favourite) 'Summer Blossom' print. The little pack contains ready cut fabric pieces, a sew-in Cath KIdston label, buttons and the paper pattern. I can't wait to get started!

I already owned the Cath Kidston 'Sew!' book and have competed a couple of the projects - the peg bag and bird shaped lavender bag. I did A-level textiles 16 years ago but haven't done anything since. I found the instructions easy to follow and the tutorials very helpful. I'm really pleased with the results.

'Patch!' (30 simple patchwork-inspired projects) and 'Stitch' (needlepoint and cross stitch projects) look equally easy to use and helpful. I will update this review when I've tried a couple of projects out.

Whilst sent this to review, I have since bought an additional two sets to give as gifts.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Mike Davey (St Georges, Telford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Cath Kidston "The Collection" is just an excellent resource for both beginners and more experienced crafters.
The attractive and sturdy slipcase contains three books, Sew, Stitch and Patch which have beautiful pictures and clear instructions to enable the most inexperienced crafter to be able to produce the most wonderful Cath Kidstonesque works of art. In addition to the books is a free, easy to follow pattern complete with all materials required to make a shoulder bag, just the thing to start you off on your crafting adventure.

There are hints and tips along the way and each project is graded with a skill level to give the user an indication as to how difficult the item will be to complete. We are gently guided through the processes from pin cushion to quilting in easy to read and understand instructions and pictures to enable us to complete our chosen project.

There are a number of very useful templates at the back of the books related to the various projects together with very useful addresses with regard to shops which may be of interest, sewing and patchwork classes and sources for hunting down beautiful fabrics and haberdashery, it's just wonderful!

There is clearly something for everyone contained within this beautiful collection and even if it remains on a coffee table as a means of inspiration I would recommend this resource to anyone who loves creating or the thought of creating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps those fingers busy, 26 Nov 2012
By 
B. Innes "Mtoto" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Suffering from a rush of blood to the head have recently been trying to up the game when it comes to crafts.

A couple of months of trying to knit has lead to major lumpy grey small bits of knit vomit.

All this is about to change as I am seriously going to impress people with my new found expertise.

A huge saving on buying the books individually.

Beautifully presented these would make an excellent gift and there is even a bag project..... may put that in daughters stocking. ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy Gift, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Sam "kingathon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I think the word that I have already used in the title of this review is a great way to describe this collection and that word is 'classy'. Cath Kidston has built up a reputation for stylish and quirky products and these books give people the ideas and inspiration to create their very own products with a typical Cath Kidston flare. Included within the kit is the material to make a shoulder bag, but there are many more ideas within the kit than simply the shoulder bag (although admittedly that is a good start)

Overall I cannot fault this well-presented collection and it would make a fantastic gift for any fans of Cath Kidston and who have a creative streak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality & value, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
This product is exactly as described and good quality. Plenty of variety, my wife who does craft a a lot said it was excellent and well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful set of books plus sewing kit, 25 Nov 2012
By 
CMB (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 1:35 Mins

Three very nicely presented books plus a folder containing cotton fabric in a classic Cath Kidson style. The material is quite thin, so the bag won't be substantial. However, it comes with a blueprint sheet for cutting all the projects in the sew! book, and is a gentle introduction to get you started. Once you've done the bag, you'll feel confident to go out and get some material for the other projects.

The three books are sew!, stich! and patch! No idea about the exclamation marks. Sew! has lots of easy sewing projects - a sewing machine is recommended, but nothing to stop you hand-stitching if you have the time. Patching! is about throws, covers, cushions etc. Stitch! is about cross-stitch and needlepoint.

An excellent present for anyone who likes sewing or wants to get started.

Note the three books have been previously published individually.

The layout, photography and instructions are excellent and encouraging.

It would suit anyone interested in these handicrafts, from 12 to retired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 19 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've never been a fan of Cath Kidston before now. This is mainly because her fabrics always seem very childish to me - not sophisticated or stylish unless you're ten years old - so I've avoided her books in the past.

However, each of these books is very, very useful - and fun!

I was delighted (first of all) to find complete materials to make a bag included which I wasn't expecting. i will definitely have a go (again, the fabric isn't wonderful but as it was included, who's complaining?).

The books explain all the procedures in very simple terms - exactly what a beginner needs.

I've worked embroideries, cross stitch and tapestry for years, but the information in "STITCH!" was useful and it was put in an interesting way, so I was certainly not bored with it even though it presented very little which was new to me. The illustrations were lavish and very beautiful. All of the projects were (IMHO) do-able, mostly needing very little experience to get started.

In "PATCH", there were some very pretty projects which I'd like to have a go at. I've not done any patchwork before and the book certainly makes it all very attractive, although I'm not quite sure I'd want my hard work going to waste on a tea towel or the dog's bed!

"SEW!" (I wonder why there's a need for all these exclamation marks?) was another book I felt at home with, feeling fairly confident with a sewing machine. However, most of the pieces can be hand sewn and are fairly small - or, when larger, can be grown from small beginnings.

As a set, this would make a lovely gift to a stitcher, although I would think that most crafts-keen people will have at least one of the books. As a whole, there was some overlap between the books - applique and embroidery along with other techniques were found in each and the Cath Kidston fabric range was hugely promoted (as expected).

My only niggle (which stops it being a five-star review) is the print style. Almost the whole series is printed in white on bright colours so if you have poor eyesight, you should be prepared to struggle.

To sum up: no, I've never been a fan of Cath Kidston's fabrics, but I am a new fan of this set. I'm now thinking of getting her make-it-yourself rag doll for the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great ideas!, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) (Paperback)
There are some lovely designs in this book for every room in the house.
You receive all of the fabric to make a shoulder bag, which is easy and I'm a beginner.

The patterns are easy to follow with clear instructions and patterns in a folder.
A great way to add a personal, shabby chic touch to any home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!)
Cath Kidston: The Collection (Sew! Stitch! and Patch!) by Cath Kidston (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews