Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely tempting book, especially for kale lovers
This is a gorgeous book, and irresistible to a christmas book obsessive such as myself. It will also appeal to anyone who really, really loves kale, for reasons to be discussed below. Written by distinguished Danish cookery writer Trine Hahnemann, it gives a lot of culinary detail as well as a bit of a flavour of a Danish christmas (I do wonder whether the blanket...
Published 21 months ago by emma who reads a lot

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely idea but you'll be online more than in the kitchen
I got this book with the sole hope that one day Sandi Toksvig might become my best friend and I can dazzle her with Scandinavian cuisine. Plus I really love Scandinavian culture and cooking (Andreas Viestad for example) and thought a twist on Christmas is always welcome
The book itself is beautiful, the accompanying pictures are of a beautiful quality and there are...
Published 21 months ago by James Walls


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely tempting book, especially for kale lovers, 16 Nov 2012
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a gorgeous book, and irresistible to a christmas book obsessive such as myself. It will also appeal to anyone who really, really loves kale, for reasons to be discussed below. Written by distinguished Danish cookery writer Trine Hahnemann, it gives a lot of culinary detail as well as a bit of a flavour of a Danish christmas (I do wonder whether the blanket 'Scandinavian' might be a bit of a tall claim - for example it doesn't even mention Martin Goose day, an essential part of the season in Southern sweden).

It divides into seven main sections:
1) Christmas Baking
Very intriguing: Danish bakers, according to the author, completely avoid dried yeast and also used a product called bakers' ammonia to get cookies to have that crisp texture I recognise from Scandinavia. Here is the special bread you must bake to celebrate Lucia Day on 13 December, a local Xmas cake, and then a number of different special biscuits that are highly flavoured with spices. There are even those biscuits that get sold I think as Danish Butter Curls - though evidently you need a specialist mould to get them perfect in shape. (Which highlights a problem a few reviewers have already noted - it is a specialist, enthusiasts' book, rather than something for everyone because you aren't going to be able to make all of the recipes very easily.)

2) Gifts from the Kitchen
Here are chutneys, jellies, compotes and vinegars, as well as chocolate-dipped candied oranges. I started here as it seemed the most straightforward, but I doubt I'll be making the rosehip chutney, despite my reasonable sized garden, as it requires a KILO of rosehips. Cannot even imagine what that looks like! However the Christmas Chutney was unbelievably good, one of the best chutney recipes I've EVER tried.

3) Advent: A Whole Month of Christmas
here are outdoor recipes for barbecues and outdoor eating (amazingly, this is a feature of Northern winter life!) as well as indoor ones like Glogg, Aebleskiver and more pepper cookies. I enjoyed the details here about feeding your 'elf' and leaving out a boot for him to leave gifts.... reminded me of Harry Potter!

4) Festive Brunch
Here we get onto some real goodies like an extraordinary beetroot-cured smoked salmon, a vivid deep pink on the outside, and orange within; a fab Kale salad with jerusalem artichokes; a few other veg and some christmas danish pastries - worth trying once, surely!

5) Christmas Party
Suggestions now much more sophisticated: Kale bruschetta, Cod and Kale pesto (see a theme emerging here?) and duck and pork recipes to make your mouth water.

6) Christmas Eve Feast
Duck, Goose with apples and prunes, lamb chops, pork with cracking, quince ham.... yet another kale recipe this time salad with pomengranate; chicory salad, red cabbage, brussels sprouts cooked with clementines... all sounds delicious.

7) Christmas Day Smorgasbord
This was actually the chapter i found the most tempting - someone said somewhere they wouldn't be doing anything with herring!! But that's missing the point I think! so herrings served in five different ways, liver paté, a rolled cold pork and a meatballs dish, and pork with apple sauce. It's a bit of letdown there's no place on christmas day for kale, but there we go.

I totally agree with other reviewers who said you will need some specialist ingredients and equipment, but I love acquiring that kind of thing so I'm not marking it down for that. Almost every dish is illustrated, sumptuously, and the whole book has lovely snowy mood illustrations too. All in all a really beautiful book, and having tested a few of the recipes I can put my hand on my heart and recommend it absolutely as a cookbook, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to a Scandinavian Christmas, 22 Sep 2012
By 
J. Milton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With the focus of this cookbook being Christmas there are several chapters that follow a chronology from Lucia bread (cooked on the 13th December and in the first chapter on Christmas Baking) to a Christmas Day Smorgasbord. The chapters nestled between these two offer up delicious baked treats (such as hallon cookies and pepper nuts), chutneys (rosehip chutney), breakfast treats (Christmas porridge) and brunch ideas (ruis bread and rice pancakes).

All recipes are achievable and use ingredients that can be found either in your local supermarket or on a short walk outdoors, e.g. rosehips. The time the recipes take to make vary from under roughly an hour (oat cookies) to a month (pickled herring), but all, with the fantastic photography, look worth the wait.

Though I cannot wait to get stuck in to a bit of baking and herring pickling to make my Christmas something a little different from the norm I can't help but wish there were one or two more fish recipes to balance the number of meat dishes included, which is why I give this cookbook four rather than five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully presented - great range of recipes and lovely anecdotal commentary, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Arkgirl (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
This is a great addition to my Christmas cookbooks with much more than the baking suggested by the cover. It does start with baking some easy bakes like the Iced almond hearts and Crisp cinnamon cookies (p24) but also some more complicated that might involve investment in an oil thermometer or special baking tin (you can get the Aebelskiver pans on Amazon from about £20).
The book then goes on to look at gift making with jams, chutneys, vinegars and chocolate treats - some lovely ideas for friends but also great for your own kitchen. The second half of the book looks at main meals, snacks, drinks and special feasts for Advent and Christmas that will have your mouth watering.
It adds some nice twists on the Christmas theme and it looks lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely idea but you'll be online more than in the kitchen, 3 Nov 2012
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
I got this book with the sole hope that one day Sandi Toksvig might become my best friend and I can dazzle her with Scandinavian cuisine. Plus I really love Scandinavian culture and cooking (Andreas Viestad for example) and thought a twist on Christmas is always welcome
The book itself is beautiful, the accompanying pictures are of a beautiful quality and there are little tidbits of information both of the authors family and memories, and also of Scandinavian mythology, I like these touches and it made for a homely and comforting read.
Now the downside - as with every cookbook there is always a risk that there will be one or two ingredients that are hard to find, with Chinese and Indian cooking we now have a plethora of shops and markets to hunt down an elusive spice, however for Scandinavian ingredients we have Ikea! Not really a culinary treat.
A lot of these recipes have an elusive ingredient and while she tries to offer alternatives she does so in a very tired teacher kind of way "well if you simply can't find lingonberries with a flake of alpine snow on them then I suppose you COULD use cranberries" cheers love, cranberries it is then. For one cake recipe she informs us that it has to be made in a specific tin which can be easily bought online...
This isn't every recipe and there is enough here to make without wanting to throw the book like a frustrated Viking, and overall I really loved this book and it will really add a dimension to my seasonal cooking this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for anyone who loves Christmas, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Crimas (E R Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The slightly quilted wipe clean cover with it's gorgeous photographs means that this book this book has immediate impact as it is unwrapped. The stunning pictures through out the book makes it as much at home on the coffee table as in the kitchen.
Now for the content, the recipes are fairly easy to follow and should enable recipients to produce something a little different.The baking section is especially strong. The only criticism I have is that some of the ingredients might be difficult to get in the U.K..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive treats not just for christmas, 29 Oct 2012
By 
C. Hamer "chrisahamer" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being half Austrian I love celebrating both Austrian and English traditions when Christmas comes round. In recent years I have also loved picking up on other peoples' traditions. From celebrations to cuisine it is a wonderful time of year and this book, Scandinavian Christmas, provides a looking glass into the traditions and specialities of Norway, Sweden and Denmark during the festive season.
The best part about this book is the incredible recipes which aren't just cakes and biscuits but jellies, chutney, roasts and more.
I tried a few recipes and I can say that the Honey Layer Cake is not to be missed nor are the Cinnamon Cookies. I am sure that the rest of these recipes are also going to be ace.
Also I have to add that the photography is great and with the nights already drawing in and November only round the corner I did perhaps already feel a little Christmassy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously festive book, 16 Oct 2012
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I adore Christmas time and everything festive, so this book was already a winner without having read a page. Luckily the contents matched up to my hopes and expectations.

Basically this book is a collection of festive recipes from Sweden, Finland, Norway and Denmark. It's split into 7 chapters. These are Christmas Baking (breads, cakes and cookies), Gifts from the Kitchen (Chutneys, Jellies and Jams, Vinegars, Chocolate & Gløgg), Advent: A Whole Month of Christmas (Sunday Outdoors in the Snow, Sunday Baking Indoors), Festive Brunch, Christmas Party (canapés, drinks), The Christmas Eve Feast and finally, Christmas Day Smörgåsbord.

Each recipe is presented well with clear ingredient lists and instructions that are easy to understand and follow.

The recipes are wonderful and there are plenty of things that you want to make and taste. However, what made this book for me was the wonderful photography and presentation. The cover is puffy and has that feel of a children's book which actually adds to the magic rather than detracts from it. Inside it has the typical nordic look and the photos really transport you to this chilly winter wonderland and wonderful family Christmas.

There are plenty of recipes to try but this book also works well as coffee table book for the Christmas period. I really enjoyed reading and using it and feel that it will be a book that I will leaf through again and again over the years. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Nordic., 24 Nov 2012
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Attractively styled book containing scandinavian recipes interspersed with lots of pictures of snowy woods and log cabins. Padded, wipe clean cover and festively red endpapers.

At least half the book is devoted to baking and sweet treats, with brown cookies, chocolate covered marzipan, 'Nisse' (elf cake) and iced almond hearts among the many sugary offerings. I was particularly intrigued by the aebliskiver - which look like delicious little pancakes stuffed with apple, though you do need a special pan to cook them.

On the meaty side, there are a number of pork recipes, including a lovely loin with crackling and red cabbage, and a lamb stew with apricots that put me in mind of a navarin. Fish lovers get salmon on rye bread, beetroot-cured salmon, and various pickled and salted herring dishes.

The gifts from the kitchen weren't terribly inspiring, consisting mostly of chutneys, but I think the aforementioned baked treats would probably go down well as pressies.

A few ingredients might be hard to source in the UK, such as lingonberries, but the author does indicate where substitutes such as cranberries could be used instead.

I was going to award three stars but I was a bit tickled to read there is an island called Aero, so I am bumping my rating up to four :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mouth watering authentic recipes!, 30 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A quality volume with excellent presentation, including a `padded' cover and some excellent photography.

This is a book that offers recipes with a genuinely novel theme. It is so hard to find a different book for the culinarily inclined. Everyone has a cook-book on every subject these days but a seasonal Scandinavian theme seemed a really different idea.

This excellent set of recipes gives some different ideas of how to serve something special this Christmas. Built around genuinely Scandinavian tastes, this will allow you to be authentic and offer something daringly different this year. None of the recipes are pretentious or unmanageable, but traditional and at the same time innovative.

There are warm and filling recipes, lots of comfort food and sections themed around a Christmas Party and Christmas Day itself.

This would make a great gift, an excellent resource for entertaining or simply a great new set of ideas for someone wanting to cook seasonal food differently this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Christmas magic, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Christmas is a funny festival in many ways since, whilst ostensibly Christian with Middle-Eastern origins it has never really forgotten its pagan predecessor as a festival of Light and the birth of the new sun. Secretly there are a lot of pagan elements to Christmas and these are part of the delight especially when we think of freshly fallen snow, reindeer or breathing in the clove and cinnamon laden intoxication of mulled wine. Scandanavian Christmas is a wonderful book full of Christmas recipes which literally embody all of this. This book captures the warming log file, fresh snowfall and the smell of pine needles.

The book is lavishly produced in hardback with a thick, liquid resistant and wipable cover. Inside it contains a nice number of photographs which capture the season and the delights it offers without going over the top. The text is well written and the recipes composed in an easy to read format which will help prevent mistakes whilst cooking.

Split into seven sections, Christmas Baking, Gifts from the Kitchen, Advent: A whole month of Christmas, Festive Brunch, Christmas Party, The Christmas Eve Feast and Christmas day Smorgasbord, each section then breaks down into a smaller set of sections corresponding to the type of food or drink at hand. There are a good number of recipes in each selection which range from drinks, to breads and pastries to meat dishes and sweets. There is a very nice diversity of recipes and I am sure a lot for everyone.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scandinavian Christmas
Scandinavian Christmas by Trine Hahnemann (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2012)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews