Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really delightful cookbook
This is an attractive and easy to use, though rather heavy cookbook. Divided into 9 sections, from 'Breakfast and brunch' to 'Party food', it contains a fairly eclectic range of options from classic cuisine to equally tasty , more everyday fare, such as Cornish pasties. The layout is appealing and simple with a double page spread generally offering a photograph (these are...
Published on 23 Dec. 2012 by S. J. Williams

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm...bit dated
This is physically a very heavy cookery book. The photos of the food look beautiful and the recipes are most definetly edible. However, I just have not been inspired to cook from it - it is very classical. Lots of dishes with poached eggs or using eggs (of which Iam not keen) and endless fish and meat en croute mixed with recipes for very simple things such as omlettes...
Published on 19 Dec. 2012 by light


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really delightful cookbook, 23 Dec. 2012
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an attractive and easy to use, though rather heavy cookbook. Divided into 9 sections, from 'Breakfast and brunch' to 'Party food', it contains a fairly eclectic range of options from classic cuisine to equally tasty , more everyday fare, such as Cornish pasties. The layout is appealing and simple with a double page spread generally offering a photograph (these are very good) of the dish detailed on the facing page. There are also skills sections interspersed within the recipe sections as appropriate, such as pizza dough, brioche, omelettes and souffles. Despite the emminence of the author, the recipes are neither too daunting technically nor drawn from the more rarified world of food fetishism we see so often these days.

The book is well made and practical (section sewn, wipeable cover without a dust jacket doomed to get ripped and soiled on its first use, and readily opens flat wherever desired).

Would I buy this? I doubt it as we have quite a few recipe books already and there is little here that makes it a must-have: at £25 it is not cheap, though its quality makes that a not unreasonable price. But I imagine there would be very few cooks who would not be delighted to receive it and it would make an excellent choice for someone starting out in their own kitchen with an eye on entertaining and wanting an accessible guide to a wide range of recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for decoration - one of the best cookbooks I've owned, something for everyone to try and everyday, not scary!, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
G. Wake "gregwake" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Michel Roux has produced a book filled with interesting ideas, recipes and hints. Before receiving this book I was a little concerned it would be filled with silly, over-complicated recipes no ordinary person would ever have the time or equipment to prepare and cook, but it's all achievable, beautifully explained and described so that anyone willing to put in the effort can create the recipes listed.

The range of recipes is staggering from simple omelettes and breakfast ham and eggs, through pastries, doughs, stocks and sauces to meringues, chocolate souffles and to crepes and flans that look too beautiful to eat. The French soul of this book is clear, positive and not a limiting factor: there are ingredients and recipes from elsewhere including British Cornish Pasties and Yorkshire Puddings, Italian pizzas and pasta dishes, Spanish Chorizo and even a little Japanese tempura, There is something for everyone here and if you cannot find something to either enjoy eating or cooking then you're probably not trying very hard as there are so many different things to try.

Instructions are precise, detailed and not patronising; there is no self-aggrandizement, you are not left to wonder when to add salt, what to stir your eggs with or what to place your cooked dish on when finished, it's all explained so if you can follow the instructions you can make the dish on the page. There is precision in almost everything so you're not left trying to work out just what slice `thinly' means as dimensions are given, in some cases in millimetres. Occasionally the instructions are surprising like using a cut potato to spread oil on a crepe pan so it is vital to read all of a recipe and not skip bits thinking you know them already. Some recipes, like the Choux Pastry on pages 238 to 239, go further than lists and directions and have photographs of each stage, while most have one good photograph and some none: each has enough to show you either what you should be doing or what your finished dish should look like. Recipe amounts are only given in metric, which is not ideal for anyone who still cooks in imperial, and oven temperatures are in Centigrade and Gas Marks. It's a small criticism but recipes do not give any indication of nutritional content, such as a calorie count.

The book is well constructed with a strong spine which supports the weight and bulk well: I can carry it, opened, one handed and it does not bend or buckle. There is a lot of white in this book, from the white cover to the large amount of white space on each page, but the black text on white background is not harsh on the eyes and is a comfortable read. The paper has a slight glossy feel but is not overly shiny or reflective so can be read in direct sunlight and while I doubt it'd appreciate water it is relatively easy to clean so should survive odd kitchen bench accident. Treated with respect this should last for years, though with a white cover it will probably age quite quickly if you use it in the kitchen regularly so if you want it as a coffee table book I suggest copying recipes and keeping the original safely away from the kitchen.

Whether you're getting this out of curiosity, to show off or to try and cook like the author you'll not be disappointed. It's brilliant, I love it and am slowly working my way through the recipes. At some point I'll even try and make the `Classic Gruyere souffles' on page 56, a souffle being something I'd never even considered prior to this book arriving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mouthwatering, Inspirational and Unputdownable, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
Graeme Wright "book worm" (salford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
To many Michel Roux is the epitome of first class cooking; with his brother, Albert he founded the great London restaurant of the sixties, La Gavroche then, not content to rest on his laurels, he opened The Waterside at Bray and sonn collected Michelin star after Michelin star. His secret? Monsieur Roux's cooking style combines elements from both classic and rustic cuisines - he can become as absorbed in describing the preparation of a simple omelette as he can a carbonnade of veal. In a nutshell, he can be as complex or as down to earth as the reader would like him to be. And if that has a parallel in his restaurants then perhaps that is part of the secret of his success over the years.
It is difficult then to imagine that just one book would be able to possibly do justice to the great man's talent yet The Collection is a veritable treasure trove of ideas, inspirations and instruction. It begs the question of how did we manage without it for so long? Divided into nine compact sections The Collection deals with everything from basic stocks and sauces, through breakfast and brunch dishes to desserts and baking calling at all stations in between. Roux has the wonderful gift of instructing without presumption - he doesn't target any specific group with the standard or level of his writing. All he appears to ask from his reader is an interest in and love of food. That the book is liberally furnished with stunning photography by Martin Brigdale and that the 250 recipes are sensibly and straightforwardly indexed are flourishes which make this book much more than a semi-redundant coffee table accessory. This is a book designed for a working kitchen and offers something literally on every page to assist and inspire the amateur cook. But above all else The Collection serves as a valuable and tasteful testament to the genius of Michel Roux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Simple, Wonderfully Tasty, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
NeilC (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having known of the Roux Brothers incredible reputation for fine cuisine (and having been lucky enough to have been treated once to their food at The Waterside Inn) I was expecting a cook book that was an insight into the extreme complexities of 3-Michelin-starred fine dining but with little relevance for the home cook. How wrong I was! The book lays out (in beautiful clear detail with clear photography) a huge range of simple recipes that you can try at home. It has everything from fried eggs (don't laugh) to a range of mouth-watering deserts. I found the instructions clear and simple without being patronising and I've had a good success rate with those that I've tried.

I'm not sure what the books will add to an already well stocked kitchen bookshelf but it is a great addition from a master chef if you're looking for a book to cover great, straightforward cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite cookbooks!, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
Mark H (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love this book! The recipes are very easy to follow and accompanied with some really good photography. The language and level of the book are well judged so that both a fairly novice cook or a budding head chef would both get something out of this. It clearly draws on the many years of experience Michel Roux has had in cooking at highest level, but also features many simple recipes and techniques that it can help you master.

The section of the book that excited me most was the desserts. As someone who started out as a pattisier this is obviously where Michel Roux has his real skill and passion. I have been lucky enough to eat at the Waterside, and was even luckier to meet Michel Roux whilst he was visiting. Both he and his son are very friendly and Alain has definitely carried on the torch for Michel in the dessert department.

The other section I love is the Breakfast chapter. I love breakfast and there are a lot of really great ideas in this section but also some excellent hints on what might be considered the basics such as poaching eggs. Simple things done perfectly can often be the most satisfying.

I admit that my skills aren't up to some of the really tricky dishes but I have made some particularly good flans! And that to me is the real beauty of this book. You can find something within your ability in this book and it also encourages you to start pushing your boundaries too. Techniques are well explained and, I think, fairly easy to follow. That doesn't mean the results are easy to achieve though as it all takes practice like any other skill.

I would definitely recommend this as a great addition to any kitchen library. I would like to say that I take good care of mine but this for me is a practical book and so certain pages show the scars of rogue cream, eggs and butter. Thankfully the quality of the book is such that it stands up to this sort of abuse and remains perfectly useable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
Marand - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fantastic book. Given Michel Roux's (snr) stellar career and reputation I was a little concerned that there would be a lot of very difficult recipes and that the book would be one of those which would languish on the bookshelves. There are some complicated, fiddly recipes which are only likely to be used for dinner parties or on special occasions but there are also recipes which can be prepared pretty quickly.

The book follows a broadly conventional layout with chapters for breakfast, starters, fish, meat, desserts, etc., plus baking, party food and stocks & sauces. The chapter on sauces is particularly good. My handbook for these has for years been an old edition of the Good Housekeeping Cookbook but I think I prefer Michel Roux's exposition if only because the font is easier to read. The approach is to provide the method for various basic sauces and then build on those for additional sauces based on the same methodology e.g hollandaise includes noisette sauce and mousselline sauce amongst others. There are some great photographs showing the preparation of hollandaise, mayonnaise, crème anglaise and sabayon, plus fruit coulis.

From the starters, two recipes in particular caught my eye: terrine of baby vegetables and a simply wonderful wild mushroom terrine that will probably be my starter for Christmas lunch. Fish dishes include langoustine & squid tempura, mussels in a lightly curried sauce, seafood crepes, turbot in red wine, sea bass en croute, herbed monkfish in a puff pastry crust and a gorgeous salmon coulibiac.

The first recipe I tried was the poussin with ginger & lemongrass which was well-received although the sauce for it didn't seem to work even though I followed the instructions carefully - it didn't look appetising nor did it taste of much so I didn't serve it. Other main course meat dishes include roast duck and and rabbit confit. The latter is a simple recipe although it requires a bit of forethought as it needs time to rest. However, as the confited meat will keep in the fridge for a fortnight, it is an easy one to prepare ahead. You will also find classic French dishes such as navarin of lamb or beef carbonade. The stuffed loin of pork which is roasted first then poached is also very good, as is the beef fillet in a brioche crust which is a pretty straightforward recipe albeit it a little convoluted. British cuisine is not forgotten with recipes for cornish pasties and beef & ale pie. The chapter on veg, eggs & cheese provides plenty for vegetarians e.g. leek flamiche or onion tarts with poached eggs, various frittatas and pizza.

The desserts are wonderful - classic poached pears in Sauternes, citrus fruit in Sauternes jelly or roasted pineapple with Chinese spices. I have bookmarked the poached peaches with a pistachio crème anglaise for the summer - it is beautifully simple. There are also a few soufflés e.g. vanilla & mango with passionfruit coulis, plus classic desserts such as chocolate fondant, pavlova, tarte tatin, etc...

In one sense the book presents little that is new but its strength is the clarity of the instructions. I would advise reading the recipes through carefully in advance as no timings are given in the summary so you need to work out a timeline. Some recipes include prolonged resting periods and/or several stages or processes as part of the preparation which need to be factored in. That is a minor quibble for what is a truly great book that I know I will be using regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michel Roux: The Collection, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This a beautiful cookery book with marvellous photographs and plenty of step by step illustrations showing how things are made in more detail. I had wondered whether it would be full of complicated recipes with exotic ingredients but that isn't the case at all. There are some more complex recipes such as Sea Bream in a Fine Salt Crust or on a similar theme, Fillet of Beef in a Brioche Crust but mainly this is a collection of recipes which are likely to be used regularly and to become favourites whether you have lots of cooking experience or very little.

There are instructions on how to poach eggs perfectly and how to get scrambled eggs exactly how you like them as well s recipes and instructions for all sorts of different pastries and sauces. I like the way most recipes include suggested variations and tips from the author. Each recipe and its ingredients are laid out in an easy to read a follow style and many are illustrated in colour, the book is arranged under the following headings:
Introduction
Breakfast and Brunch
Starters
Fish and Shellfish
Poultry, Meat and Game
Vegetables, Eggs and Cheese
Desserts
Baking
Party Food
Stocks and Sauces
There is also a useful glossary and an index.

I found the book interesting reading and I have marked some of the recipes to try later. I liked all the different possible variations on pastry as it is all too easy to get stuck on short crust or puff pastry. The book will also be a useful reference for stocks and sauces. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys cooking and reading cookery books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass from the Masterchef, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
P. M. Ryans "Historian71" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Cook books can fall into two categories: those which provide endless family recipes and those which provide inspiration. A book from Michel Roux would be expected to fall into the latter. Instead, despite recipes possibly perceived to be a little on the simple side (how to poach an egg, don't mock it, this is Michel Roux so listen up) there are plenty of interesting yet easy to follow recipes that should become firm favourites.

We particularly liked Escabeche (p.47) which was so yum it actually got children to eat up sardines no quibbles.

Beautifully illustrated with colour photographs of the recipes and guides on how to do things such a prepare scallops then this would be ideal for someone who enjoys cooking but needs a few tips and ideas.

Sections include - Breakfast & Brunch; Starters; Fish and Shellfish; Poultry, Meat and Game; Vegetables, Eggs and Cheese; Desserts; Baking; Party Food; Stocks and Sauces.

Plenty of good ideas to fill your menu plan, without a lot of fuss, from one of the best known French chefs in Britain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a special piece, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
I have, like many of us, a lot of good and inspiring cookbooks- this is a lavish and well written and photographed book of luscious delights - my only small suggestion would be that it's quite tightly bound and not as easy to lie open to read whilst cooking from- great book of fine recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book for coffee table & kitchen, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. K. Cross "keithcelt2" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michel Roux: The Collection (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a large format, 320 page tome. It's hefty thing! But beautiful. It has many stunning photographs on quality paper with the recipes laid out simply. There are nine sections:-
Breakfast & Brunch
Starters
Fish & Shellfish
Poultry, Meat & Game
Vegetables, Eggs & Cheese
Desserts
Baking
Party Food
Stocks & Sauces
My assumption was that these recipes would never be cooked by me as a home cook, probably being too complicated & difficult. To my surprise, it contains some really quite simple stuff. It even got me to reach to the top of the cupboard, dust off the box, take out the pasta maker contained within & produce egg pasta!! The book gave me the confidence to do it, & it is straightforward. I don't know why I haven't done it before. Michel also guides us through how to cook easy fare such as scrambled eggs & classic omelette, & some more involved things like choux pastry & Genoese sponge. These are all accompanied by step-by-step photographs.
I decided to bake the glace fruit cake as my Christmas cake. It looked fabulous, & was light but packed with flavour. One I will definitely be doing again. The Spanish tortilla with chorizo is also easy & delicious, as is the escabeche (I just love anchovies so this was the perfect dish for me). This really is a lovely book: it would look impressive on the coffee table, but mine will definitely live in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michel Roux: The Collection
Michel Roux: The Collection by Michel Roux (Hardcover - 25 Oct. 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews