Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An authentic guide to eating healthily and well, Japanese style
Sushi has long been recognised as a popular choice for a lower calorie treat; a healthy light meal that's not for everyday as it can be expensive to buy ready made and daunting to prepare from scratch.

In Sushi Slim, Mako Sano shows that by tackling a few basic preparation methods, none of them difficult, sushi is actually a sensible, healthy way of eating that...
Published 15 months ago by A. I. McCulloch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Losing weight through a Japanese diet
Sushi Slim is a book aimed at those trying to lose weight. The premise is that the Japanese diet is far healthier, food is eaten slower (with chopsticks), people only eat to 80% full, portions are smaller, there is less dairy and meat, people eat big breakfasts, but light and early suppers, plenty of green tea, and rice vinegar to help digest fat. After the basic health...
Published 11 months ago by A John


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An authentic guide to eating healthily and well, Japanese style, 18 Sep 2013
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sushi has long been recognised as a popular choice for a lower calorie treat; a healthy light meal that's not for everyday as it can be expensive to buy ready made and daunting to prepare from scratch.

In Sushi Slim, Mako Sano shows that by tackling a few basic preparation methods, none of them difficult, sushi is actually a sensible, healthy way of eating that makes watching one's weight much less of an ordeal.

The book has a plethora of clear and well presented illustrations that make tackling the preparation of sushi ingredients (fish in particular) far more straightforward than one might imagine. Mako has her own restaurant in Hammersmith, so writing this book is a brave move, but no doubt motivated by happy customers who would love to try things out at home.
As well as the recipes, there is advice on food combining (don't mix dairy and meat) but whilst the focus is on healthy eating and not calorie laden meals, it doesn't come across as a gimmick. This regime has worked for generations of healthy Japanese families and it does have its place in our cuisine as we increasingly acknowledge the importance of avoiding saturated fats and high concentrations of sugar.

There are meal plans too and everything is backed up with solid facts to convince the reader.
A great introduction to Japanese cuisine and its value in a healthy lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic, but at times posturing, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I received this free through the Amazon Vine Programme.

This is a good book, with thorough, practical tips for amateur Sushi making.

The book is nicely presented, with beautiful - but achieveable-feeling - photos.

I don't know that the slimming side of the book is necessarily the best focal point: to me, this feels like a somewhat arbitrary imposition leading the book at times into unnecessary posturing.

Sushi represents a good, healthy choice that's doing diners and the planet a favour in stepping away from meat. It's an interesting, subtle form of cookery and the book is written in an engaging and thoroughly authentic style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty cook book, 17 Feb 2014
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Colourful
=========
The pictures that accompany each recipe are lovely. You can almost taste them on the page.

Yummy
=====
I've tried quite a few of the recipes and each one has been really easy to follow and really tasty.

Easy peasy lemon squeezy
========================
For a change the attempts at the recipes looked broadly like the pictures in the book. Normally I can follow a recipe and although it can taste ok, it often doesn't resemble what in the book. But the beauty of making sushi is it looks as beautiful as on the page.

Recommended
===========
Healthier and tastier than many cookbooks. So yes!

bon appétit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, yes, inspiring yes, realistic, not so sure, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love the concept of this book, which is a celebration of the low fat, and healthy sushi.

As an interesting book about sushi it works

As a beautiful book about sushi it works (wonderful images)

As an inspiring book about sushi it works

But I am not sure, love sushi as I do, that I could ever loose weight with sushi.

However I am delighted to have been sent this book to review, it is a most interesting read and well worth the the money as a book about sushi, not sure about the slim bit though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 25 Dec 2013
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really fantastic book- almost like the tardis of cooking books. It looks small & implies its about sushi but inside it contains masses of clearly explained information about Japanese cooking and its culture.
The book itself is as clearly laid out and presented as a bento box- well designed, illustrated , fresh and clean.

Not only does it give you details of why sushi is a benefit to weight loss- due to smaller portions, ingredients and portion control but it explains the whole cooking and presentation process. You want to know how to cut meat & vegetables- its tell you how. How to make sushi- no problems, plus miso soup, Japanese omelettes , perfect rice - everything you could want to know and skills you would love to learn are here.

Plus they taste great- I have made hosomoki avocado and chilli rols for my friends ( I SO impressed them ), chicken and ginger teriyaki and edamene rice.
The ingredients were fine to find at my local Japanese food store- unlike my previous wagamaana cook book.

Overall Im hugely impressed- the book title is misleading- yes it will help you with weight issues- but even if your looking for a fantastic book about Japanese cooking this is for you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive and Thorough Book on Japanese Cuisine, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Personally I have always enjoyed the pleasures of Japanese food and one of my fondest memories is of eating sushi tuna for breakfast in a small café by the fish market in Tokyo and having the subtleties of each variety explained to me. Mind the meal for two did come to over £300, but that`s another story.

This is a slim, but excellent book on Japanese cuisine. Starting with the background to Japanese meals, it explains the major differences as compared to a Western diet and the rather startling results which are that the average Japanese daily calorie intake is about 1,000 less than in the USA, and, not surprisingly, obesity rates are less than 10% of the rather frightening rates in America. This is followed by some suggested low calorie meals as part of the Sushi Slim Meal Plan.

There follows, what for me was the most interesting part of the book, which is a step by step guide to preparing the main Japanese dishes - Maki and California rolls, Nigiri and other delights. Although I enjoy Japanese food, I have never thought to try to prepare it myself, but armed with this volume it became apparent that producing my own sushi was really not impossible task I had assumed. This really is a step by step guide which takes you through all the stages such as how to cook sushi rice, how to cut the vegetables and fish, how to choose the fish etc. There is an extensive collection of recipes, most of which are not overly demanding and which include the, normally very modest, calorie count.

If you are interested in producing your own Japanese cuisine I heartily recommend this impressive little book. Having read through it I could not wait to get started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with Sushi ideas, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An easy to read, easy to follow, straight to the point colourful ook full of Sushi ideas. There are plenty of tasty receipes. Best I have seen. Excellent. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventurous yet easy recipes for clean, healthy eating, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love Japanese food for being clean, healthy and filling - but am not quite sure that I'm ready to start making my own sushi just yet. That said, there are plenty of other great recipes in this book from the basics like sushi rice, pickles and Japanese omelettes, to variations on miso soup and some interesting salads.

My favourites, though, are the lovely bento boxes. Sadly my morning commute is such a scrum on the Central Line that I'm not sure a packed lunch would survive, but they're also perfect for quick, healthy dinners, and very impressive when served up to friends who loved the sweet chilli prawns, tofu in wasabi dressing, and soba noodle salad.

If you do want to try your hand at hosomaki rolls or more advanced sushi, the instructions are clear and illustrated - and there are vegetarian hosomaki options like grilled asparagus, avocado and chilli, and green bean and miso.

The book itself has a `clean' feel to it and almost all the recipes are illustrated in colour. So a book of nicely adventurous yet relatively simple recipes that suit my tastes perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 May 2014
By 
Sam D (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm currently living in Japan and have developed quite a fondness for Japanese food during my time here. Sushi Slim is not a very weighty book and is by no means a definitive look at sushi, as well as a few other dishes - it is at it's name implies: slim. But that's OK. The emphasis is very much on eating Japanese food for the purpose of weight loss, with a calorie count given for each recipe and suggested daily meal plans. It's a very attractive introduction to healthy Japanese foods, with a brief chapter on ingredients, and very easy to follow instructions for making sushi, onigiri and so on: the instructions regarding the proper method for cooking and seasoning of sushi rice is particularly useful.

It really is a very attractive book, with lovely illustrations. Having said that, if you're a vegetarian, I would advise looking elsewhere. Occasional concessions to vegetarians are given for some recipes (for example, leave out the fish-flakes), but the vegetarian dishes are few and far between and all of the ten bento boxes include either meat or fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graet book, 25 April 2014
By 
A. Frydrychowska "London" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sushi Slim (Paperback)
I love the easy approach to making sushi and the recipes. My favorite is collagen soup. Simple, tasty and filling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sushi Slim
Sushi Slim by Makiko Sano (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews