Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2012
This book is among a new series introducing some key figures in fashion design, other titles include: Christian Dior, Alexander McQueen, and Elsa Schiaparelli. The books act as a concise introduction to those famous designers, so for those who want to start building their fashion library, this might be a good start.

The books come in a nice size, well bound and printed on high-quality paper. Each book briefly traces the beginnings and the social and historical scene prevailing during the era of each designer and how this shaped their approach to the designing process.
As the titles imply, the books reproduce lots of clear fashion photography and drawings from the rich archives of Vogue to show key examples for each respective designer.

A nice addition to fans of fashion and photography.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I can genuinely say that Coco Chanel is my favorite designer of all time, not mainly due to her fashions, but more to the history of her empire and her brains, beauty and sass, that made her the ultimate women that we read about today. This book was every girls dream, so to avoid spoiling the content, i will just say it is a must read! the packaging and postage and PRICE was also very competitive.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Young grandaughter was highly pleased with this book and the illustrations, will be looking to purchase others as was excellent value and as always with Amazon amazingly good deliveries and no postage in many instances
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Purchased this off my sister for her birthday. She loved it, when I visited I read and can see why. We both love coco Chanel and this book puts so much into perspective of her life. The fashion, wow. If you love fashion then buy this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Finally...a non-tacky account of the life of Chanel! This book is gorgeous in its approach to her life and her work, there is something terribly real about it and borderline relatable.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
It is an absolutely fantastic book, filled with information and simply the best :) I can't wait to purchase the other items from this serie :)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Daughter aged 16 and into fashion, found the book interesting. It could have had more pictures, but she enjoyed it none-the-less.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
A good selected stories and photos of the famous fashion icon Coco Chanel. See how the designs of the fashion designers work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
My sister loves all things connected to the 20's and 30's especially Coco Chanel and she was thrilled with this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is well presented with a good mixture of text and pictures which impart a flavour of Coco Chanel's life, creations and achievements in an ideal format for browsing. However, those who like more detail might not find sufficient depth in this volume which pays much attention to presentation but slightly less to content. A presentable book and for many a welcome gift which is also a tribute to Coco Chanel's creativity.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)