Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and accessible
I am considering studying for a GDL and going into Law as a profession, the reaction of many to this ambition is that Law is stuffy, dry and inaccessible. This book goes along way in disproving these perceptions. Although every sphere of the professional and academic world will have boring hang ups "What About Law?" is a stimulating and accessible read for those...
Published 5 months ago by Pete

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A CAREER IN LAW?
IF THIS IS UR CHOSEN CAREER I STRONGLY RECOMMEND U GOT ON AN ACTING COURSE WHILE ON UR LAW COURSE.U WILL NEED A DEVELOPED SENSE OF THEATRE AND BE A CONVINCING LIAR AND DECEIVER
Published 17 months ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and accessible, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am considering studying for a GDL and going into Law as a profession, the reaction of many to this ambition is that Law is stuffy, dry and inaccessible. This book goes along way in disproving these perceptions. Although every sphere of the professional and academic world will have boring hang ups "What About Law?" is a stimulating and accessible read for those interested in the topic. The authors write with clarity, presenting a profession and academic discipline of wide breadth applicable to many aspects of our existence. I am struggling to think of a part of civilised human life that is not informed by the Law in some manner! This book may have convinced me, I am about to read it a second time! I thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good bits and other bits., 27 Jan. 2012
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
This is a good book to read once you know you are going to study law. As I read it at this stage I don't know how good it is for people who are considering Law, the target audience that the book claims to be designed at. It doesn't touch at all (really) on what lawyers do on a day-to-day basis, or how to become or lawyer and it doesn't give any careers advice. It equally (though not as profoundly) does not say what law students do on a day-to-day basis, although it claims it does. Instead it offers an insightful overview of each of the 7 (mandatory) areas of law, in succinct and lucid language, written by top legal experts and professors. The first chapter is an overview of law and the legal system itself, the subsequent 7 chapters (2-8) focus on an area in turn and the final chapter is a recapitualation where the knowledge that has been gainedfrom chapters 2 to 8 is applied to the thoughts expressed in chapter 1. Sometimes there is a little too much detail, but I rarely found I couldn't understand anything or I was in over my head - it simply took a couple of re-reads sometimes. It is a good interview-preparation book, but you would need more detailed information, say on criminal law, or any other area you favour, in addition. If you are interested in being a Law student, or you are somebody who wants an interesting guide to the English Law then you would not regret buying this book. However, don't expect exactly what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I needed!, 30 Dec. 2011
By 
Vera S (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
I'd been vacillating for a while as to whether Law was the path to follow, after having decided that I really wanted to do a second degree. This book responded to all the questions I had regarding the law. It even changed my negative view of certain subjects, such as Contract Law, Land Law and Equity, which I originally thought were boring, but turned out to be anything but.

The book consists of a thorough introduction to Law and 7 more chapters, each one focusing on one of the core subjects of any law syllabus (Criminal Law; Contract Law; Tort; Land Law; Equity; Constitutional Law; EU Law). And it's not just that it introduces the subjects; it also examines seven different cases which are extremely interesting in their own right. It ends with a great conclusion which,as far as I'm concerned, fell right into place!

All in all, it's a great book. But beware! It does not teach you how to be a successful law student nor does it guide you through your studies. It simply explores the law and its different aspects, and can actually help you realise whether you are indeed interested in law and if it's right for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 1 Jun. 2011
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
As always, Amazon deliver within a day or two despite me expecting to wait a week. And more importantly, for students like myself who haven't a clue how to write a decent personal statement or application because we simply haven't studied the law before, it provides clear and expert case studies for all the major aspects of the subject, so you'll know precisely what you are going to be studying, and whether it's the sort of course you're interested in. (A word of warning - don't assume this is a "course guide" - obviously check the exact specifications of the law course at each Uni you apply to, as the approach is always different. Oxford, for example, pursue Jurisprudence as their main theme, whereas Cambridge's LLB is built around case work.)
Still, well worth a read for student, hopeful student and non-student alike as a great illustration of the law in the modern world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read for potential law students., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
A recommended read before starting law or even considering studying it at university. Enjoyable to read, knowledgeable and I wish I'd read it before I started my course to give me some background info rather than halfway through the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The editors astonish me how knowledgeably they gave justice to ..., 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
The editors astonish me how knowledgeably they gave justice to such complicated cases with the most technical and lawful words however short the book maybe and the fact that it is specifically or most preferably produced for young aspiring university law students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable and Interesting Introduction To Law, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
Very well written and each chapter is centred around a previous case from which the author explains the legal reasoning used by the judge to come to their decision.

An invaluable book for aspiring law students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good condition, book it exactly as described in text, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
very happy with this purchase :) was in perfect condition and was exactly as had been described. Would recomend to any student looking to study law as it was very helpful to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars law book, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
brilliant book for my daughter who is studying law at college. I think it will come in useful for uni too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
By 
JGH "Jocelyne Hollingworth" (Derbyshire/Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What About Law?: Studying Law at University (Paperback)
Interesting for anyone who is thinking about Law as a career
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What About Law?: Studying Law at University
What About Law?: Studying Law at University by Catherine Barnard (Paperback - 10 Mar. 2011)
£10.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews