Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely helpful book, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
This book is extremely helpful and invaluable advice for anyone whose child wants to perform. It is equally helpful for mums as they sit in the waiting room while their babes audition. Everyone should read it. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Useful Book, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
A must read for any parent that has a child undergoing an audition process or has been lucky enough to progress into performing in theatre.
For the new parents it gives you an end to end breakdown of the process and attempts to honestly and truthfully set your expectations about the experience.
It also helps you to understand more about theatre life, the rehearsals, the performances and covers the child licencing rules and how we all play a part in their enforcement.
Becoming a "theatre parent" is wonderful, when you see your child perform for the first time it is exhilarating, but you can sometimes feel uninitiated and you will definitely have lots and lots of questions.
This book has helped me understand what's happening behind the scenes and answers lots of the questions that I had.
It also helps you to manage your on-going expectations about the future, what happens when a contract ends and the audition process starts up again.
It's clear that Jo and her team are committed to what they do but very busy with it. That is why this book was written, to help parents get the information they need when they need it.
You will have lots of questions about the process, no matter what stage in the process your child is at.

If you want to get the answers then quite simply...read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jo Hawes - Children in Theatre, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
This book is certainly a must for parents with children hoping to work in the world of theatre. Every aspect from auditions/licenses/rehearsals is covered along with the very valuable 'what/what not to do'. Excellent content and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an insight! Fabulous!, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
An amazing insight into the world of children performing in theatre.
All my questions answered, where , why , what and how........???
If your child wants to enter the world of Theatre this book is definately a must read for you and your child from advising how to help your child into this profession, to auditioning techniques, to the commitment involved by your child and you!
Funny too, Icouldnt put it down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable read for any Performing Arts parent!, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
This book is an extremely informative and honest read for any confused Parent whose child is looking to work in professional theatre. From the audition process to the law, licensing, chaperoning, and rehearsals through to the actual performances for those who are fortunate enough to be chosen, this book offers nothing but invaluable information about the whole process, and makes for very easy and enjoyable reading.
Within the initial 25 pages I could already see a couple of things where my over-enthusiasm may have sometimes been hindering my daughters chances, rather than helping her!
For any Parent who is keen for their child to have best possible chance in an audition, I would also highly recommend signing them up for one of Jo Hawes Masterclasses in the Art of Auditioning.
My daughter attended recently and picked up some invaluable tips, but more importantly, thoroughly enjoyed herself. Almost as much as I enjoyed reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
This book is invaluable for anyone with children who would like to or are already performing in theatre.
It is very thorough and covers absolutely everything you could possibly wish to know from the auditioning process through to the children leaving a show. It is very entertaining as well and made me laugh out loud on more than one occasion!
I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
This book is absolutely brilliant for parents of children who would like to work in theatre, and is also useful for those working in other aspects of performing arts i.e film/TV, as much of the info given is still very helpful and relevant, though obviously the audition process is quite different. We had absolutely no idea what to expect when our (then, very young) daughter got her first role in theatre and we had to muddle through and learn as we went along, handing her over to the very lovely chaperones but not really knowing what goes on 'behind the scenes' - 2 years on, this book has cleared up some of those questions and misconceptions and still has tonnes of fantastic, informative advice and tips, an essential must read for any parent, wherever they are on the journey with their child! I even read bits to our daughter that have been helpful for her to know too. It should be made compulsory reading as I'm sure it would make everyones lives easier, (including the casting and theatre staff!), if parents all understood what was exepected of them and their child! Thank you Jo for taking the time to write this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top class guide from Jo Hawes, 17 May 2012
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
Jo Hawes has written a book that for many years I had been searching the book shelves for! When my child took her first steps onto the road of professional theatre I found it all very daunting, we had no idea about the process, how to prepare for an audition, what to wear etc and what to expect more importantly! Jo has given an insight into the ups and downs of the professional theatre life for children and their parents, using her own personal experiences, as well as other parents with performing children. It is a very easy read and having had been through the process I feel that Jo has covered everything that is vital to treading the boards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Your Child Wants to Work in Theatre Read This Book!, 17 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
This is an excellent book written for children and their parents wanting to know more about working in theatre. It covers everything you will need to know from beginning to end of casting and tour, front of house and behind the scenes.

Having read this book I feel so much more reassured that with sensible precautions our son can stay safe and still do what he loves. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children in Theatre: From the audition to working in professional theatre: A guide for children and their parents (Paperback)
I found this book so very valuable. It is full of great information for parents and written with honesty and humour. A must read for anyone who has or works with children in performing arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews