Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this goes with a bang!
A great novel for readers of 8 and over, although younger ones may not get the jokes! This story is about Lila, who wants to be a firework maker. Her dad isn't keen because she's a girl (!), so she goes on a quest to achieve her ambition. On the way she meets some hilarious characters (parents will enjoy reading it for the eternally optomistic Rambashi alone) and takes...
Published on 14 Feb. 2003

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad product description - as usual!
Like the other reviewers, I presumed this was the book, not a script.
Amazon's product descriptions are generally very poor.
Please improve these, and publish the book instead of the script!
Published on 30 Oct. 2012 by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this goes with a bang!, 14 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
A great novel for readers of 8 and over, although younger ones may not get the jokes! This story is about Lila, who wants to be a firework maker. Her dad isn't keen because she's a girl (!), so she goes on a quest to achieve her ambition. On the way she meets some hilarious characters (parents will enjoy reading it for the eternally optomistic Rambashi alone) and takes part in exciting adventures. This novel is about working hard to achieve your dreams. My children found it funny and inspiring - they started to talk and think about their ambitions and laughed out loud at the jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book I would recommend to all readers 6 - 11yrs, 10 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
The Firework Makers Daughter is a great story about a young girl with a big ambitition.Wanting to follow in her fathers footsteps by becoming a firework maker,leads her through an adventure through jungles and caves,till she meets the ultimate firework makers test.I love this book and thats because it is so imaginative and mysterious.In compaarison to say Enid Blytons books,this book matches her standard of writing if it is not better.An unforgetable story that's not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deliciously funny and exciting, 12 Jan. 2006
By 
Amanda Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Lila longs to be a fire-work maker, but her father is appalled at the idea she might follow in his footsteps, so tells her she can only achieve her heart's desire if she sets off to ask the Fire fiend. Her best friend the elephant boy, riding on the white elephant Hamlet, follows hot on her heels because Lila doesn't know that to survive she needs water from the goddess of the lake... and even if they succeed, Lila's father may be executed by the furious emperor unless she wins the contest. Rich with comic incidents (especially the bandit turned chef)it is one of the very best books you could read aloud to a 5 year old or give to a 7 year old.
A wonderful tale about how you can only get your heart's desire - especially as an artist - if you dare much and work for it, this is even better because of Peter Bailey's new illustrations for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad product description - as usual!, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the other reviewers, I presumed this was the book, not a script.
Amazon's product descriptions are generally very poor.
Please improve these, and publish the book instead of the script!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Script NOT book!!, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why or why didn't I read the reviews!! This is not a book but a script and so haven't read it. I'm sure it's very good....but I wanted a book to read. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The firework makers daughter, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like everyone else, I bought this thinking it was the book not the script, very misleading, have rated it one star because it won't let you give none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all, 10 April 2004
By 
SC Dog - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I first read this book when I was about 8 and remembered it for a long time after, always wanting to read it again. On the off chance I tried Amazon to see if they had it, when I saw it I bought it immediately and I am glad I did.
Pullman is the master at creating a story which pulls you in and places you right in the action. You can not put this book down, and when you have finished you will want to read it again soon after. Sutiable for all ages this book will never get old and will live with you for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not realise it was a script for the Play not the book, 17 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very disappointed when I received the "book" that it was in fact a script for the play. It was not clear in the Product Description that this was a script for the play. I should have read the other review.
Amazon - Can you please source the book for Kindle?!
I can't comment on the content of the "book", so my rating of 2 is only related to the dissatisfaction in not having the actual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars description is wrong this is a script for a play not a book, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i agree with the other reviewer. I too purchased this book only to find that it is not the book but the script for a stage play. it is very misleading, Amazon please could you amend the description to state that this is a script not the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars conned into purchase, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Feel let down by amazon, thought I was purchasing a book by Philip Pullman, but instead got a play script written by Stephen Russell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Firework-Maker's Daughter (Oberon Plays for Young People)
The Firework-Maker's Daughter (Oberon Plays for Young People) by Stephen Russell (Paperback - 10 Nov. 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews