Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars StegTrek - First of a series of excellent 'dinosaurs in space' sci-fi books aimed at preteen boys
This is the first book in Steve Cole's excellent 'Astrosaur' excellent series, which now totals 23 books. This book is the UK 2010 edition and has been reprinted with new cover artwork, but otherwise it's identical to the old cover version. There's still the nice book illustrations every few pages, and the 'free cards' in the front with pictures of the crew and so on that...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Keith_Joseph

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Astrosaurs
Review of Astrosaurs

The book Astrosaurs was first published in 2005. It was written by Steve Cole and it was illustrated by Charlie Fowkes. It is a sort of adventure type book.

The characters are all dinosaurs. The main character is Captain Teggs. He is the brave character of the story. He is the captain of `Astrosaurs' and of `DDS Sauropod'...
Published on 15 Oct 2012 by LMC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars StegTrek - First of a series of excellent 'dinosaurs in space' sci-fi books aimed at preteen boys, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
This is the first book in Steve Cole's excellent 'Astrosaur' excellent series, which now totals 23 books. This book is the UK 2010 edition and has been reprinted with new cover artwork, but otherwise it's identical to the old cover version. There's still the nice book illustrations every few pages, and the 'free cards' in the front with pictures of the crew and so on that the kids can remove and collect. The books are aimed at 7 to 9 year olds, and once hooked at 9 kids will probably read them until about 12.

My son is dyslexic and isn't very good at reading, so I read these Astrosaurs books to him at bedtime. He really enjoyed them and so we bought all of the Astrosaurs series to encourage him to like books as much as his Playstation, TV and DVD's (that didn't work but the only book he ever read cover to cover himself was an Astrosaurs one). We are Dr Who, StarWars, Dinotopia, and Jimmy Neutron fans and you get the boys top favourite (dinosaurs) thrown in as well. The only problem with them is that Steve Cole can't write them quick enough - and the SciFi content of the stories is improving with each new book. To quote Amanda Craig, writing in the Times, these books are "the kind of inspired, hysterically silly fantasy that boys adore".

The series follows the space adventures of a troupe of vegetarian dinosaurs (they escaped the meteor hit 50 million years ago by leaving Earth in spaceships). Captain Teggs and his crew, Gypsy, Arx and Iggy are no ordinary dinosaurs - they are Astrosaurs! They fly through space in the Dinosaur Space Service starship, the DSS Sauropod, keeping the peace in the vegetarian sector of the Jurassic Quadrant. They also patrol the neutral VegMeat zone to defend against the inhabitants of the notorious Carnivore Sector. Plus they are explorers, who boldly go where no fern chewing reptile has boldly gone before.

In this 'Riddle of the Raptors' book newly promoted Teggs and his crew are transporting the sector's top vegetarian athletes to the Great Dinosaur Games at Planet Olympus. Suddenly a Raptor Deathship appears and attacks the DSS Sauropod, and a Raptor boarding party kidnapps two of the best athletes. But there's more to the Raptors' plot than meets the eye, so can Captain Teggs solve their rascally riddle in time? Like the rest of the series, the book it is suitably tense in places for little ones, but never that scary for under tens. This Astrosaurs book is also available in the Astrosaurs ten book set.

The books are best read in order. My son says "Like the other books it was cool, I liked the characters and the pictures (the reading books are filled many good line drawing illustrations). I also liked the cut-out cards at the front". I would think the books would suit any pre-teen boy older than five, who appreciates space travel. I also enjoyed reading them out loud. There are surprisingly few good books aimed squarely at young boys about, so highly recommended. Also look out for the newer 'Astrosaurs Academy' series (eight books with Teggs et al as youngsters in 'Star fleet' School), and the time travelling 'Cows in Action' (CIA) series. As a preteen my son also liked 'Attack of the Tentacled Terror', 'Horrid Henry', 'Seriously Silly Stories: The Collection', and the US 'Captain Underpants' series of books, however it's these Astrosaurs books he holds in the highest affection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want your 7+ son to read by choice/independantly??...., 24 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
...then get these books!!!!!

My son is a very reluctant reader (always has been) but these books have him asking to go to bed early to read them!!!

Funny, clever and exciting stories for ages 7+

(The illustrations arent great to be honest, but thats what imagination is for!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teggs to the rescue!, 11 Aug 2013
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
Moving on from Astrosaurs Academy and continuing the adventures with young Teggs my eight year old insisted these books were a birthday must have.
He now loves these.
The series satisfies a combination of collecting as well as consolidating early reading skills.
Each book is a stand alone read but also part of a series.
Steve Cole writes in a way that makes kids want to read more.
Can't give higher praise.
Next please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story book, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My seven year old son loves this series. Great for newly confident readers. Brilliant that I can download it onto my kindle for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the five to nine year olds., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
Steve Cole knows how to write for kids. He can relate to children with great stories and instills a love of books which is so important for children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for my 8 year old, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
Bought this book for my eight year old son. He loves the story and has been pestering me to buy some more. The story features the trials and tribulations of the dinosour gang and features some great words and phrasing to stretch the free reader. Would highly recommend for active fun loving boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Astrosaurs, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
Review of Astrosaurs

The book Astrosaurs was first published in 2005. It was written by Steve Cole and it was illustrated by Charlie Fowkes. It is a sort of adventure type book.

The characters are all dinosaurs. The main character is Captain Teggs. He is the brave character of the story. He is the captain of `Astrosaurs' and of `DDS Sauropod' (Dinosaur Space Service). Gipsy is a `stripy hadrosaur' and is Tegg's communications officer. Sog is a professor of the crew. Arx Orano is Tegg's intelligent triceratops first officer. He checks over the Sauropod's systems and data. Iggy Tooth is the tough `iguanodon engineer'. He would make stronger the ship's engines.

The story is set in a planet called `Odo Minor'. Teggs wants plateosaurus life to live on or otherwise, they could become extinct. There are a few eggs and two plateosaurus's left of their species. Teggs and his crew want to take the plateosaurus to a planet called `Platus Two'. But they find out that the planet is something else and is a very big surprise for them.

I think the book was alright because it was interesting but it is aimed at 7-12 years in my opinion. I think kids would tend to like it.

Overall I would recommend young people and kids to buy it because it's about dinosaurs and kids like creative animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
Great for my 7 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors (Paperback)
Mildly amusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors
Astrosaurs 1: Riddle Of The Raptors by Steve Cole (Paperback - 28 Jan 2010)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews