Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An illustration celebration, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Patrick (Paperback)
My 4 year-old son chose this book from his school library. He and I delighted in the zany changes in the illustrations as Patrick played his violin. Fish jump out of the pond into the air, are coloured in bright patterns, and start singing to the music. Cows in the meadow see their black spots turn to colourful stars, and they start dancing to the rhythm of the music. Quentin Blake's signature illustrations include loads of fun details (my son particularly liked the tramp with hair sticking up through the hole in his top hat.) What child would not delight in seeing an ordinary tree start dripping with cakes, ice creams and jellies?! This book is a quick, satisfying read. Perfect when you've got the odd 10 minutes to kill in a queue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, especially for teachers of 4 to 5yr olds., 25 Feb 2009
By 
R. Verghese - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patrick (Paperback)
I am an Early Years teacher and have been reading this story for years to 4 to 5yr olds. It is absolutely wonderful for reading out loud with some quiet violin music in the background. As a previous reviewer says, it is probably slightly old fashioned now but has the most wonderful illustrations which always stimulate lots of wonderful artwork involving patterns. My copy is getting worn out. I want it published as a Big Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick (Paperback)
Bought this book as a gift for my 2year old nephew. It was a great success. Lovely pictures with great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely little book, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick (Paperback)
always love quentin blake books and would recommend this one for the fabulous pictures and lovely story. i think it may go over the head of very young children but it fires the imagination in older ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children's Picture Book - Patrick, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Patrick (Paperback)
Very pleased with this book - v good condition. Arrived safely in good time. I love Quentin Blake as a writer and artist - this will go down a bomb with our little musical grandson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blakes own magic, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Patrick (Paperback)
A story from the artist perhaps best known for his Roald Dahl illustrations and one that proves that he has the talent to tell the tale on his own. Within this title is a story of magic, a story of adventure and a story of wonderful colours. Obviously it's more for his illustrations that the reader is most likely to be sold but with a tale that has lots of different elements alongside really bright colours, it's a tale that will keep the reader amused from start to finish. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quentin Blake's most beautiful illustrations, 28 Jun 2008
By 
V. Carlin (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patrick (Paperback)
Absolutely no question my daughter's favourite book, she is OBSESSED with it, and shouts for PATRICK! PATRICK! every bed time. It was a favourite of mine as a child, so I read it to her from an early age. The Irishness may be a little politically incorrect now, with talk of tramps and tinkers, but it is a sensational book to read aloud, and Quentin Blake's pictures have never been more gorgeous - there's a lovely very specifically 1970s quality to the design, but the beauty is timeless. More than with his more famous works, you can see how cleverly he lays out his deceptively simple paintings across the whole page, and it's nothing short of genius. Scenes where trees grow cupcakes and Christmas puddings, and a gaggle of colourful misfits form an ad hoc parade are quite brilliant. I wish it were in print again, it should not be lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa834ae7c)

This product

Patrick
Patrick by Quentin Blake (Paperback - 30 Sep 2010)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews