Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lingers in the memory like a great song
Rebecca Stead's book kept my two boys (8 and 6) riveted night after night as I read it for their bedtime story. It wasn't only them - I looked forward to each new chapter just as much. It's a story about real kids, real life, real families and the fantasies they weave to help them all cope. A beautiful, warm story - and a future classic for sure.
Published 8 months ago by Johnno

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confused
This is a book that ticks all the boxes that adults think children should read about. Unfortunately, the young readers I know in our Carnegie group were underwhelmed as it lacks the main essential: a clear and compelling narrative.
Published 3 months ago by Tommy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stead(fast), 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Paperback)
It's nice - oh so nice! - to have Rebecca Stead back again. You feel as if you've just gone down a block or two from her last outing to encounter another group of kids having an adventure and struggling with the vagaries of school and family life. Not so much the Big as the Little Apple. In this case our protagonist is Georges (silent 's'), coping with living in a smaller apartment, a nurse mother who is on double shifts, a caring but unemployed father, school bullies and a nascent friendship with the weirdly monikered 'Safe' his sister 'Candy' - oh and their brother 'Pigeon'. Georges becomes inculcated into becoming a trainee spy for Safer, spying on the mysterious man in black in the apartment, as well as struggling with the forthcoming school science taste test.
There are some really nice ideas in this book, particularly about phonetics and the nature of perception, and a book aimed at young people that can name check another couple of Georges, the pontillist painter Seurat and the President George Washington is clearly not dumbing down. And yet Stead keeps it all so readable, and drily witty, full of one liners. It's as if Woody Allen had (in his heyday) embarked on a career as a children's writer, the restults might have looked somemthing like this.
As in her previous book 'When You Reach Me' the chapters are very short and dialogue heavy but her themes are large and universal. If it's perhaps not quite as captivating or complicated a plot as 'WYRM' its ultimately a moving read, a testatment to young friendships. No longer quite the new kid on the block Rebecca Stead has marked out her own territory - and she's here to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lingers in the memory like a great song, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Kindle Edition)
Rebecca Stead's book kept my two boys (8 and 6) riveted night after night as I read it for their bedtime story. It wasn't only them - I looked forward to each new chapter just as much. It's a story about real kids, real life, real families and the fantasies they weave to help them all cope. A beautiful, warm story - and a future classic for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone who has / is going to have a 12 year old should read this., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Paperback)
I bought this for my 8 year old, but read it first to make sure it didn't have any too grown themes. I couldn't put it down. What a great book, beautifully written. The teacher Ms Warner was my favourite character. I hope my children have a grown up like her at their school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confused, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Kindle Edition)
This is a book that ticks all the boxes that adults think children should read about. Unfortunately, the young readers I know in our Carnegie group were underwhelmed as it lacks the main essential: a clear and compelling narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Paperback)
Daughter reads heaps. They are reading this at the school Book Club, so it was chosen by a teacher, and they love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't normally go for a book like this however it was recommended to me by a friend and I have to say this book is great! It is about a boy who is managing several problems in life such as bullying and how he also joins a spy club and looks out for somebody called Mr X. It is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!!!!, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Kindle Edition)
Best book about spies yet!
Who cares when this book can make you feel happy. One chance left to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put- just read it!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Kindle Edition)
I was asked to read this book as part of a book club at university and I have fell in love with this book! I never leave reviews on amazon but felt compelled to on this occasion. The story has so many twist and turns that everything I thought would happen didn't. The characters are so charming and at times relatable to children that I feel they could make a connection with the book. I won't spoil the story for anyone else as you simply have to read it whether you are 11 or 81!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liar and Spy Book, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Paperback)
What a great book - I should read more children's books. t had the same feeling as 'The Curious Incident of the dog in the night' about it. Knew something was going to come out - just didn't know what. Really worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book about friendship, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liar and Spy (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book - accompanying the protagonist on his journey through challenges to learning about the meaning of friendship and how it can take different forms for different people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liar and Spy
Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead (Paperback - 8 Aug 2013)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews