Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Pigtures
This book is pure genius.If you are tired of the same old fairy tale this book is a must.It is refreshingly different and will test the ingenuity of any age.I loved it and would advise anyone to look at it.If you expect a traditional story you will be disappointed but stick with it and you will be rewarded.Highly recommended. WARNING:DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THE IMPORTANCE OF...
Published on 24 April 2011 by sapho

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about the story
Bought this as i though it would be a funny and different version of the Three Pigs, the pigs go in and out of loads of different stories. I dont get this book at all.
Published 4 months ago by Natasha Shannon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Pigtures, 24 April 2011
This book is pure genius.If you are tired of the same old fairy tale this book is a must.It is refreshingly different and will test the ingenuity of any age.I loved it and would advise anyone to look at it.If you expect a traditional story you will be disappointed but stick with it and you will be rewarded.Highly recommended. WARNING:DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THE IMPORTANCE OF THE ILLUSTRATIONS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book... But You May Have to Wait for Your Child To Understand & Appreciate the Humour, 9 Dec 2008
Well, the surprise is on me. I thought after previewing this book that because of its abstract twists and turns that it was going to be over my children's heads - they are boy and girl, almost 5 and almost 7 respectively. But I was wrong. Not only did they understood what was happening, they thought the artwork was really silly and fun. And as soon as we were done they asked for the book to be read again. And after we were done the second time, they asked for it a third time, which is fairly unprecedented in our home. [Go figure. Just when you think you know your children they spring some surprise on you -- lol.]

The abstraction I'm talking about is artistic. You see in this book the Piggies aren't content to stick to the standard "Three Little Pigs" script. Instead they escape from their regular storybook pages and traipse about visiting other fairytale characters. Pigs are seen moving out of one page and art style, and into another story with it's different artistic motif. And whether a child is ready for such a deviation is going to determine whether they enjoy this book.

Four Stars. Very clever artwork. Not a Read-Aloud in the traditional sense, my children couldn't wait to go through it again and again. Will your child 'get it'? Hard to say. The artwork and story here have levels of abstraction that are just going to swoop over some small children's heads as some reviewers have indicated. I certainly liked it, and my children and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about the story, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Pigs (Paperback)
Bought this as i though it would be a funny and different version of the Three Pigs, the pigs go in and out of loads of different stories. I dont get this book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 19 July 2013
By 
Jack Dixon "jacc_dd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Pigs (Paperback)
This is a fantastic take on the three little pigs.

The book is great for use in primary school and makes children really think about the classic story. David Wiesner's books get the imagination pumping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and clever, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Pigs (Paperback)
good bright story, good character, good illustration, quality large printing. My 27-month old son enjoys it. He likes the huffs and puffs, the trotters, the pink nose, the airplane ;-) the dreamy meadow scene and the dragon. It gets interesting, huh?

It is about three stories interwoven in the world of stories starting and ending in one of the three stories. May seem confusing but it has devices helping the readers understanding what's going on. Such as different style of illustration, dialogue vs. narration in distinctive formats.

I think it only gets complicated when you try to analyse the book. Kids will just get it naturally straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Pigs
The Three Pigs by David Wiesner (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews