Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Ms Doherty, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Treason (Paperback)
Any new book from Berlie Doherty is a must-read for me. Whenever she puts pen to paper - or more likely these days, fingers to keyboard - the magic flows.

This story is about William Montague, a young lad who is given the job of page to King Henry's son, Prince Edward. This draws attention to him and his family and also makes him some enemies, as the son of one of England's most powerful families wanted the post himself. Religion was a tricky business in Henry's England, as most of us know, and the Montague family worship in the old way, a way that the king had banned. When this becomes known at the court William's father is sent to Newgate and William goes on the run and sets about trying to get him freed.

This book is beautifully written and the story is captivating. I do love historical fiction and this is historical fiction at its best. I would give it 6 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treason (Kindle Edition)
This was a really good book, great description of the tudor times. Will be reading more of this authors books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting vision on the Tudors, 9 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treason (Paperback)
Will Montague lives with his father and sister at Montague House. They are Catholics at a time when King Henry has just abolished monasteries, divorced Catherine of Aragon and set up his own church and is now wanting allegiance to the Act of Supremacy. After his brother is killed in a swimming accident, to make mends meet and take him away from bad memories, Will's father turns to his brother in law, Lord Carew, who is an aide at the king's court for work. Will is trained up to be a page and ends up as page to Prince Edward and Margery is married off to a nobleman in France. Once at court, life changes dramatically and Will beomes the King's favourite, but not so favourite with the Howards. Until the day his father is caught out when he is found to be harbouring a monk in his house and refuses to swear to the Act of Supremacy. He's thrown in jail and Will then has to leave court in a battle to save his father, taking him a journey into the backstreets of London and off to France. Easy to read, with a few strands in it. I found it enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for school., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treason (Paperback)
Bought this for my niece and she loved it. She was doing about the Tudors at school and was a great help to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to picture these Tudor scenes and characters, a fast-moving and exciting story that will encourage curiosity about history, 17 April 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a fantastic historical novel for children. Just as much period detail as Philippa Gregory and a story with excitement, journeys, family, kings and beheadings.

I read this in advance of my junior book group's Berlie Doherty month, and I'm glad I picked this one. Almost wish I had my group all reading it. It would keep the interest of a girl or boy, and there's so much to discuss - girls marrying at 13, the power of King Henry VIII and the church/state issues, the idea of a page boy to a baby prince, why so many people were so poor, what prison would have been like.

It's the story of Will Montague, a fairly well-born son of a country knight. Taken under the wing of rich relatives after the sad death of his older brother, WIll says goodbye to sister Margery (destined to marry an old man) and heads to court, where he soon becomes page to Henry VIII's infant son Edward. Happy and flourishing, Will's father's religious beliefs suddenly become a great issue when they clash with Henry's, and the family's fortunes are turned on their heads. William flees after his father is taken to prison accused of treason and meets a poor boy, Nick, and his family. Determined to help his father, he and Nick must travel to France to seek out his sister's new husband. Is there hope? Can they rescue Robert Montague?

Will and Nick make a good pairing, with good and bad traits making them realistic but likeable. Short chapters, lots of excellent description and a pacey story keep the setting vivid and interest high. Doherty is a wonderful storyteller and it felt like reading a Gregory story for younger readers. It will surely pique both interest and questions, for individual readers and a class of 8-12 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Writer, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treason (Kindle Edition)
Came across this author in the primary school where i work. This book is incredibly well written and captivating. Enjoyable for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Berlie Doherty's Treason, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Treason (Paperback)
I just wanted to let other readers out there know how much i enjoyed Berlie Doherty's latest book, "Treason". I've read quite a few of her titles, and it's amazing that (since "A beautiful place for a murder") she's writing about people topping each other off (cleverly "off-camera" though)... it makes for a very exciting read, and always with the same clever use of language and warm style which we love so much. For me, this book brought the time of Henry 8th to life, from the royals in the court to the children living on the streets, more than any history lesson ever did. Without giving too much away, my favourite part of the whole book was when a street urchin in a dragon costume was performing with the musicians, in front of the King, in a room filled with people and commotion. The music suddenly stopped and, to the King's great surprise, the boy pulled out a scroll. This was a crucial point in the story, and the way that this passage was written was incredible, so real, the way that everything swirled crazily around and then suddenly focused in on this one point.... GENIUS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old days, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Treason (Paperback)
didnt know what to expect from this book as i,am not a reader of history But i found yjis book very interesting east tead not heavy,one to read and learn abit of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treason
Treason by Berlie Doherty (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews