Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value history of the blues for guitar
Excellent book of the blues. 88 songs well presented.
The layout is similar to the "play your favourite songs with only x chords" series of books. You get chord diagrams at the top of the page with chord names printed above the lyrics.
The bonus in this book is that for certain songs you also get the main guitar riff. I haven't seen this before and it is a...
Published 8 months ago by tcba515

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too small
A very good selection of songs but I should have read the blurb a little more carefully as the size of the book means that the print is very small and could be hard to read unless you have great eyesight!
Published 6 months ago by Lou


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value history of the blues for guitar, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: Little Black Songbook: The Blues (Little Black Book) (Paperback)
Excellent book of the blues. 88 songs well presented.
The layout is similar to the "play your favourite songs with only x chords" series of books. You get chord diagrams at the top of the page with chord names printed above the lyrics.
The bonus in this book is that for certain songs you also get the main guitar riff. I haven't seen this before and it is a welcome addition instead of the "E5 ad lib" you usually get for the intro. The riff is not in tab, it gives you the string name and fret number and is easy to figure out. It even gives you the tuning if this is not standard (tune down a semitone for 'Pride and Joy' or open-G tuning for 'Death Letter Blues' for example). I would like to see a time signature given but that is a minor point.
the text has been shrunk to fit in this smaller format but I can read it fine with my reading glasses. It fits into a jacket pocket, great for taking and reading anywhere.
there are old blues classics from the likes of robert johnson, ledbelly and bessie smith; covers of classics from cream and led zepplin; and later originals from stevie ray vaughan, gary moore and the black keys. The songs credit the writer and give copyright details which is a great reference tool.
Most styles are covered including acoustic, jazzy, chicago electric and modern overdriven rock. It is nice to see the more jazzy keys (A-Flat - Crosscut Saw - Albert King) maintained when it would be easier to use a (possibly) more well known cover in a more guitar-orientated sharp key (eric clapton's version of crosscut saw for example). This a history of the blues in a small easy-to-read package. If you know how to play the basic barre chord shapes (or like me know which one of a few blues bass guitar patterns to apply) then you will be playing along as soon as you open the book.
The book is well bound, pages do not look as if they will fall out. The black vinyl cover looks like it will take tha battering it will get in my rucksack. I carry this book everywhere with my notebook and I am never short of inspiration.
Okay, you may want biographies of the artists or a written history of the blues but that would take volumes, cost a lot more and never leave the coffee-table.
Besides, open up this book and start playing and you will feel what the music of the blues is all about.
The best combination of range of content, number of songs and value for money I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too small, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Songbook: The Blues (Little Black Book) (Paperback)
A very good selection of songs but I should have read the blurb a little more carefully as the size of the book means that the print is very small and could be hard to read unless you have great eyesight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant little guide, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Songbook: The Blues (Little Black Book) (Paperback)
This book is great for learning Blues stanadards eg Baby please don't go, Mannish boy, That's all right mama, King Bee etc. Good clear chords diagrams (though you may want to get a bulldog clip to hold the book open.) I downloaded some of the songs onto a kindle and with this book you can really start to play them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good blues helper, 16 Feb 2014
By 
John Gammon (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Songbook: The Blues (Little Black Book) (Paperback)
A great book with a lot of good tunes. However, you'll probably need to enlarge the pages you want on the photocopier - the print is very small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now the hard work begins, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Black Songbook: The Blues (Little Black Book) (Paperback)
The Book arrived very promptly, after only a couple of short days wait. It was in imaculate condition! It was really a shame to have to open the pages! The only down side to the purchase is that I now have a lot of new Chord diagrams to learn before I'll get the use out of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Black Songbook: The Blues (Little Black Book)
Little Black Songbook: The Blues (Little Black Book) by Various (Paperback - 21 May 2012)
7.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews