Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well put together, 23 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files (Paperback)
I love Nick Drake's music and wanted to read more. I'd heard the two biographies had mixed reputations, but chanced upon Jason Creed's compilation. It's clearly edited and divided into sections. It has details like early reviews, BBC files on Drake, articles on particular questions (from recording and imprint history to Drake's psychology). The guy doesn't seem to have any axe to grind, likes the subject enough but doesn't smother ND with his own theories or obessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saw it written..., 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files (Paperback)
This compilation from the labour-of-love fanzine Pink Moon is well-considered and gives fascinating and fresh insights into the enigmatic Nick.
Its great advantage over the biographies by Patrick Humphries and Trevor Dann is that it has no particular agenda -- it presents first-person testimonies by the likes of John Martyn, Island Records employees, Robin Frederick and Drake's Cambridge contemporaries, his family, a psychiatrist, among many others and allows you to draw your own conclusions about what sort of a person Drake was, how much success meant to him, what kind of success he was interested in, his mental health and so on. Some of the essays and reminiscences are very touching. One of the many intriguing aspects of the book is that, on occasion, the same events are seen through different eyes.

As editor, Jason Creed rarely intrudes, when he does have something to say, he comes across as modest, concise and to the point. The book is also well proofread -- unlike some recent music books I can think of. Trouble has been taken. [If the book is ever updated, there are a couple of people whose thoughts on Nick Drake I'd like to hear - Bridget St John and Beverley Martyn, both of whom knew him well...and John Cale, who worked with Drake on Northern Sky]

Read this book and Ian Macdonald's brilliant analysis of Nick Drake's muse in his book The People's Music and that's the closest you'll get to unraveling and understanding something of the Nick Drake story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Stephen Spencer (derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files (Paperback)
Good to see that Jason has developed the pink Moon "magazine" into a book... I got every copy and even made the odd contribution but still plenty in this to keep me interested and I have been a Nick Drske fan since the 70s... Covers a broad spectrum of info and interviews about Nick.. A good read for any Nick fan..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another perspective on the enigma that was Nick Drake, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files (Paperback)
If you've read the Dann & Humphries books, this gives another view on the story.
The fanzine was a labour of love, so it's good to see them collected together in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for nick drake fans, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files (Paperback)
This book is a must read for all nick drake fans and anyone who wants to be introduced to this troubled genius.I have also read all of the fanzines which were the inspiration for this book and this brings them all together beautifully.
jason creed is in my and many others opinion the most knowledgeable author on all things nick drake having interviewed over the years most of nicks closest friends and family

i would suggest this book before you look at any other because of the knowledge of the author and years of research put in via the pynk moon fanzine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files (Paperback)
There are many articles in here that I knew of, but only read just now. A real treat is one account of Nick Drake in Morocco, heading back to Spain and France. We know of their time in Morocco; the meeting with the Rolling Stones for example, but this is something else. There are no agendas, no egos in here; at least none apparent. It was with an agenda that Trevor Dann wrote "Darker than the Deepest Sea", and i really didn't like his tone at all.

This is far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I knew Nick Drake in 1967. This was his kind of book..., 21 Mar 2011
By 
T. Morton "Beatcroft" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files (Paperback)
...intelligent, eclectic and enlightening. Jason knows and loves his subject, and it shows. All praise and respect. Shine on, mate.
(from Colin Betts, quoted in The Pink Moon Files and author of Frozenlight/Shininglight, his memoir and play about the 1960s and time spent travelling with Nick. It's available as a Kindle ebook)Frozenlight/Shininglight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files
Nick Drake: The Pink Moon Files by Jason Creed (Paperback - 7 Mar 2011)
£11.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews