Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for junior managers, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Your Influencing Skills How to Influence People by Increasing Your Credibility, Trustworthiness and Communication Skills. Lots of Exercises (Skills Training Course) (Paperback)
I read this just after reading Dan Priestly's Key Person Of Influence, so was curious to see if there was much commonality. Short answer - No! This book would be ideal for junior or possibly middle managers who want to improve their impact and influence. The format is common to most chapters: what's the chapter about, brief definitions and tips, a case study and exercises. It's very much a 'doing' book, rather than a 'reading' book, so requires a certain of level of commitment from the reader in order to get real benefits from the knowledge of the authors There are also some useful additional resources cited at the end of each chapter, such as Covey or Goleman. I would certainly feel able to recommend it to younger or more junior clients who needed a structured approach to improving their influence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And I thought I knew everything!, 29 Mar 2013
This review is from: Developing Your Influencing Skills How to Influence People by Increasing Your Credibility, Trustworthiness and Communication Skills. Lots of Exercises (Skills Training Course) (Paperback)
I have been studying how to influence people for years and I thought I knew it all - I was wrong. Of course I don't actually practice it all and that is what this book is about. It gets straight through the theory and puts you - the reader - in a place where you can immediately put into practice what you have learnt.

Long enough to be meaningful but short enough to read without being intimidated. Most importantly unlike so many other business books you will not be bored. The authors get straight to the point without any of the oh so common waffle and management speak.

Most importantly this is a practical workbook, designed to be written on as you reflect on the ideas it puts forward. Use it as part of a formal course or for enlightened self learning. Which ever way you use it you won't be disappointed and if you are a manager or business owner it is worth giving to your staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Increasing your influence - step by step, 29 April 2010
This is a great book to dip in and out of - full of wise advice, presented in a digestible way with practical things to do to back up the ideas.
As another review says - the ideas are simple, but not shallow. Well done Lois and Deborah for achieving this.
Highly recommended book if you want to brush up on ways to increase your influence - relevant to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Editor's thoughts on influencing skills, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Dr. M. Greenhall (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Your Influencing Skills How to Influence People by Increasing Your Credibility, Trustworthiness and Communication Skills. Lots of Exercises (Skills Training Course) (Paperback)
I edit and read lots of books each year, including this one. As the editor I'm usually just looking at the way the book works together and the type layout and not thinking so much about the content. This book I've found unusual in that it has changed the way I think about working with other people. In particular it's the chapter on credibility that I've found most thought provoking. Now when I present ideas to other people I think ahead about what helps make the idea believable to others and what it is about my own background that will help to emphasise why I'm a credible source of this information. This helps me to communicate my ideas in a different way and improves the outcome of the discussions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and informative, 8 April 2014
By 
HJB (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting book with lots of examples of how the skills can be used. Easy to read and with plenty of exercises to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful advice, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book provides good, clear, simple but effective advice to help people become more influential in their dealings with others. It can be read from cover to cover or "dipped into" to review one of the 7 influencing traits. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful, practical, informative. The information and exercises are set out clearly and succinctly. A really useful book that can be referred to as and when needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This booked showed me that I can influence people and situations politely without offending and therefore get what I want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tips!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good tips and advice, the workbook helps to put the theory into practice. I would recommend this for anyone needing to influence others :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and practical guide to the development of influencing skills. Written in an easy to understand way it is highly readable and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews