Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, informative, a lovely book!
I picked this book up on impulse as I like cookery and am interested in rythyms, seasons, magic and folklore. It hasn't disappointed and I'm very glad to have made the impulse buy. Apart from the interesting information about Pagan ritual and herbs and foodstuff relating to the seasons and festivals of the year, the receipes are straightforward and easy to follow. I often...
Published on 9 July 2012 by Tidal Tess

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seasonal ???
This is not a seasonal recipe book the ingredients for oestre's seed petal and pasta salad includes sunflower petals ! The Beltane recipe for hawthorn tea requires dried (ok) or fresh (????) berries. I bought this book for inspiration but as most recipes have dried ingredients I can't see that it's in any way seasonal.
Bandwagon jumped on it seems to me.
Published 18 months ago by Aggie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, informative, a lovely book!, 9 July 2012
By 
Tidal Tess (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
I picked this book up on impulse as I like cookery and am interested in rythyms, seasons, magic and folklore. It hasn't disappointed and I'm very glad to have made the impulse buy. Apart from the interesting information about Pagan ritual and herbs and foodstuff relating to the seasons and festivals of the year, the receipes are straightforward and easy to follow. I often find cookbooks offer tantalising recipes but they frequently require you to make out of the way trips to buy obscure ingredients and spend an inordinate amount of time preparing feasts which look lovely in the pictures but aren't necessarily practical for time-challenged individuals. I've already earmarked several dishes which are do-able with the ingredients I regularly stock, enabling me to take my rightful place as domestic witch with a minimum of fuss :-). The write-up for the book is also correct as this book is useful for Pagan and non-Pagan alike. If you're not interested in the rituals and festivals of the year it's a darned good cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assets to any collection, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
Wonderful asset to any receipe collection not just for us witches everyone would enjoy cooking to the various seasons and celebrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some yummy recipes, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
I really enjoy Soraya's books,having previously read 'Tarot' and 'Spells'.Her works are very readable,easy to understand and then put into practice.
This book would be useful to everyone interested in cooking,not just witches.
It contains sabbat rituals,with associated colours,crystals and incense recipes for each one.
It tells you the magical properties of herbs,spices and flowers along with what's best to use them with in cooking to help in creating your own recipes.
Lots of recipes are given for each sabbat,including curries,salads,soups,cakes etc.
Some of my favourites are-
Samhain:Roast ham with rosemary,upside down apple pie,cinnamon bread,lemon and rosemary biscuits,chocolate apples,toffee apples,cider punch,pumpkin soup,pumpkin seed bread,pumpkin cookies,pumpkin muffins and orange trifle.
Yule:Roast turkey with bacon and gravy,chestnut stuffing,clootie dumpling,cardamon and vodka biscuits,spicy milk and wassail.
Imbolc:Potato and leek soup,spicy loaf,spell cake,crescent cakes,fruit and nut bread and girdle scones.
Ostara:Onion soup,honey-glazed ham,herby potatoes,and sunflower seed bread.
Beltane:Omelette,handfasting cake,honey cake,may wine and elderflower cordial.
Litha:Chicken goujons,eves pudding,litha cake,litha punch,mead and lemonade.
Lammas:Creamy potato and nutmeg,roasted roots,lemon tartlets,islay loaf,wholemeal bread,granary bread and strawberry jam.
Mabon:Potato soup,lasagne,corn bread,scotch pancakes and apple crumble.
Also given are recipes for natural cleaning products for the home and some simple remedies for minor ailments.Great book.Blessed be :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
great book,very informative and have some really great recipes in it.highly recomend it to anyone wanting to learn more of the craft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring cookbook, 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for anyone interested in seasonal cookery- which we should be if we care about the environment. I love the simplicity of the recipes and the emphasis on lack of waste.As I read it, I realised that a great deal of what Soraya says about the importance of putting love and positive energy into your food is something I have always tried to do anyway. Do you know, I might already be a witch without realising it! There are some lovely suggestions not only for recipes but for creating joyful and harmonious environments in which to share food, and I am already planning this years garden with many of her delightful suggestions! Lovely drawings and written in a warm and unpretentious way.An important addition to my kitchen shelf, and I will use her ideas to lift my spirits and the spirits of those I love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Kitchen Witch, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
Another excellent book by an excellent author. Reading it has made me wonder how to make my small kitchen like hers !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grams not cups yey!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
I love this book because its not American (not that I have anything against them) and it was a breath of fresh air to read. I much prefer working in grams rather than cups as the recipes are more accurate. Some great natural cleaning ideas in the back too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book, it will be used many times at pagan festivals and actually many of the recipes are really great even if you are not pagan or celebrating a ritual. loaded with information, very easy to read and understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
This book is not only a very good cook book for someone who is just starting out in cookery, but an excellent book for explaining the Wicca year. Well worth having for both Wicca and non Wicca cooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes good book full of infomation, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kitchen Witch: A Year-round Witch's Brew of Seasonal Recipes, Lotions and Potions for Every Pagan Festival (Paperback)
I love it ! interesting book full of info....food ritual Earth magic.......I am studying the craft so just learning wicker and Earth magic. ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews