Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant wee recipe book full of great kitchen and time-saving tips
I love this format, and this beautiful little recipe book. At first I thought it was a notebook - blank - but actually it is full of really helpful and fun recipes and funny comments from the Twins and the Broons. One of the tips is 'never go to bed without leaving a clean kitchen', which is how my brother lives his life in a very busy household, so that was...
Published on 7 Dec. 2010 by Jane Wilson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For Maw Broon aficianados
A quirky little book in the style of the Maw Broon cookbooks.
Published 8 months ago by beanfeasa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant wee recipe book full of great kitchen and time-saving tips, 7 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
I love this format, and this beautiful little recipe book. At first I thought it was a notebook - blank - but actually it is full of really helpful and fun recipes and funny comments from the Twins and the Broons. One of the tips is 'never go to bed without leaving a clean kitchen', which is how my brother lives his life in a very busy household, so that was interesting,(so maybe I'll try it one day!) and other tips on how use up left over mashed tatties, and how to keep wine through to the next day once opened. Fair enough you might know all that, but it's interesting to read them, and the tablet recipes are super and work. I like the shortbread recipe and the notes on cake trouble (you are hearing from someone who suffers from fallen sponges!) and overall, this book is just lovely. This is really good value, and the production quality is more like a book at a tenner. It has a gift ribbon as a marker, and while I haven't wanted to add notes to it, as I worry I'd spoil it, you could buy two and keep one perfect as a collector's item. So this goes into my favourite as a stocking filler this year - I bought five already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ma Broon, 27 Nov. 2010
By 
Ms. Wwd Thomson "wwdt12" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
This is an excellent wee hard back book perfect as a stocking filler.It is great value for money. A must for any female Broon's fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maw's thoughts, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Mop Top (South England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
Excellent little book. Thought it would have had more thoughts from Maw, Paw and the weans but since I was giving it to a NON Scottish person, maybe this was just as well! lol Good simple, Scottish recipes.none of this made up scottish weird stuff. I recognised all the recipes and could have made them all! Very pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
Lots of amazing tips and recipes, very good they way they have made it look like she has glued lots of different bits and pieces in the book, cut outs of food packages etc. Love reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing stupid or hoity toity about it, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
Apart from idolizing The Broons and Oor Wullie I never imagined that either of them would help me as a cook but this little gem is absolutely marvellous and helpful on every page. Simple yet delicious cooked fare, nothing stupid or hoity toity about it. Mince and Tatties and lovely basic soups. Cheers Maw and the great DC THompson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the man happy, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
A happy man is a quiet man - dont believe that for a second! Bought this as I'd bought another Broon book for a friend of mine and as it looked quite good I thought I'd try this one out. Its a good book, got lots of scottish recepies in it (for the scottish hubby). I only have two issues with it -
1 - in some recepies the writing can be quite difficult to read for those of us who wear glasses and are awful at following where we are in a book and
2 - no matter what I do i cannot get the scotch pies just right!!!!!! >:(
This is not the books fault of course but my own sloppy cooking efforts. Ah well - practise makes a full tummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy memories, 8 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
Used to read The Broons every Sunday when I was a child growing up in Glasgow. This was a gift to a close Glaswegian friend to bring back shared memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely gift., 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
This is a lovely wee gift for someone who is a fan of The Broons but already owns the Maw Broons cookbooks. It is a high quality small (around A6 sized) book with loads of lovely Scottish recipes and some vintage Broons cartoons thrown in for good measure. Recipes include soups, baking, egg dishes and even has a few veggie recipes in there too.

It is wrong to describe it as a notebook since each page has a recipe with the opposite page blank for writing notes, it is more a mini recipe and comic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
A great gift which my friend enjoyed. Good recipes in this book including one for scottish tablet for all you sweet toothed people out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook, 2 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook (Hardcover)
Great Book and well worth having in any kitchen or bookcase, has great reciepts that have long been forgotten remembers me of my Own Mums cooking and can see me really starting to enjoy and at the same time remember the good old Broon's characters from the past easy to read understand and what a pleasure to read and cook from!!!!

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook
Maw Broon's Kitchen Notebook by Maw Broon (Hardcover - 1 Sept. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews