Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a really good read...
I loved this book. Brilliant, I said as I reluctanly read the last sentence. It is so difficult to find a book you keep wanting to get back to but this has it. It is also very well written, full of suspense, excellently researched and this from sombody who doesn't read thrillers.
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Fern

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat great peace type story
Good read and the characters were interwoven well. I would have liked if the baddies got caught. But you can see that some organisation could make a government worry if they could combine their threat with a natural disaster
Published 12 months ago by George Lazur


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a really good read..., 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: DEAD in the WATER (Paperback)
I loved this book. Brilliant, I said as I reluctanly read the last sentence. It is so difficult to find a book you keep wanting to get back to but this has it. It is also very well written, full of suspense, excellently researched and this from sombody who doesn't read thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed thriller, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: DEAD in the WATER (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down - it's pace and energy whisk you through a world of environmentlism versus corporate business, political rhetoric versus truth and integrity versus moral corruption. The beautifully seen characters lead you into a dark world where nothing is quite what it seems, with the climate already crumbling and where environmentalism is aligned with terrorism. Brian Woolland has created a contemporary yet future vision of what might be (or are we there already?) with a tale that twists and turns at every chapter. As with all good novels, it ended way before I wanted it to, and the characters and storyline are still in my head. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead in the Water by Brian Woolland, 27 May 2011
This review is from: DEAD in the WATER (Paperback)
This is a really pacey thriller - an ideal bedtime read for those who do not wish to sleep and those who like a compelling and orginal combination of politics, sociological/environmental issues and changes of location. Written in small chapters, each chapter building in suspense upon the previous one and largely alternating between London and various locations in Venezuela, it makes for easy and magnetic reading.

Each party in the environmental preservation/climate change debate seems to have some right on its side, yet the methods of some in pursuing their aims can be highly questionable, not least those of politicians and 'do-gooders.' Add to this mix, villains who do not care for the rights of individuals and indigenous groups and you have the recipe for a haunting vision of what can happen when those in political power take their eye off the ball or, worse, have their fingers in the wrong type of pie.

Highly topical, hinting of tomorrow's problems rooted in today's issues, this book is an absolute must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead in the Water? Not this cracking debut novel!, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: DEAD in the WATER (Paperback)
The opening of this thriller is truly shocking. A murderous unprovoked attack on a Venezuelan rainforest village, observed and filmed by a young Rachel Boyd in a stunned reportage style lending even greater veracity and impact to the outrage. The narrative never flags, moving between the rainforest, Caracas, London and Oxford, a coalition Government, intelligence organisations, big business, eco-terrorists and globally warmed freak British weather.
Throughout, the reader has the uneasy feeling that he is not being let in on everything, only what others want him to know - its the real world! Brian Woolland has produced a rattling good thriller but at no time does he sacrifice character for the sake of plot. The main protagonists, the idealistic Rachel, her father Mark, the environmental radical-turned-government advisor, the emotionally confused Jeremy, have the ring of truth - no superheroes here - flawed, uncertain of themselves, their motives and their relationships. The strength of the book is in this very uncertainty. The reader is caught up in the plot twists and turns along with the main characters - who do you believe? Anybody? Nobody? This is a very modern novel - not wrapped neatly with explanatory bows. It challenges you to deal with its (and our) uncertain and mendacious world. I had the pleasure of reading this novel "back to back" with William Boyd's Ordinary Thunderstorms, another thriller by one of the very best British writers of the last thirty years. It speaks volumes for Woolland that Dead in the Water stands comparison with Thunderstorms and (speak it softly) in some respects outdoes Boyd particularly in its absence of "contrivance" to chivvy the plot along. A truly remarkable achievement in a first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking Good Read!!!, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: DEAD in the WATER (Paperback)
I am an inveterate reader of thrillers and detective fiction. However I am increasingly becoming frustrated by the formulaic nature of some of the writing in these genres. Additionally there is sometimes a lack a lack of credibility in terms of keeping at least a part of the reader's reality rooted in a particular narrative structure. Dead in the Water meets all my criteria for believability, pace and edge-of-the-seat tension. This is a novel with an elegantly structured plot with sub-plots interwoven into a fast-paced story, laced with characters facing difficult decisions and dilemmas. Most striking for me and indeed believable is the ecological activist turned politician whose involvement with politics, (a coalition government - how prescient), transforms his ideals into compromise at best and a looming sense of selling out at worst. Central to this character's political dilemmas and the engine which powers the contradictions at the centre of his existence are relationships and family politics, which complicate his life and which rapidly escalate into a series of desperate measures in order to avoid catastrophe. This is the first thriller which I have read for while which gave me sleepless nights as I was reluctant to put it down. Dead in the Water is a wonderfully well-written book with detail which adds complexity and depth to a subject which should be at the centre of all our politics if life as we know it is to have any chance of survival. I think this is a fantastic debut novel. I sincerely hope the author writes more in the style of this book as the genre benefits from this kind of intelligent deconstruction of issues into a great story without becoming didactic or long-winded. Indeed the novel feels quite short and so a sequel would indeed be welcome perhaps re-visiting some of the main characters, events and issues some time after the `explosive' ending of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead in the Water by Brian Woolland, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: DEAD in the WATER (Paperback)
Dead in the Water is a fast paced, modern - almost futuristic - political, ecological (without being preachy) and in some ways psychological thriller. It tells the story of Mark Boyd - ex-environmental activist turned government advisor - and his daughter, Rachel.
While working in the Venezuelan rainforest, Rachel witnesses and films the massacre of an entire village. She escapes into the jungle, carrying with her the footage. But the powers behind the massacre know she has survived. They also know who her father is and what it would mean to their plans if he were to acquire that footage.
Meanwhile in London, there has been a bombing. An unknown environmental group has claimed responsibility. Rachel`s father, Mark is in the thick of it, not just politically - as an advisor to the PM - but also on a personal level, and with his own suspicions of who is responsible.
Of course the two incidents are linked.
Mark and Rachel find themselves at the centre of a conspiracy that threatens much more than their own safety. Rachel needs to reach London, and Mark needs to know, who - if anyone - he can trust before the bombers strike again.
I really like this book. It is very well written with a great plot and plenty of action. The prose is elegant and easy, and the settings put you right in there. Brian Woolland`s writing style reminds me a little of Robert Harris, though the perpetual rain in his globally warmed London, and the downbeat internal dialogue of his protagonist, Mark Boyd are also reminiscent of the cult Sc-fi classic Bladerunner.
Great Read. I look forward to his next title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unstoppable Plot Great Research Wonderful Read, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: DEAD in the WATER (Paperback)
Dead in the Water surprises at almost every turn. With the exception of a slightly slow patch about 75% into the book, the author intrigues and informs the reader with diligent research, well-formed, mature characters and a great mix of narrative versus dialogue-based exposition. Most interestingly, Woolland informs readers about the habits and practices of Amazonian tribal people, especially their shamanistic rites of healing without ever sounding like a textbook even though the information passed resembled the results of serious research. Shades of the Carlos Castenada in the details without the burdening philosophy make the protagonist's flight from the Amazon an otherworldly experience grounded in reality. As well, the author succeeds at the difficult task of showing the underside of government policy making without turning to the prose into 'agitprop'. Instead we get a plausible situation full of descriptions of what appears to be military or police state manipulation of our ever diminishing rights and freedoms in modern democracies. What is refreshing is that I never feel like I am being obliged to concur. Pick up this wonder, gripping story. You will be happy you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead in the Water (Kindle Edition)
Great insight into "The men in suits"'scheming with other Governments and intelligence agencies to hide the attrosities
behind oil exploration.Well written must read the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead in the Water - a good read - couldn't put it down, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead in the Water (Kindle Edition)
a great read that I could not put down and some how seems particularly relevant with all the North korean and the US Boston bombs today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat great peace type story, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead in the Water (Kindle Edition)
Good read and the characters were interwoven well. I would have liked if the baddies got caught. But you can see that some organisation could make a government worry if they could combine their threat with a natural disaster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x11699fcc)

This product

DEAD in the WATER
DEAD in the WATER by Brian Woolland (Paperback - 29 July 2010)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews