Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear analysis of the psychodynamic method
This book, one of a series covering different types of counselling, is an excellent introduction to the processes involved in the psychodynamic method. Jacobs takes us from the initial meeting with a client through to the final session. The first encounter is crucial as clues may emerge that allow the counsellor to assess the suitability of the psychodynamic approach...
Published on 18 Aug 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative
This is a clear presentation of what the psychodynamic approach entails. Recommended to both counselling students and clients alike. Informative.
Published 6 months ago by C. Gilardi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear analysis of the psychodynamic method, 18 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This book, one of a series covering different types of counselling, is an excellent introduction to the processes involved in the psychodynamic method. Jacobs takes us from the initial meeting with a client through to the final session. The first encounter is crucial as clues may emerge that allow the counsellor to assess the suitability of the psychodynamic approach for a particular individual. He addresses the middle phase of counselling and takes an in-depth look at the relationship between the counsellor and the client. This is an extremely useful and accessible read in which the author clearly explains the counselling jargon such as 'resistance' and 'transference'. The book should enlighten anyone interested in psychodynamic counselling, whether as a practitioner or a prospective client.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading to all interested in counselling, 25 Jan 2003
By 
Antigone (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Michael Jacobs writes fluidly and in an easy-to-read style. This book is essential for all individuals within the field of counselling, students and also for the interested lay-person. It provides a comprehensive overview of this unique style of counselling and provides plenty of detail and case examples to hold your attention throughout the book.
It deals in a practical way with each stage of the psychodynamic counselling process (beginnings, middles and endings) and other issues raised within this unique relationship (boundaries, defences, resistance & transference). A great addition to this well-respected series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychodynamic Counselling in Action, 8 Dec 2009
By 
J. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book to be a pretty good introduction to the ideas around psychodynamic counselling.

In general I thought that it was fairly easy to read and made more interesting by Micheal Jacobs using two real life case-studies throughout the book to explain different psychodynamic concepts.

Although I did find the section around defences and resistance a little hard going, and perhaps not as clearly explained as other parts of the book. I would still recommend this book for those who are interested in the ideas around psychodynamic counselling/therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book on Psychodynamic Approach, 15 April 2011
This review is from: Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Counselling in Action series) (Paperback)
5 stars!!!

Really worth spending the time reading this book which is friendly-reading, easy to understand and gives us lots of good insights on Psychodynamic Approach.
To be honest, the whole book is good, there isn't a single page of it we can say is boring or tiring. It is worth having the book on the self for future reference and re-reading.
The book is highly recommended to beginners or anyone who wants to get new insights in counselling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good BUy, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Counselling in Action series) (Paperback)
For anyone stepping out into the realm of Psychodynamic Counselling I found this a good read with easy to understand language and good exmaples to illustrate his points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a clear presentation of what the psychodynamic approach entails. Recommended to both counselling students and clients alike. Informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an older version. The newer version is similar and more information. Which I should bought and I will buy. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good fluidic read into Psychodynamic Counselling, 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Counselling in Action series) (Paperback)
This book presents the reader with two case studies of people who have sought counselling, with the author. Although the characters are fictional their stories are very indepth and provide the reader with a certain character that makes them feel like they are real clients with real issues. However it is my own feelings that this book is a bit more cryptic than the others in series and Jacobs writes more about the approach with these two clients rather than the approach in general.

The book makes you read and flow through it like the majority of the SAGE counselling in action books. By the end of the book I was hungry for more information into Psychodynamic Counselling and will be looking through the references of this book to help me to decide on the next book of study. I am new to psychodynamic counselling theory and this was my first glimpse into Psychodynamics and its uses as a Therapeutic tool and method. I must say that it has left me with a number of questions unanswered resulting in me wanting more information.

I want to do further research into the approach as I have not previously studied Psychodynamic Counselling and with more books and researching. It would be interesting to be able to relate the approaches that I have studied so far (CBT and PCT) to gain deeper insight into other counselling theory and more theoretical knowledge, which can help me and others with my studies.

I have read Person Centred Counselling in Action and also Cognitive Behaviour Therapy in Action and both of these books also are great introductions to counselling theory. The beauty of these books are the references to other books and I have just ordered a new book from the references of Person Centred Counselling in Action which is Person Centred Counselling: a Clinical Philosophy that I am looking forward to adding to my own personnel library of Counselling sources to compliment my learning and my Diploma and eventually my Degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book for psychotherapists, 17 July 2013
By 
Maro34 (Dublin, ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Counselling in Action series) (Paperback)
Very straightforward and easy to understand for anyone in training, definitely a good reference book to add to your personal library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does its job, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Counselling in Action series) (Paperback)
Bought for a companion to a Physcodynamic unit and it done its job adequately. Suggest further reading though. Good luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Counselling in Action series)
Psychodynamic Counselling in Action (Counselling in Action series) by Michael Jacobs (Paperback - 31 Aug 2010)
22.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews