Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best in the field
Tracy Alloway tells the story of how she has single-handedly pioneered the research into this hugely important aspect of the brain's cognitive functioning. This book simply takes the most common recognised learning disabilities such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, autism, ADHD and analyses the working memory profile of typical sufferers. The profiles are absolutely astounding. It...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it promises
I was really excited to find this book as I thought it would really help me find techniques and tactics that we could do with my son who has learning difficulties. It gives a pretty clear overview of each of the different types of learning difficulties but tactics where in very short supply. I was then really irritated to find that the answer was a product that the...
Published on 15 Sept. 2011 by Julie H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it promises, 15 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
I was really excited to find this book as I thought it would really help me find techniques and tactics that we could do with my son who has learning difficulties. It gives a pretty clear overview of each of the different types of learning difficulties but tactics where in very short supply. I was then really irritated to find that the answer was a product that the author was plugging pretty fiercely in the book as the answer. She clear has some affiliation to the product and when I searched for reviews of the product online, the only place I could find any was a group of mums who described it as boring and annoying for the children.

All in all, I suggest saving your money. I also purchased Help for the Struggling Student at the same time by Mimi Gold and it is the exact opposite in that it is full of easy to use exercises that help the child develop different strategies for their own learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best in the field, 16 May 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (CAMBRIDGE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
Tracy Alloway tells the story of how she has single-handedly pioneered the research into this hugely important aspect of the brain's cognitive functioning. This book simply takes the most common recognised learning disabilities such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, autism, ADHD and analyses the working memory profile of typical sufferers. The profiles are absolutely astounding. It is a thin book, which really tells rather than illustrates, leaving a lot of scope for further discussion of the implications of these dramatic discoveries. But if you have a child with any major learning disability, these findings will be essential reading. For teachers, it will be a useful reference point and you can point to the tables to discuss the findings with parents. It will probably help parents to understand some of the technical terms used in educational psychologists' reports, and it gives advice on which are the tests which are accurate measurements of working memory and which are not.
The real thing missing is what the title mistakenly implies. The title hints that the book will suggest ways to improve working memory. But that is not what this book is for: it merely gives profiles of learners' attributes and suggests a few simple but effective ways of helping students to learn better despite their impaired working memory. It does not describe ways in which the raw working memory can be improved. Indeed, this is probably a better educational model rather than seeking to 'cure' the condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to an important aspect of learning, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Mary R. Ward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
Everyone involved in teaching should read this book. It's easy to understand, comprehensive and provides important strategies for teaching students with working memory problems. It's too easy to assume that someone is lazy or inattentive. After reading this book you'll be much wiser!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what is says on the tin...., 10 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
I bought this book in the hope it would discuss and demonstrate HOW to improve working memory. It spends over 100 pages telling us about who has these problems and a few pages telling us what does not work before plugging one product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars memory book, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
I haven't been convinced by this book that there is such a concept as working memory. It lacked tips as to how to improve memory, especially tips for teachers. Not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improving Working Memory, 18 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
This is a very informative book for those interested in learning more about working memory and its implications both in the classroom and in the home. I found the cognitive profiles very interesting and look forward to reading the book a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic Information on Working Memory, 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
Misleading title as there were very few strategies in the book for improving working memory. In addition I felt that the contents did not 'flow' in some areas - clarity was lost. It is a shame that parents/teachers use their own money to purchase books like this, hoping to improve the learning of their children/students, and feel that it was wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear summary to the subject, excellent writing style and great profiles on various SENDs., 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read some of her other books on the subject I think this is the best! Its examination of the impact of working memory on special educational needs is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for understanding dyslexics, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
Great book recommended by a Educational Psychologist- from a dyslexic test my son had. Helps you understand the needs of your child. I would recommend it for others to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting work, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning (Paperback)
As I as yet have not completed reading this work I am slow to say too much but on skimming its contents I look forward to getting very good ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning
Improving Working Memory: Supporting Students' Learning by Tracy Packiam Alloway (Paperback - 17 Nov. 2010)
Used & New from: £18.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews