Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, informative and practical overview of Schemas.
If you are interested in understanding the behaviour and interests of young children this is the place to start! Cathy Nutbrown draws upon her own extensive experience of working with children and Early Years Practitioners to demystify the concept of 'Schemas'. These are recognisable patterns of behaviour which indicate how children are making the connections neccessary...
Published on 24 Mar 2002 by ann.paulett@totalise.co.uk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful information on schematic play
I did find this book informative and helpful during the 1st year of my foundation degree in childrens early years education,and used it as reference in a couple of assignments. I really liked the Again,Again book on schematic play which helped me with an assignment and powerpoint presentation.I found it easier to read then the Nutbrown but not so in depth.
Published on 25 July 2011 by LearningLola


Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, informative and practical overview of Schemas., 24 Mar 2002
If you are interested in understanding the behaviour and interests of young children this is the place to start! Cathy Nutbrown draws upon her own extensive experience of working with children and Early Years Practitioners to demystify the concept of 'Schemas'. These are recognisable patterns of behaviour which indicate how children are making the connections neccessary for the development of thought and understanding. The extensive illustrations and jargon free text make this an excellent text for students, parents and workers who wish to be more closely in tune with young children. It is the book that I most often lend or recommend to Early Years colleagues and students
Seriously interested readers will almost certainly also wish to read the seminal work of Chris Athey (1990) Extending Thought in Young Children: A Parent -Teacher Partnership, published by Paul Chapman, London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, easy to use and dip into, 12 July 2004
By 
Mrs. J. S. Paylor-sykes (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I haven't read a lot about Schemas-this book is a great introduction.It is easy to understand and I have shared it with others within the Foundation Stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Threads for thinking; Schema and young Children's Learning, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: Threads of Thinking: Schemas and Young Children's Learning (Paperback)
A very useful book. I refer to it all the time. Worth buying.
Book arrived really fast. completely happy purchasing from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful information on schematic play, 25 July 2011
I did find this book informative and helpful during the 1st year of my foundation degree in childrens early years education,and used it as reference in a couple of assignments. I really liked the Again,Again book on schematic play which helped me with an assignment and powerpoint presentation.I found it easier to read then the Nutbrown but not so in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for childcare workers, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is another essential read for all childcare workers and students. Revised in recent years, it offers a vision of child development that we should all take heed of and use in our planning for young childrens play and learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Threads of thinking, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threads of Thinking: Schemas and Young Children's Learning (Paperback)
An o.k book if one is looking just at schemas. I did not learn anything new about schemas which I was hoping this book would produce. But a good first read for anyone just beginning linking schemas as a learning tool for development..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 April 2009
By 
J. Silverton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Threads of Thinking is a brilliant book. It's inspirational. I recommend it to all early years practitioners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reading, 1 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i'm not the world's best reader and so this book is alittle long winded for me, but on the other had i have found some very useful points in this book. i've only read the points that have been relevant to myself at the time and this has helped.Threads of Thinking: Young Children Learning and the Role of Early Education
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5bf4ee8)

This product

Threads of Thinking: Schemas and Young Children's Learning
Threads of Thinking: Schemas and Young Children's Learning by Cathy Nutbrown (Paperback - 17 Mar 2011)
22.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews