Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book
Clare Sainsbury gives a wonderful account of what it is like to be a schoolchild with Asperger syndrome drawn from her own experience, as well as commenting about theories on the subject. This should provide valuable insight to both teachers and parents as well as being one of those 'me too' reads for other people with Asperger syndrome like myself. If you are a...
Published on 28 Jan 2006 by Suzie

versus
2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dismisses Handwriting?!
I got a lot out of this book about AS; however, one passing comment I found particularly pernicious--in her section on Motor functions, she mentions the difficulty AS children have with Handwriting, and from there she reasons that Handwriting in general is an obsolete skill ("When was the last time you received a hand-written letter?") and therefore should be removed from...
Published on 24 Dec 2010 by Mr. Randy Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 28 Jan 2006
By 
Suzie "Say something about yourself!" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Clare Sainsbury gives a wonderful account of what it is like to be a schoolchild with Asperger syndrome drawn from her own experience, as well as commenting about theories on the subject. This should provide valuable insight to both teachers and parents as well as being one of those 'me too' reads for other people with Asperger syndrome like myself. If you are a teacher though and you only want to read one book then this one probably shouldn't be it, simply because I don't think this book alone is enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!! The best book on Aspergers I've read!!, 28 April 2006
I am a professional, who also has a personal interest in Aspergers, as a dear friend struggles with this. I had a lot of 'professional' knowledge about this syndrome, but this book has really helped me understand it from the sufferer's perspective. This book waa actually sent to me by mistake! the most wonderful mistake!! as it has by far been the most helpful book on this subject I have come across. It is written simply and clearly, and has examples from a variety of people, which is great, as it shows the diversity within the syndrome. I want to give Clare the biggest hug! (though she may not appreciate that!! 'o) as this book has truly given me an insight into the experience my now adult friend, is likely to have experienced during youth.. which has helped me have a deeper understanding and compassion for why he struggles now, and why he feels about himself the way he does - having never known this syndrome existed.. Thankyou Clare....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and helpful, 16 Jan 2010
By 
E. Richards (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martian in the Playground: Understanding the Schoolchild with Asperger's Syndrome (Lucky Duck Books) (Paperback)
This book is written by someone with Asperger's syndrome. As the parent of a child with this syndrome I found it very helpful in improving my understanding of what it is like for my son, and hopefully this will make me better at dealing with him, not expecting him to conform in all ways but helping to work out how he can be himself whilst benefiting from the educational process. The author's perspective gives a different angle on Aspergers to other books I've read (many of which are also helpful in different ways) and comes from a less theoretical viewpoint than some.

It's well written and quite moving. I would encourage anyone who has contact with Asperger's children to read it - parents, teachers, lunchtime organisers - everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and easy to follow., 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
As a parent with a child who has similair problems ,to the author,this is an essential book to read. It is written in a language that parents can understand,unlike some similair books that have been reccomended to me. It gives a good insight as to how people on the Autistic Spectrum view the world and how we can help them. I think all teachers involved with children like this,should study this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Aspergers book, 6 Dec 2009
By 
This is the best book I have read on the subject of Aspergers and the feelings of people with Aspergers. Unlike some books which relate only the views of the writer.
The authoress of this book has interviewed and added the comments of many different Aspergers people.
The original I bought was not an expensive book and definitely worth reading if you want to find out about people who have Aspergers. I think the modern copies have several pages at the beginning written by an 'expert' which were not in the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful insights, spoiled by poor typesetting and editing, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Claire Sainsbury's "Martian in the playground" gives a refreshing insight into the lives of people with Asperger syndrome. It is an insider's view, which is worth considering as essential reading by professionals, academics and the general public who are interested in autistic spectrum disorders (ASDs). Sainsbury is a skilled writer who brings the syndrome to life for those of us who know it only through the lives of others, or by glimpsing it at moments when our own understanding of the physical and social world lets us down. I have known many people with ASDs, but I know them better now.
Her comments on matters of theory are also important. She gives lessons to professionals and academics who take it on themselves to speak for disabled people when, for example, they preach unfettered forms of the social model of disability. Her understanding of theory of mind and of central coherence is particularly illuminating. Conversely, her criticism of Wolfensberger's "social role valorization" seems off-target, and not in line with UK interpretations of the approach over the last twenty years.
This book deserves five stars, but I can give it four only, because of its typesetting and editing. Why use a sans serif font, and compound this cruelty by using sans serif italics for quotations? There are too many typesetting errors. An editor should have shortened the author's sentences, and should have reduced severely her use of parentheses. In short, I suffered tired eyes because of the presentation of this book. Yet, I could not put it down because of the quality of its intellectual and human content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book about Asperger's, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martian in the Playground: Understanding the Schoolchild with Asperger's Syndrome (Lucky Duck Books) (Paperback)
Good book which describes the issues surrounding attending school with Asberger's syndrome. Well written and interesting. The book manages to discuss the subject without being too technical for a ley reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent accessible book, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Martian in the Playground: Understanding the Schoolchild with Asperger's Syndrome (Lucky Duck Books) (Paperback)
Excellent accessible book. Aimed at teachers, but it has proved the best book for research for a parent of a recently diagnosed child. Many revelations that ring very true. The best thing about it is that it looks at the subject from the child's point of view. There are many different children/adults stories, some pretty harrowing but very useful. It has really helped with talking to schools and educators and has a good intro by a leading expert in the field. It definitely helps you to find a window into how Asperger's children see the world and how we can help them. Also useful when talking to various professional types. If they have heard of it/read it/or rate it, they are generally OK. If not and they show little interest, you know there will be problems with them! I would strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 29 Dec 2007
A good book for teachers and parents because it gives an insight into AS from an adult point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martian in the Playground, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martian in the Playground: Understanding the Schoolchild with Asperger's Syndrome (Lucky Duck Books) (Paperback)
Very good, very clear jargon free book with lots of down to earth examples of what it feels like to have Asperger's Syndrome. So easy and interesting to read,I read it within a few hours .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews