Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amendment 1
The book is simply updated from the BS7671:2008. As you know if you are a registered electrician the latest info does come in handy and is required by most trade bodies

Here are the main amendments:

Amendments to part PART 4

There are changes to tables 41.2 & 41.4 due to new fuse standards being introduced:

Old BS 1361 changed...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Mr. D. Gikes

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book but
Please note I do not wish this to be published as a review this is for your information.
The On-Site Guide currently for sale by yourselves was published prior to 2013 and therefore contains typing errors and certain corrections have not been made by the publisher, the 2013 version does not contain these errors. I did not return the book because some of the students...
Published 6 months ago by john the squirrel


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amendment 1, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. D. Gikes "Daz" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
The book is simply updated from the BS7671:2008. As you know if you are a registered electrician the latest info does come in handy and is required by most trade bodies

Here are the main amendments:

Amendments to part PART 4

There are changes to tables 41.2 & 41.4 due to new fuse standards being introduced:

Old BS 1361 changed to BS 88-3
Old BS 88-2-2 changed to BS 88-2
Old BS 88-2-6 changed to BS 88-2

The effects of these changes are:
* Some Zs values are different
* Withdrawal of certain protective device ratings i.e. 15A devices
* Some time current tables in Appendices are altered
New Section 444- Measures against electromagnetic disturbances.

This new electromagnetic disturbances section provides recommendations to enable the avoidance and reduction of Electromagnetic Interference (EMI).

Electrical installations which include sources of electromagnetic disturbances could be transformers, Welding machines, electric motors, fluorescent lighting and where switching of inductive loads could cause EMI. Also includes routing of cables and inducing of voltages.

Recommendations also cover installations where EMI may disturb or damage IT systems/equipment and electronic circuits and components.

++++
New section 534- Devices for protection against overvoltage. Selection of Surge Protection Devices (SPD).

Transient overvoltages or surges could come from lightning or switching of electrical circuits.

This amendment includes requirements for the installation of Surge Protection Devices (SPDs) and filters to limit transient overvoltages and divert damaging surge current away from sensitive equipment such as computers and electronic circuits.

More info about Surge Protection Devices.

++++
New section 710- Medical Locations

This section involves the safety of patients likely to be subjected to the application of electrical medical equipment in medical locations such as hospitals and dental practices. This includes shock protection and secure supplies for life support. Section 710 also segregates medical locations into 3 groups 0,1 and 2.

++++
New section 729- Operating or Maintenance Gangways.

Mainly concerning Electrical Switch rooms and Restricted Areas. This amendment ties in with Regulation 15 of the Electricity at work Regulations and includes requirements for working space, gangway width, operational access, emergency access, and emergency evacuation.

++++
Appendix 6- New Model Forms for Certification and Reporting.

This amendment brings in the new Electrical Installation Condition Report which replaces the Periodic Inspection Report. More information on the new Electrical Installation Condition Report.
Minor Works amendment NOT introduced.

Note- There were to be changes regarding exceptions to RCD protection where Minor Works are carried out and where SELV and PELV cables are concealed in walls. The important thing to know is that these "proposed" changes (mentioned in the video) were withdrawn and don't feature in the amendments.
On-Site Guide and Guidance Notes

The amended On-Site Guide and Guidance books associated with BS7671 Amendment 1 are due to be published on the following dates:

On-Site Guide- October 2011
Guidance Note 7- January 2012
Guidance Note 1- February 2012
Guidance Note 3- March 2012
Guidance Note 2- April 2012
Guidance Note 4- April 2012
Guidance Note 8- April 2012
Electrical Installation Design Guide: Calculations for Electricians and Designers- April 2012
Guidance Note 5- May 2012
Guidance Note 6- May 2012

Taken from [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book but, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
Please note I do not wish this to be published as a review this is for your information.
The On-Site Guide currently for sale by yourselves was published prior to 2013 and therefore contains typing errors and certain corrections have not been made by the publisher, the 2013 version does not contain these errors. I did not return the book because some of the students I train either cannot afford the guide, or have forgotten to purchase it before attending the course, so as a tutor I feel I should help them and lend the spare copies I have, to them until they can purchase a copy, or if they cannot afford to buy one I lend them a guide until the end of the course. Unfortunately this means that I cannot recommend that they purchase this guide from your company at present, if you could email me when you have the new stock I will advise my students that amazon have the correct stock. I have no axe to grind over this matter these comments are made in good faith.
Yours Sincerely J Wilkins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is [Spiral-bound] not [Paperback], 24 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Readman "Rob R" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
After placing my order for this, I immediately panicked due to the delinquent person who submitted the Amazon Listing (also to Google Shopping as well) put this down as Paperback.
I can safely assure everyone that it is a handy Spiral-bound, just like the Little Red 2008 On-Site Guide. (listing owner should change the format to Spiral-bound)
The cover is different, no free bookmark included with the symbols on, they just printed that straight onto the back page this time.

A few blunders are in the book as others have also found, page 169 Figure G4.9 (ii)
Observation(s)
1. Damage to cable for shower circuit (Cir.No.7) in loft, conductors visible, arcing evident. Classification Code C1 (Danger present, Risk of injury. Immediate remedial action required)
Yet in the Further Investigation Required, it states No...

Again, just a blunder, but they are present.

Good to finally get EMC in the book.

Overall 4/5, really wanted proof reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. N. MacE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
i found this book extremely useful for my electrical work in different houses and it also helps with doing my work for my courses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Site Guide, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Lee S. Fitzpatrick "Lee The Celt" (Havering G London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
As ever with Amazon, a quick reliable service, that's why i keep coming back.
The on site guide always handy to have in the van, just to make sure your correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YEPS FINE, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
Came in good time and is just as it should be. Very happy but now I need to get the big green book. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of information, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
This book contains a wide range of essential facts and figures to answer those niggling questions when you are on site and cannot recall that piece of information required to complete the task
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as expected, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. G. Wynder (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
This is the classic detailed reference book for ALL practising and aspiring electricians, to familiarise you with everything you need to know about BS 7671, and this edition incorporates the new first amendment 2011 to bring you fully up to date with the recent changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it does the job, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
If you are in training for any electrical installer qualification then this is a must. Including the new amendments for this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book is not lay out as to many others of the same which I used on my course, 27 July 2014
This review is from: On-Site Guide: (BS 7671:2008 Wiring Regulations, incorporating Amendment No 1:2011) (Iet Wiring Regulations) (Spiral-bound)
I Purchase one of this book earlier part of 2014 but when I took it to my course it did not contain all the pages because when the instructor told the class to turn to a certain page and paragraph I would either find the answer on a different page number or it just wouldn't be in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews