Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A challenging and uncompromising read.
Yet again the IET have produced a modern classic. Three years on from their last bestseller, few would have believed they could write another thriller so soon which would capture the imagination in quite the same way. With Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations, they have proved all those doubters...
Published on 22 Aug. 2011 by Dr Underpants

versus
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Electrical Wiring Regs. a must for any Electrician, Amd.1
The regs. well not the best read but it is necessary to master if you're a professional Electrician.
As always very expensive, but extensive information for the requirements of electrical installations.
Could use a modern touch, as in a built in indent index page selection for parts and appendices.
Maybe look at using colour and better quality paper and for...
Published on 6 July 2011 by MC Welsh Wizard


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Electrical Wiring Regs. a must for any Electrician, Amd.1, 6 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
The regs. well not the best read but it is necessary to master if you're a professional Electrician.
As always very expensive, but extensive information for the requirements of electrical installations.
Could use a modern touch, as in a built in indent index page selection for parts and appendices.
Maybe look at using colour and better quality paper and for the price a more useful hard cover.
The new numbering system has made it difficult to remember or almost impossible.
Great new info. regarding medical locations and SPD in chapter 444.
Total knowledge of the regs. is gained by experience and continual development don't think that you will master all in a lifetime.
A useful reference tool which will lead to you having to read many books related to the regs.
Then of course it all changes just as you're getting to grips with it.
Welcome to the ever changing world of electrical engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A challenging and uncompromising read., 22 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
Yet again the IET have produced a modern classic. Three years on from their last bestseller, few would have believed they could write another thriller so soon which would capture the imagination in quite the same way. With Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations, they have proved all those doubters wrong and categorically established themselves at the head of the shortlist of truly great contemporary writers.

The reader is drawn into the story from the opening, with the backdrop for the entire plot uncompromisingly revealed at an early stage. In spite of this it is impossible to not be drawn in on the rollercoaster ride, which owes its thanks to the many unexpected plot twists which seamlessly lace the narrative and truly demonstrate the vast range of the IET's technical writing skills.

Do not be fooled by my unerring enthusiasm for this fine work of literature however; the book is undoubtedly a challenging read. Multi-layered sub-plots flow flawlessly in and out of one another, and some of the ideas which are presented in the IET's now notorious complex sentence structure can at times boggle the mind. I urge any prospective readers to persist with the book however, and they will truly be rewarded with a thought-provoking story which may well change the way they look at their life, and the lives of others around them.

In conclusion, I cannot recommend this book highly enough. The IET have yet again raised the bar for their contemporaries, and let's hope that Amendment 2 lives up to the hype which is already being generated in literary circles. Could a film adaptation possibly be on the horizon? One can only pray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars technical data book, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
book arrived as promised and was exactly as description said, will use this service next time I need something not on the shelf, may use it anyway to save money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A necessity! New Amendment dates included in review, 28 Sept. 2014
By 
Sm Crosse - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
If you start the course this is a necessity. You cannot continue without it
Bare in mind however this is 2008 so I have no doubt another edition is on its way sooner rather than later
Nevertheless, this is a must unless you have a photographic memory? ;)

I started 2 weeks ago and have struggled taking and making notes. You can only make so many references as to where to highlight in a Red and Black. Anyway here is is now it's time to start scribbling

To further my review, I learned this week that the new amendments BS 7671:2008 Amendment 3 DPC Updated June 2008
The actual Amendment 3 is expected to be published on 01 January 2015 and is intended to come into effect on 01 July 2015. Consequently installations designed after 30 June 2015 are to comply with BS 7671:2008 incorporating Amendment 3, 2015.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than the Previous Version, 18 April 2012
By 
Techman-st - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
This book arrived well before the estimated delivery date, good service from the supplier. As an Electrical Tech I require this book to keep up with the British Standards requirements for electrical installations. Unfortunately this is not the most riveting of reads and long term use tends to make the eye lids very heavy, but it is a necessary evil. Since the IET (Institute of Engineering Technology) have taken over from the IEE (Institute of Electrical Engineers) they have made an effort to make a more constructive layout for this publication, as there is evidence within the book that they are making inroads to organise the structure and make things more organised, there is a definite improvement when compared to 2008 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this on Amazon, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
I bought my copy of these regulations from a seller here on amazon and it turns out it was a counterfeit copy. The seller had a 98% positive feedback as I recall, however it has since disappeared. There are numerous errors in the book between it and the actual standard. I was very fortunate to notice it. I am an electrical engineer and had I used this book's figures and there was an error I may have been liable. For the sake of a few quid, it's not worth it. I would recommend buying it through the IET website instead rather than run the risk of a seller on here.

If you do choose to buy it on Amazon, it's definitely best to check for the common inconsistencies in the fakes before you use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electrical installations, 14 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
We are fed up as electrical contractors having to purchase these regulations. These should be supplied by governement free of charge if they expect electricians to follow regualtions that seem to come out quicker than the sun does. There is nothing wrong with th book but it was only a year ago since we had the last changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
For the price of this book the quality of the materials used to print it on is very poor they might as well have printed it on toilet paper it is a book which is likely to be referenced many times and won't last two minutes.

It is also out of date a new version should be available to include amendment 2 released in August 2013, the amendment is available for download for a cost from the IET website so beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unless your super human and you know all the leglislation off by ..., 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
5 stars because this book is nothing but a requirement for electricians to legally comply, unless your super human and you know all the leglislation off by heart???? this is the book that a judge will use to sentence you and string your knads up to the nearest electrical pillon when you get it wrong!
saying this, this green book will soon be relegated to the near on useless draw because, on the 1st nov 2014 the new 3rd ammendment will be signed off and going to press...this new yellow book will be available for purchase on the 1st january 2015.

so if you are on a 17th edition course prior I would suggest you borrow a book and wait for the new book... it staggers me to think people still attempt to sell the old books for such high amounts of money, when it would be more benefitial to buy Andrex, at least its softer when wiping your arse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Why review this book? You need it or you ..., 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations (Paperback)
Why review this book? You need it or you don't. Whatever rubbish you feel you need to make public knowledge on this publication it will not help me to make any decision whether I buy it or not. I AM AN ELECTRICIAN AND I NEED TO SPEND £60 ON IT. And furthermore when it is amended I will probably have to recycle it and spend a further £60 on an amended one.
And yes when I charge £26.00 per hour for my services, I wish I earned £26.00 per hour as well. Just cause you are charged it, it does not mean I earn it, I have to spend hundreds of pounds on these publications, a van, tools, test equipment, insurance and the list is not exhausted.
Begs the question why do I bother?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Requirements for Electrical Installations: BS 7671:2008 Incorporating Amendment No 1: 2011: IET Wiring Regulations
£67.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews