Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blake and???
This is an excellent book. Why? Well I consider myself a seasoned reader who can predict what will happen next but I was amazed at how Jacob's story unfolded. The reader first thinks that this will be a retread of the H G Well's The Time Machine but the story is every bit as original and as gripping as Well's pioneering book was.
The art? Well it is wonderful...
Published on 26 May 2007 by Glenn Cook

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not a review but a request. Can ...
This is not a review but a request. Can anybody explain why, less than two months after its publication, this book is no longer available except from chancers asking inflated sums of money for it?
Published 4 months ago by BlueBlueBlue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blake and???, 26 May 2007
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent book. Why? Well I consider myself a seasoned reader who can predict what will happen next but I was amazed at how Jacob's story unfolded. The reader first thinks that this will be a retread of the H G Well's The Time Machine but the story is every bit as original and as gripping as Well's pioneering book was.
The art? Well it is wonderful. Beautiful detailed drawings in wonderful toned colours that add to the world that Blake finds himself in. And this is where I must divulge the origins of my title.
Blake features only at the start and ending of this story. It is Mortimer's adventure alone. Jacobs is a genius and betters his former master Herge in my humble opinion (and I'm a Tintinophile!). I won't divulge the story that is for the reader to enjoy and how I envy him on reading this wonderful book for the first time.

(Thanks to H. Beentje for correcting my mistake)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent graphic novel from 1962, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I completely agree with Mr Cook's five stars, for sure - this is a great story, the best Blake & Mortimer there is, with stunning and very atmospheric images.
But the hero is Professor Mortimer, all through - it is Blake who only appears briefly!
Mortimer inherits a house from an old acquaintance and makes an amazing discovery in the cellars. As the title already tells you, I'm not spoiling the story by divulging he travels through time - first to several pasts, then (and even more spookily) to the future.

The drawing of Jacobs reaches its atmospheric peak here, I think. He is particularly good at rusty machinery and ruins; and unlike some other stories in the series, the storyline itself is crisp, imaginative and pretty fast. A top album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original E P Jacobs, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake & Mortimer Vol. 19 : The Time Trap (Paperback)
Outlandish within the series, but this is one of Edgar P Jacobs own works (whereas others are produced by more recent artists & authors). This whole collection of Blake & Mortimer tales is well worth getting into and is miles ahead of the modern CGI pulp that graphic novels have so sadly become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake & Mortimer Vol. 19 : The Time Trap (Paperback)
very good well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake & Mortimer Vol. 19 : The Time Trap (Paperback)
very pleased thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not a review but a request. Can ..., 30 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Blake & Mortimer Vol. 19 : The Time Trap (Paperback)
This is not a review but a request. Can anybody explain why, less than two months after its publication, this book is no longer available except from chancers asking inflated sums of money for it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blake & Mortimer Vol. 19 : The Time Trap
Blake & Mortimer Vol. 19 : The Time Trap by Edgar P. Jacobs (Paperback - 13 Nov. 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews