Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble. Window on the universe
To anyone with a passing or intense interest in astronomy this is a fantastic look into the universe by means of images that most of us will never have the oportunity to observe in real life. Superb quality photographs which bring distant objects to your lap in a book of beautiful quality.
Published on 14 Jan. 2011 by gemini 3

versus
11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as I was expecting.
I bought this for my Grandad who is 85 now, and struggles with bad shakes and bad eyesight - however he used to be a Fellow of the Astronomical Society, and mapped the moons craters for the moon landings! Astronomy is very dear to him, and I wanted him to be able to gently browse the new photos without having to hold a thin flimsy book, and with photos big enough to...
Published on 12 Jan. 2012 by Lucius


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
E. Mercer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
I received this book for Christmas and it's one of those books that is lovely to pick up when you walk past the book shelf and look at. It's nice to read bits and pieces but the pictures are just stunning. There is so much beauty in the Universe and this book shows many of the beautiful things with some lovely clear pictures. Anyone interested in the Universe will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy to the eye, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
I ordered three similar books - this one; Hubble: Imaging Space and Time (National Geographic); and Hubble's Universe: Greatest Discoveries and Latest Images.

This is the largest book (so large my wife finds it difficult to handle, in fact), with pure focus on visuals. Yes, it is telling the Hubble story too - but just about enough to get the first idea of the HST project - and with a lot of emotion.

But the huge, two-page images of the Universe are stunning. They make you feel tiny... The book kept my 6- and 3-year olds fascinated for a few days.

Two small disappointments are that the paper is not at all resistant to finger prints (a hassle to view the book with kids) - and I do wish the colours were yet deeper. Note that a lot of images are not from Hubble - almost a half, in fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hubble book, 7 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Beautiful book with fabulous photographs. Bought for an older relative so was a bit disappointed to find tha there are many, many pages with white writing on dark backgrounds - quite hard to read for people with eyesight difficulties. Great book overall though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive and informative, 28 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Very nice book with amazing pictures and interesting information both about the pictures and about the background history of the ongoing project and the thrilling servicing missions.

Each HST picture is color coded with a number referring to the the Servicing Mission phase thus allowing to see the effect that they had on the quality of the pictures.

Pay attention to the book's dimensions on the product information section. It may seem too big, but I'm sure that overall the pictures benefit from the size, as the superb detail level on many of them could not have been reached with standard page size.

I warmly recommend for any casual reader like me who's interested in astronomy or science in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow factor, 28 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Very large format photo book with amazing pics of the universe at an incredibly reasonable price. Loving it. Highly recommended for lovers of all things astronomical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble: Window on space., 19 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
This is a large book. It has some fantastic photos in it. 'Out of this world' is one comment from my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book got it over a year ago but only ..., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Beautiful book got it over a year ago but only just got round to reviewing it lol anyway I still to this day pick it up and can just spend hours starring at it. Its fantastic quality and is really big and heavy I would say its a table top book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparrow does it again, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Sumptuous book Giles sparrow 's text and the magnificent selection of the pictures is really stupendous..They some how grasp the true phenomenon of the known Universe,,Superb I cannot praise it enough..Thank you Giles Sparrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Universal awe, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Fantastic and inspirational images and wonder.
beautifully presented and described,
bought as a gift for someone that I really care about.
Just need to buy a copy for myself now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Stunning book with photos that should fill you with awe at the diversity of amazing galaxies, stars and planets in the universe, the best view yet of our universe and a bargain at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hubble: Window on the Universe
Hubble: Window on the Universe by Giles Sparrow (Hardcover - 30 Sept. 2010)
Used & New from: £55.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews