Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble. Window on the universe
To anyone with a passing or intense interest in astronomy this is a fantastic look into the universe by means of images that most of us will never have the oportunity to observe in real life. Superb quality photographs which bring distant objects to your lap in a book of beautiful quality.
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by gemini 3

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as I was expecting.
I bought this for my Grandad who is 85 now, and struggles with bad shakes and bad eyesight - however he used to be a Fellow of the Astronomical Society, and mapped the moons craters for the moon landings! Astronomy is very dear to him, and I wanted him to be able to gently browse the new photos without having to hold a thin flimsy book, and with photos big enough to...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Lucius


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble. Window on the universe, 14 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
To anyone with a passing or intense interest in astronomy this is a fantastic look into the universe by means of images that most of us will never have the oportunity to observe in real life. Superb quality photographs which bring distant objects to your lap in a book of beautiful quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning visuals, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
This is a great book to share your passion for Astronomy with your kids, your wife, family and friends. You don't have to be an astronomer to be fascinated by the stunning visuals, and also the great insights provided about the Universe around us. This book also continues to boost my own fascination of the Deep Space surrounding us. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubble: Window on the Universe, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely fabulous. The picutres are very clear as is the information about the objects.

Only one little problem I found was that I thought it was a bit big...in terms of a coffee table book, this could be the coffee table, especially if you are a bit on the small side.

However, I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the stars. Just wish I could have been in the driving seat of the Hubble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Great book... definitely not for carrying around though! Brilliant photos, would highly recommend for anyone who wants to learn about the universe or just wants to spend hours looking into the incredible detail of the photos. P.s. this edition was £40 in my local shop so great price too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a view!, 22 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Absolutely fantastic photos which open one's mind to worlds beyond. Beautifully presented and wonderful value at the Amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular book., 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Amazon emailed me to suggest I trade this book in. Well they're not getting it back. Stunning pictures. Previous reviews aren't exaggerating - this is a big book. But it needs to be to do the pictures justice. At £8 it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Compelling Insight into the Cosmos, 2 Jun 2011
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
I purchased this item recently for my husband who has been fascinated by the Dr Brian Cox Series "Wonders of the Universe" and "Wonders of the Solar System" (which I also purchased), and during my search noted excellent reviews for this book. And, it really doesn't dissapoint; the insights and photograps are mindboggling, and make you truly appreciate the beauty of the universe! The only minor niggle is where to store such a book - unless you have a super sized coffee table - its far too large to fit neatly on any conventional bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 16 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
This book was well worth the price tag and it was a very interesting read. The latest pictures taken from Hubble are just breathtaking. The story on it's troubled launch and problematical mirror and how they fixed it was eye opening. The servicing missions sections are also very interesting and how the Hubble program nearly "died" after the Colombia accident. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in astronomy and cosmology. There are a few spelling mistakes and 1 section near the end that is a complete misprint. (Suppose to be about 2 colliding galaxies but, mentions a nebula in the Milky Way)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and comprehensive, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
The book is very large and impressive, makes a great present or conversation piece.
Before I opened the book, I imagined it would be mostly images with little accompanying text. I was surprised to discover the author has included detailed explanations of every image shown, as well as background information.

The book not only contains stunning images of our cosmos, but also pages discussing and illustrating the history of the Hubble Space Telescope and the various missions undertook to maintain it. Very illuminating indeed, and attractive to anyone with an interest in science.

To summarize, I am very pleased with this purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wopnders of Hubble, 20 Jan 2011
By 
L. S. Connell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hubble: Window on the Universe (Hardcover)
Stunning photos and background info on the nature of the heavenly bodies and the probes. Fantastic value for a big glossy book originally priced at [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hubble: Window on the Universe
Hubble: Window on the Universe by Giles Sparrow (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2010)
Used & New from: £62.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews