Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read
This is one of the most lucid and readable books on maths that I have read. Highly recommended; 200 pages of "wonderment" and thin enough to slip into my holday bags.
Published on 29 Jun. 2011 by Observer

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing you haven't read before
The book provides an easy to read overview of many areas of mathematics for lay readers. If you have read a couple of popular maths books, there will be nothing new in this one. None of the subjects are treated in any depth.
Published on 1 Feb. 2012 by Dr Dombo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 29 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions: Mathematics (Hardcover)
This is one of the most lucid and readable books on maths that I have read. Highly recommended; 200 pages of "wonderment" and thin enough to slip into my holday bags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting stop-gap tour of mathematics, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have developed an interest in mathematics (in my 30's) after years of just needing to know enough to get by and do my job (I work in programming and computing). And I found this book very interesting at explaining core concepts and bringing things together. It;s not in-depth, but its a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A challenging read for me but certainly interesting for anyone wanting have an overvieew of mathematcs., 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a mathematician and have no formal training maths since I went into a grammar school sixth form in 1948! However, I like a challenge and I am working through this book which is very interesting and from time to time I am surprised by maths that I knew nothing about and at other times sceptical about what seem to be directions that must cost much to achieve but have added little to our civilisation.That, of course, applies to many disciplines. Going is some times hard and I skip a bit from time to time but the basic discussion is very clear. Just one comment about the Kindle version: the fractions, often very important to scrutinise carefully, come out on my tablet as a near point 1or2 script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 4 April 2013
This review is from: The Big Questions: Mathematics (Hardcover)
This is not a book to read in bed,but don't let that put you off.It's a great loss if you don't know a little about the fascination of numbers and Tony Crilly writes clearly and has selected a good range of different topics
I would recommend reading one slowly and then waiting a while...it's not a book to rush through.So it's an economy as it will last you for some time and with luck you'll know much more and can read some more about for example,the history of mathematics, different types of numbers,codes,intelligence,spies,Alan Turing.homosexuality and ethics...and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what and why #2, 3 May 2011
By 
Ronjoe (Worthin, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions: Mathematics (Hardcover)
Again, all the usual suspects - but very well done; and treating the audience like adults even though written at a semi popular level. Fifty years ago, this sort of book encouraged me to go forward with maths and I hope this one does the same for some young people today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting tour of the mathematical landscape for the bone specialist, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a stimulating read. It brings a lot of things together, setting out ,for example,the importance of prime numbers in cryptography and how this is used in everyday life to make electronic communications secure. It also shows a little of how mathematicians think. Interesting section on whether at the end mathematics is actually true. Not obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions: Mathematics (Hardcover)
This as all of the big question books is a fantastic and well written book, with easy to understand descriptions and explanations of varying topics. Gives you enough info for you to understand each section without going overboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With this content it has to be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing you haven't read before, 1 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions: Mathematics (Hardcover)
The book provides an easy to read overview of many areas of mathematics for lay readers. If you have read a couple of popular maths books, there will be nothing new in this one. None of the subjects are treated in any depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Questions: Mathematics
The Big Questions: Mathematics by Tony Crilly (Hardcover - 28 April 2011)
Used & New from: £2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews