Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb - and not too technical, 5 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions The Universe (Hardcover)
I have read a number of books on how the universe began, eg Brian Greens The Elegant Universe, Hawkins Grand Design, and those have been excellent in explaining the mind boggling nature of how the big bang happened. This book covers some of the same ground but it does it in a way that makes it easier to retain the knowledge - I think the writing style, and the way it sets out to answer key questions really helps. If I had to choose between the 3 I would get this one, but dont let that stop you getting all 3.
3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but brief overview., 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Big Questions The Universe (Hardcover)
A good brief overview of cosmology. The book touches briefly on a wide range of topics in a clear and precise way. It is easily understood to the non scientific mind but I found myself craving a little more knowledge on the subjects approached by Stuart Clark. This is an excellent introduction to Cosmology but no more than that. If it gives people an apatite for further reading on the subject that's only a good thing.
I can recommend Marcus Chown as a follow on author to read when you have finished this book. Especially if you enjoyed all the parallel universe stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Questions, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Big Questions The Universe (Hardcover)
An excellent book. Couldn't put it down. I was lucky enough to get my book signed by Stuart Clark not long after I purchased it. If your a space nut like me then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Questions The Universe Review, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The perfect non-fiction follow-on after Stuart Clark's excellent explorational "Science versus Religion: from Copernicus to Hubble" trilogy, "The Sky's Dark Labyrinth".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions The Universe (Hardcover)
accessible supplementary reading for a cosmos nut.this is an excellent series; perfect to hold in stylish/friendly format.glad to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and interesting, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Stephen Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to any lay reader who wants a succinct introduction to the current issues in cosmology. It is well written and clearly explained, without sacrificing scientific accuracy. The author knows his stuff and how to put it across in an exciting way. I found new insights from reading it that hadn't struck me from other popular accounts I have read in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Cosmology, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions The Universe (Hardcover)
As with all the Stuart Clark's books I have read.
The big questions is also well written in easy to understand and thought provoking language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read. Very enjoyable and informative.
Good answers.
Good format.
Have the printed copy as well.
Worth having both.
Very well presented. Handy size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BIG QUESTIONS: THE UNIVERSE, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating and informative laypersons guide to where we are now - in relaxed and understandable language.
I have read many books on this subject; some half read, but this presentation is deserving of full marks. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to have on your night table, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions The Universe (Hardcover)
Well written in layman's language. It opens the door to the wonders of the universe. It lives on my bedside table so I can dip into it at will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Questions The Universe
The Big Questions The Universe by Stuart Clark (Hardcover - 1 July 2010)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews