Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars64
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2009
This biography is a sympathetic account of the fastest bowler the world has ever seen - allowing the reader to understand him fully in a way that previous published works have failed to do - and giving an insight into the man and cricketer that is wonderful to behold. It tells of the proud man who always put his family first and of the proud cricketer who always gave of his best - even in difficult circumstances. It corrects that much believed myth that Larwood was just a tool under Jardine's control and replaces it with the fact that in reality, Larwood stood shoulder to shoulder with his 'Skipper' when it came to believing in and delivering 'Bodyline'. Harold Larwood paid as high a price as DRJ for his involvement in the 1932/33 Ashes series and yet never sought to blame his captain - always holding Douglas Jardine in the highest regard both as a man and as a cricketer. I warmly recommend this book to anyone interested in cricket or history or both but also to those wishing to get a more realistic account of 'Bodyline' from its principle weapon. It is a book that once picked up the reader will find it hard to put down.
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2009
A decent biography of one the greats of English cricket is long overdue and Hamilton does Harold Larwood proud. Packed with fascinating and often very funny anecdotes, Hamilton tells the story of Larwood's rise from the mines of Nottingham to become the fastest, most devastating and most feared bowler in the world. Every aspect of Larwood's career from the early days at Notts through to the England period, the Bodyline tour and aterwards is handled with immense care and detail. Yes, it's an athorised biography, so it's kind to Larwood. But Hamilton gives plenty of insight into this prickly, proud and stubborn character. Brilliant on his relationships with Voce, Jardine, Carr, the MCC and, of course, Bradman and the appalling way the events unfolded in the aftermath of the Bodyline crisis. Extraordinary how welcoming and kind the Australians were to him when he finally emigrated there.
Harold Larwood is a very touching, warm and gripping read, though Hamilton could have done with a sterner editor because it's a tad over-written in places. But don't let that stop you buying and enjoying this marvellous biography of a great gentleman and giant of cricket.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
How to stop Bradman. The story of 'Bodyline' is cricket's most written-about and controversial subject, with Harold Larwood, the professional Nottinghamshire fast bowler and ex-miner, under the single-minded captaincy of amateur Douglas Jardine (Winchester and Oxford), at the centre of the story. Bradman was stopped, the series was won decisively, but the furore it caused threatened the Empire.

'Larwood' tells Larwood's story from his point of view, and is a worthy addition to the 'Bodyline' library. The reader is transported back to the 1920s and '30s with both period and personal detail, and is forcibly reminded about how tough life was, and how different were the lives and responsibilities of professionals and amateurs. The generous use of photographs enhances this. I particularly enjoyed the description of his victorious return to Nottingham after the tour. The end of his career, the disillusionment and his emigration to Australia after the war are all interestingly told. Duncan Hamilton has done a great job in giving voice to 'Lol' and his family, and it is a fair and balanced and enticingly written account.

My only reservations are that Larwood's first tour to Australia (1928/9), with a thumping series win for England, is barely mentioned. More significantly, Gubby Allen's influence in the placation of Australia post-Bodyline, and the ending of Jardine's and Larwood's careers, is not examined. Indeed, Bradman and Allen became the most powerful men in cricket until the mid 1960's. But that's another story...
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
First, I must explain that this book was given to me as a present - I had never previously heard of the author, and my knowledge of Harold Larwood was limited to what I had read of the Bodyline series - accounts in which he comes across as either an outright villain or a naïve working-class professional who was manipulated by his gentleman-amateur captain Jardine.

This book, the first serious biography of Larwood, is a successful and highly readable rehabilitation of the reputation of one of the legends of English cricket. Hamilton paints Larwood as a tough professional who went from the mines of rural Nottinghamshire to being the most effective and dangerous fast bowler in a cricketing era that was dominated by the batsmen.

Hamilton writes with a real insight into not only Larwood but the world of late 1920s and early 30s cricket in which he lived and bowled, shedding light onto supporting characters such as his Notts and England team-mates (especially his new-ball partner and best friend Bill Voce), the Australians (the portrayal of Donald Bradman here is refreshingly less rose-tinted than is usual in cricketing history books) and the game's administrators (if there is a villain of this piece, it's the MCC in general and England tour manager and self-serving journalist P.F. Warner in particular). Although it was clearly the high water-mark of his career, the Bodyline series of 1932-33 is treated not as a stand-alone event but is placed in the context of the rest of Larwood's career.

At centre-stage, though, is Larwood himself - a hard, stubborn character who emerges from this book not as Jardine's pawn but as a man who stood shoulder-to-shoulder with his `skipper' when it came to the Bodyline series, and steadfastly refused to apologise afterwards when the MCC dropped its support for Jardine and demanded an apology. Despite this and a potentially career-threatening injury, he continued to bowl for Notts, albeit never as effectively as he had.

Hamilton also emphasises Larwood's life after cricket, from running a sweet-shop in Blackpool at a time when sweets were rationed (who, one wonders, advised him that this was a good idea?) to his emigration to Australia and his eventual rehabilitation - as a guest of honour at the 1977 Centenary Test and his finally being awarded the MBE.

This is truly the finest sporting biography that I have ever read. If you are even slightly interested in cricket, then I must recommend that you read this book without delay.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
Like most cricket fans, I knew all about the Bodyline series and its affect on the game thereafter, but this book goes beyond that, taking you on a beautiful journey following the man most often associated with the events of the 1932/33 Ashes series, not just his cricketing career, but his life before and long after.

Opinion is still divided as to Douglas Jardine's real intentions almost 80 years ago, but having read this book, you'd be hard pressed to find a bad word to say about Harold Larwood, either as an outstanding cricketer or true gentleman.

I don't mind admitting that there were tears in my eyes at several points in the book - it is a very touching account of one man's life, the values he held and the impact he had on the game.

Highly recommended - read it and be proud to be English.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
I first recall hearing the name Larwood when I was about six years of age in 1962 when my cricket mad father would call on him to inspire the England attack in test matches. As Larwood was clearly a hero of my Dads, naturally he became of great interest to myself and I read everything I could on Bodyline. Duncan Hamilton's book is by far the most insightful and detailed account of all aspects of Larwood's life that I have read. As soon as I picked up this biography I was hooked. Written with the authority of intensive research it gives an insight into a by-gone age. Larwood would have greatly benefitted in today's game with it's sports psychologists, physio's and sponsorship. The descriptions of the damage caused to his body by the bone hard pitches and inadequate kit in Australia are stunning to a modern day reader. The most revealling thing was the extent of the deep resentment of Larwood by the great Aussie hero Sir Donald Bradman.
Larwood remains an enigma/legend/immensely talented athlete to me. Why did his treatment by the MCC and English cricket establishment hurt him so, so deeply. Why did his family (who were incredibly supportive of Harold) allow him to at times seemingly wallow in self-pity? Why did he not turn the negative into positive? Why did he not go into coaching/management?
The book is superb on the details/antics of dressing rooms. I don't feel guilty any more about hiding cigarettes and matches for half time when I played rugby.
I also enjoyed the descriptions of the profound, caring relationships that Larwood developed with the professional and amateur sportsmen he toiled alongside.
Duncan Hamilton has created a blueprint on how to write an entertaining, informative and masterful sporting biography.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
This is an outstanding book - the best cricket book I have read in years. The story of the '32-33 series has been told many times but this book is more about the man.

The latter parts of the book, about his post cricket life, are particularly fascinating but also very sad. I don't mind admitting I had more than one lump in my throat as I got near the end. This MUST be Wisden's cricket book of the year for 2010 - if not sports book of the year period. This book exceeds Hamilton's previous biography of Brian Clough by far in my view (which was also very good).
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2009
Every year I buy the William Hill Sports book of the year as a christmas present for a good friend.
Waited until this years winner was announced - Larwood by Duncan Hamilton - and promptly bought it.
Is it me...or which Numpty has printed " Winner of the William Hill sports book of the year 2007" on the front cover ? You can see it if you focus on the title page.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
This is my first review but I was simply entranced by this excellent examination of a man treated unfairly by the cricket establishment.

The author has managed to capture the complex life and mannerisms of the famous fastbowler. It manages to get under the skin of a man who was clearly difficult to understand but had great integrity and loyalty. The sad position that Larwood found himself in after returning from after the series in Australia is examined in depth as is his clear betrayal by the cricket establishment at the time. His subsequent emigration to the land of his downfall is fascinating and moving. I also enjoyed the tales of his prematch preparations!

I'm not a great fan of cricket but this is one of the best sporting biographies let alone sporting ones. Buy it - you won't be disappointed. What a great man.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
very enjoyable and satisfying read.at times hard to put down ,even if not interested in cricket this is a well written story of a very humble man who did not believe in his greatness.some of todays so called sportsmen would do well to read it ,and may be all the better for doing so.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)