Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last ever new Mike Hammer novel??
I rejoiced when I saw this was coming out. There has long been rumoured to have to been an unpublished Mike Hammer novel that the late, great Mickey Spillane left behind. One can only hope that there is more than just this one yet to be published. Although it was finished by Max Allan Collins, Mickey Spillane wrote the first and last parts of the book and left notes...
Published on 2 Jan. 2009 by Big Mike

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool storyline but too fantasy
The tagline could be: Too old to rock'n roll, too young to die!
I liked the storyline and the usual Mike Hammer hard-boiled style, nevertheless this plot featured too much fantasy and too little hard-boiledness. The idea is nice but too out of the ordinary for a solid character like Hammer and at the same time the subject it too big for a city detective. It reminded...
Published on 21 July 2010 by F. Cortiglioni


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last ever new Mike Hammer novel??, 2 Jan. 2009
By 
Big Mike (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I rejoiced when I saw this was coming out. There has long been rumoured to have to been an unpublished Mike Hammer novel that the late, great Mickey Spillane left behind. One can only hope that there is more than just this one yet to be published. Although it was finished by Max Allan Collins, Mickey Spillane wrote the first and last parts of the book and left notes outlining the rest for Collins to complete. Mickey Spillane was the master of the hat and trenchcoat wearing, Colt .45 automatic pistol in hand, tough-guy with a soft-heart private detective who walked the dark and dangerous streets of New York City. Mickey Spillane was a great storyteller and made that you feel that you were right there with Mike Hammer on those foggy and rainy nights in the Big Apple while he was stalking or being stalked by his quarry. He drew you in and didn't let you go until the end of the story. He is greatly missed. Both he and Mike Hammer were truly one-of-a-kind. Nobody ever did this kind of detective fiction as well, let alone better or ever will. Grab this and relish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammered, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goliath Bone: A Mike Hammer Novel (Mike Hammer 14) (Paperback)
If you're a Mike Hammer fan, you'll probably enjoy this book. I am and I did. If you're not a fan, then, frankly, the book is mediocre.

Hammer has not really aged well. The pair of authors have brought him more or less up to date but it shows. Mike Hammer belongs in a world of fifty years ago and the wearing of a trenchcoat and the carrying of a piece or a rod or, actually a Colt.45 would have registered high on the impress scale. Today it's old hat and not Hammer's porkpie, either.

Given that old parchments, missing codes and other strange artifacts are - or were - well in vogue for followers of Da Vinci, finding a piece - a rather large piece - of Goliath's skeleton (he of the David & Goliath's shortlived confrontation) fits very well into this scenario. However, Hammer doesn't. Put Hammer in any 60s American city and he's at home, as is Spillane, of course. Put him into post 9/11 and lengthy musings of why certain strange people decide to murder others on a global scale just doesn't ring true. Hammer is action, speed, cunning, an eye for the girls and, although he does his best in this book, he comes up short.

I'm really pleased to have read the book. It does rekindle the old storylines and, hopefully, it will make people hunt out the earlier books. Now, if only we could have a new Mike Hammer story set in the sixties, then that would be worth a punt. If authors can continue Bond or Bourne or even Holmes, then why not Hammer? If I wasn't a fan, this would rate only 3 stars but, as I said, I am so it's an enjoyable four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool storyline but too fantasy, 21 July 2010
By 
F. Cortiglioni "Diopippo" (Bologna, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Goliath Bone: A Mike Hammer Novel (Mike Hammer 14) (Paperback)
The tagline could be: Too old to rock'n roll, too young to die!
I liked the storyline and the usual Mike Hammer hard-boiled style, nevertheless this plot featured too much fantasy and too little hard-boiledness. The idea is nice but too out of the ordinary for a solid character like Hammer and at the same time the subject it too big for a city detective. It reminded me at times the parallel with "Enf of days" where Schwarzy meets the Devil himself and it gets too big even for a hard hero -but human in the end.
As I wrote in the title, nice idea but maybe not suitable for Mike Hammer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mike Hammer, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best detective novelists in the business, not for the soppy, pc brigade which rules most of our lives nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Entertaining Story if Plot Far- Fetched, 25 Mar. 2011
By 
Colin Mayo "Rooster Booster" (Hemel Hempstead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Goliath Bone: A Mike Hammer Novel (Mike Hammer 14) (Paperback)
I've just got into Mickey Spillanne - this is the second novel I've read in 2 weeks, the first being Dead Street which I preferred. This is a great fast paced novel with plenty of action however the story line is a bit far fetched - Al Qaeda and Israeli terrorists brought to book by Mike Hammer is stretching it a bit - but Spillane's books do have a page turning quality and I have already got another out the library. For "readability" I don't think they can be beaten - no wonder they sold so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not anything special, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a bit dated in his outlook and laborious, but again the heyday for this type of crime fiction was in the 1950's. The genre has moved on a bit since then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thought it was a bit slow going and lacked the punch of the earlier mike hammer books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Son loved it., 9 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as gift. Son loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 12 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as usual a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goliath bone, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different for me. I very much enjoyed this as I usually read murders or auto-biographies. I will read "Mike Hammer" again.

J MARQUIS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Goliath Bone: A Mike Hammer Novel (Mike Hammer 14)
The Goliath Bone: A Mike Hammer Novel (Mike Hammer 14) by Max Allan Collins (Paperback - 7 Jan. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews