Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military History---Soldiers Letters
Andrew Roberts with his introduction to and compilation cooperating with I W M and Osprey has shown a sensitivity of feeling which is masterly.
To be reminded of my letters home 60 years on is both illuminating and rewarding.
Any book which reminds us of the human experience and sacrifice should be read by all.
I was...
Published on 22 Sept. 2012 by Bob Gill

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing read
I bought 'Love, Tommy' because I enjoy collections of letters, and am interested in how people record their experiences of war, but I found this very heavy going. All the best bits seemed to have been picked up in the introduction and I found the editing intrusive. Had I made it to the end, my view might have changed, but I gave up after a couple of hours: and it sits on...
Published on 23 May 2013 by Magherablade


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars LETTERS FROM SOLDIERS, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I HAD A NEW KINDLE AND THE FIRST BOOK WAS THIS ONE LOVE, TOMMY. WHAT A GREAT READ. SO SAD THAT I CAN ONLY READ A FEW LETTERS THEN HAVE TO TAKE A BREAK. IT GIVES SUCH AN INSIGHT TO WHAT THE SOLDIERS WENT THROUGH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very informative and in some cases extremely sad, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an interesting collection of genuine letters from soldiers in various wars .. with added footnotes in some instances to say what happened after the letters were sent. i.e did not return from service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderul book, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this collection as it had a short explanation of the background of the conflicts the writers were involved in and at times made me smile and other times cry. A very touching collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Tommy: Letters Home, from the Great War to the Present Day (General Military) (Hardcover)
I normally buy my step-dad terrible presents, but he opened this on Christmas day and couldn't put it down. He's a big fan of war stories and gave the family several extracts throughout the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but limited., 25 Sept. 2014
By 
David Robertson "The Wee Flea" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting collection of letters which is at times quite moving. I found it to be a little repetitive and unless you know the historical context I suspect you would miss a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary Collection on the part of Andrew Roberts and the Imperial War Museum, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderous insight into the minds of the soldiers of the Great War. Heartbreaking but compulsive reading - I'm on my second reading at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it was sad to read the lrtters, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Tommy: Letters Home, from the Great War to the Present Day (General Military) (Hardcover)
the book was sad to read the letters but also gave me an insite into what went on in both world war 1 and 2 also how the men felt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good reading, good value. Made first class reading, a must for fans of history, read and enjoy, take in all of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got a bit bored most letters the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Tommy: Letters Home, from the Great War to the Present Day (General Military)
Love Tommy: Letters Home, from the Great War to the Present Day (General Military) by Andrew Roberts & The Imperial War Museum (Hardcover - 20 Sept. 2012)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews