Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Will Save You Money
I hope this review will help someone intending to spend hard cash on Binoculars'.

When I first started out in Astronomy, I spent over £300 on things that should have been left in the shop. If I had owned a copy of this book, it would have enabled me to buy just what I needed, with cash left over.

It gives you the all the information you need to set...
Published on 13 Mar 2009 by Steve G

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Ok but quite light weight for the money
Published 3 months ago by plorticus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Will Save You Money, 13 Mar 2009
I hope this review will help someone intending to spend hard cash on Binoculars'.

When I first started out in Astronomy, I spent over £300 on things that should have been left in the shop. If I had owned a copy of this book, it would have enabled me to buy just what I needed, with cash left over.

It gives you the all the information you need to set yourself up with the right kind of Binoculars', for the job, and shows you that buying a good pair is not as easy as you think.

I really hope this review helps someone, as there is nothing more annoying than throwing cash down the drain. Spending a fiver, or even less on this book, will keep the cash in your pocket, where it belongs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars handy book, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. M. Barfield (norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is perfect for people who have only just started stargazing with binoculars.
it use simple language and explains things properly. its the right size for carrying around with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Binoculars for star gazing, 13 Oct 2010
By 
M. Hayesman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book and well priced. Clear explanations and fun to use with a good pair of binoculars and a clear night sky. Some basic prior astronomy knowledge would be useful before hand but the book explains all you need if you are interested in this topic and just starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellently presented book on binoculars , and which types are preferred for stellar observation , and other uses .
Can save you money in stopping you buying the wrong type and specification of binoculars for what you want to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Binoculars, 16 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i found this book very informative. It gave a lot of advice on selecting the right sort of speicifcation for you to start star gazing with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small But Comprehensive, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing with Binoculars (Paperback)
A very comprehensive and clear coverage of types of binoculars and their particular uses. The star maps are good, though on the small side. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing with Binoculars (Paperback)
Excellent starting/refresher book, and enjoying using it when the weather is clear. Consider this to start someone off on Stargazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy guide, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book to read if you don't have a telescope or haven't committed to buying one and are using a pair of binoculars to see if you like astronomy. Details the limitations of binoculars so you don't have unrealistic expectations but also details the capabilities of what you can expect.
Well written book for novices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very concise and handy, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing with Binoculars (Paperback)
very easy to follow, covers a vast amount - would recommend to anyone to read this before purchasing binoculars. clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing with Binoculars (Paperback)
If you are new to astronomy, or wanting to get back into it using binoculars, you must get this book.
I used to have a decent telescope, but haven't been an observer for many years now and wanted to get back into it, but wanted the flexibility that a good pair of bins can give you. I read this book (but not absorbed) from cover to cover the same day I got it (great delivery again by Amazon) and I am glad I did. The section(s) on which type of bins to get were superb and I was able to make up my mind very quickly. (I actually went for a pair of Image Stability bins by canon, which I will write a review about after I use them for a while). This might be a smallish book of a couple of hundred pages, but it is invaluable for binocular theory, choice and what to look at. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philip's Stargazing with Binoculars
Philip's Stargazing with Binoculars by David Frydman (Paperback - 2 Dec 2013)
£8.27
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews