Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great product but hard to use initially.
I am a novice, amateur astronomer and when I saw this title I thought, "This should help to get me into my hobby". I wasn't disappointed, this chart is a really good way to "see" the stars. The size of this map and its clear and helpful layout makes finding relevant information easy. Having said this, reading the charts is a little difficult at first...
Published on 3 Jan 2002 by richardfillingham@lineone.net

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably avoid if you are after a bit more information
The book itself is around 5 pages. it's informative to a point but it feels like more of a give away book with a newspaper than a standalone book.
I think I have read through once and not touched it since.
Published 1 month ago by Emma L


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great product but hard to use initially., 3 Jan 2002
This review is from: Philip's Star Chart (Paperback)
I am a novice, amateur astronomer and when I saw this title I thought, "This should help to get me into my hobby". I wasn't disappointed, this chart is a really good way to "see" the stars. The size of this map and its clear and helpful layout makes finding relevant information easy. Having said this, reading the charts is a little difficult at first and the guide to using the chart is a little brief and doesn't help much.
This chart displays all of the information that a backyard astronomer would need. All of the stars that are visible to the naked eye or a pair of binoculars are shown. This product is good as it does not display all of the fainter stars that a telescope would reveal and this avoids too much irrelevant detail.
Despite the initial difficulties to use this chart is a great asset for any novice star-gazer. It is particularly useful as it complements other Philip's Astronomy titles such as their moonmap and their planisphere.
I am eagerly awaiting more cloud free nights to explore the sky with my starchart and for any other people who are new to this fascinating hobby I would recomend this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT WAY TO START WITH THE STARS!!, 28 Sep 2009
By 
L. Osorio (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fantastic very easy to read, not scientific language, Great diagrams! EXCELLENT WAY TO START WITH THE STARS!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
Arrived in good time and was a well received present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Probably avoid if you are after a bit more information, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
The book itself is around 5 pages. it's informative to a point but it feels like more of a give away book with a newspaper than a standalone book.
I think I have read through once and not touched it since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
Loved this and has ordered more books for herself, unfortunately it has been rather cloudy of late to put into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction To Stargazing, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
This is a basic introduction, to the stars.
If you already know your Pleiades from Aldeberan, this is not the book for you.
Really nicely written by Sir Patrick Moore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the beginner, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
Was looking for an inexpensive guide to the stars and found this which has proved very interesting to read - must now wait for clear nights to see the constellations which I look forward to. A wonderful under the tree Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and cleat, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
Simple easy to read. Excellent value for money. Bought for an absolute novice who found it extremely simple and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book from Patrik Moore, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. W. H. Stockdale (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
Bought this book for my wife for Christmas, and she is very pleased with it, bringing me news of things that she has learned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Night Sky by Sir Patrick Moore, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations (Paperback)
The book was delivered on a Sunday and left with a neighbour for me to collect.

Page 17 of the book has some poor printing issues with ink smearing across the page. However the other pages are just fine. A nice and glossy finish to them all.

The book is aimed at people who have no experience with practical astronomy at all. It uses simple language throughout and as a result is very easy to understand. It is filled with very useful facts about stars and their magnitudes. Indeed it makes it clear to understand what "Magnitude" means.

Sir Patrick takes the time to really walk the reader around the night sky. Making it easy to follow him as he teaches the reader how to navigate the sky using familiar constellations as pointers to less familiar night sky objects. Which of course are the ones you want to find to make an evening of stargazing enjoyable.

The book is quite short at only 48 pages, but every page is useful for a novice.

I bought this book for my wife as we are planning to go to a star party over a weekend at the end of March. I thought it might help her learn to navigate her way around. Surprised myself as it has helped me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philip's Guide to the Night Sky: A guided tour of the stars and constellations
5.57
Usually dispatched within 9 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews