Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2015
This atlas is of a manageable size and weight (suitable for reading in bed). It's an atlas pure and simple, not a graphic artist's infotainment book.

The pages have a matt finish - i.e. not glossy like the "Oxford Atlas of the World" - therefore, being non-reflective, they are easy to read.

The double page maps stop short at the gutter margins so it's possible to see the full spread of each page. The pages are sewn together in quires.

The satellite `Images of Earth' extend over pages 14 to 39, the 'Ocean Seafloors 41 to 47, the `World Maps' 50 to 192, and the `Index to World Maps' 193 to 288.

The following places are depicted: Troy, Persepolis, Machu Picchu, Walt Disney World, the River Kwai (as Khwae Noi), Pointe Vénus (Tahiti), and Selsey Bill (UK).

Reprinted in 2014 in Hong Kong.

My decision to buy this atlas was influenced by the favourable reviews on Amazon UK.

I purchased Philip's "Essential World Atlas" (ISBN 978-18490 72939) in January 2015 from The Book Depository UK (which is owned by Amazon) for the equivalent of US$35.00 including free delivery worldwide.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
After buying the Times Universal Atlas of the World I soon found that I needed more detail and much less general information, so I opted for the Philip's Essential World Atlas, which has more maps and shows more places, in clearer print, with a more attractive colour scheme at half the price. The Royal Geographical Society mapping is the best I've seen. I recommend this strongly to anyone looking for an old-fashioned style atlas that focusses on the maps. 142 pages of maps plus 36 aerial photos.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Clear and easy to find places. I buy a new atlas every 3/4 years and this is certainly the best one for some time. Many atlases are spoilt by the messy detail and small print. a needle in a haystack comes to mind.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Do you sit sometimes and wonder where a country is? Look no further this is a great Atlas. Clear and concise. I would'nt be without it for those moments when you wonder,just where is Sumartra or wherever. A first class product.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
I change Atlas at least once every five years and this is a good issue, easy to understand for both myself and 4 grandchildren. I like to know how the world is changing and this gives a good overview.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This atlas is ideal for anyone who wants a no frills Geographical Referance tool with lots of first class clear and up to date maps to help keep them informed about events in the news and for most other referance enquires thay require with 64'000 placenames you will not be disappointed.

Stephen Turner

Ash Green

Surrey

United Kingdom.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
A great Atlas. Very clear maps with some amazing photos as well. It's out of date already, but that's the way of the world
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
a very good book full of useful information. the maps are easy to follow and easy to navigate. bold and colourful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
A well laid out atlas for our ever changing world. Easy to find references and excellent reproduction.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
I bought this atlas to follow my grandson on his worldwide travels and it has been invaluable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)