Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Execellent
I bought this product for the first time last year, I have found the quality of the 2014 one is just as good if not better. I will definitely be buying future editions. Well recommended. For the price i paid of £4.53 which was even less than the 2013 edition, that works out at about 37 pence for 12 calendar months stargazing information, Its an Absolute bargain!
Published 17 months ago by bradders

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a fiver
I was a bit disappointed with this one. The star charts are all based on the assumption that you only observe at 10pm. I also found it frustrating that the small amount of text for each month was spent telling us about the mythology behind the constellation names instead of focusing on what to see and where to see it.

I'd recommend getting a Planisphere...
Published 12 months ago by GCmusic


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Execellent, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
I bought this product for the first time last year, I have found the quality of the 2014 one is just as good if not better. I will definitely be buying future editions. Well recommended. For the price i paid of £4.53 which was even less than the 2013 edition, that works out at about 37 pence for 12 calendar months stargazing information, Its an Absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner astronomer and I love it!, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
What can I say? I bought this with my first telescope and it is a miracle. No need to trawl over the internet to find information, its all in the book!

Pros:

Amazing for beginners
Simple to follow instructions on how to find stars and planets
Small size, so its great for travel
Mentions objects of interest and how to find them

Cons:

Not very good for more advanced astronomers

Would recommend to any beginner in the field, its a wonderful starter to get yourself oriented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
My father is a keen (binocular using) amateur astronomer and asks for this book every year. Always fantastic and the 20014 is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide for the casual stargazer, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
I haven't had chance to look at the 2014 book in depth yet, but having bought the book over the past few years, it always contains useful details of the events and sights that are coming up each month, as well as interesting insights into the constellations and the stars, galaxies, etc that they contain.

It also has viewing tips and an impressive 'photo of the month'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russ, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
Delightful book has everything my granddaughter required for her star gazing. She absolutely loves it. She enjoys browsing through whenever she has a spare moment
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a fiver, 23 April 2014
By 
GCmusic (Castleford, West Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
I was a bit disappointed with this one. The star charts are all based on the assumption that you only observe at 10pm. I also found it frustrating that the small amount of text for each month was spent telling us about the mythology behind the constellation names instead of focusing on what to see and where to see it.

I'd recommend getting a Planisphere instead, which would in my opinion render this book irrelevant. For info on the few meteor showers (and eclipses) that are briefly mentioned just use the Internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent potted guide to the night sky, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
This book is full of information, giving a clear month by month
Plan of what you can expect to see. At the back there is information on deep sky objects, eclipses, the individual planets, and viewing equipment.
It's suitable for all levels of knowledge and expertise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for quick reference, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for my husband - he's very pleased with it - very handy to pick up for a quick reference rather then booting up the laptop for the information. Well laid out & relevant information to hand. Good price & quick delivery. A great stocking filler for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never Disappoints, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
H. Smith Thomassen (Den Haag, Nederland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
This is the second year in which I have purchased this item as a gift for my sky-crazy partner. It is compact enought to carry around when needed and yet has all the essential information needed. A bit predictable, perhaps, but no doubt I will get the 2015 version next year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great introductory book to stargazing!, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky (Paperback)
I bought this book for a Christmas present for my husband as he seemed to be interested in all the latest stargazing programmes on tele. He was delighted. Its an easy to understand guide especially for beginners who don't have a telescope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philip's Stargazing 2014: Month-by-month guide to the northern night sky
£6.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews