Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


168 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Amateur Astronomers
The Planisphere is the perfect tool for any amateur astronomer.
It comes with full instructions on its use, so you can have a quick look at it and be out inspecting the night sky in only a few minutes.

It also explains how to find the major planets (Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn), sunrise and sunset as well as the positions of the constellations, season...
Published on 22 Jun. 2008 by F. Aetius

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin.
Providing you can read this in the dark (a red torch may be handy) then this does what it should. I don't see how I can give it a higher rating, though there isn't anything wrong with it.

There are others out there that give you more information, and I have seen some that glow a little in the dark (or under torch light) so they may be easier to use...
Published on 23 Mar. 2009 by Mark S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 3 Sept. 2009
Those who are new to Astronomy will find the Planisphere very useful indeed. I would highly recommend this to any amateur astronomer. An excellent guide to the night sky enabling you to locate Stars and constellations throughout the year at any time of the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars plain and simple, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
J. G. Futers "Wee Geordie" (Peeblesshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Philips Planisphere is well made and easy to use. Ideal for beginners in astronomy but quite handy for those with more experience; for planning an evenings viewing! While a laptop with planetarium software may be more informative, the planisphere doesn't need batteries and won't crash if it gets wet! Might be worth investing in a red/astronomy torch OVL Dual Beam Astronomers Torch to go with it though!
Good reference works to make the most of this simple viewing aid might be the Astronomy Manual Astronomy Manual: The Practical Guide to the Night Sky or the Universe Universe: The Definitive Visual Guide (Astronomy)
If you're looking for a dark sky site off road; the planisphere with a good pair of binoculars Visionary B4 8-20x50 are light, waterproof and easily portable: much easier than lugging half a tonne of tripod, telescope, laptop and batteries up the hills!
For a better quality, reasonably portable kit, you might look to adding 70mm binoculars Celestron SkyMaster Binoculars 15x70 or Celestron Skymaster 25X70 Porro Prism Binocular along with a tripod Hama Star 63 Tripod With Free Carry Case and mount Bresser Tripod Adapter Now get out and enjoy!!!
If you fancy doing some stargazing while on holiday; it would be worth your while to take a planisphere relevant to the latitude of your vacation. e.g. Philip's Planisphere (latitude 42 North): for Use in the USA, Southern Europe and Northern Japan Philip's Planisphere (Latitude 32 North): for Use in the USA, North Africa, the Middle East and Southern Japan etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Beginners, 29 Oct. 2013
By 
B. Evans (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Planisphere (Latitude 51.5 North): For use in Britain and Ireland, Northern Europe, Northern USA and Canada (Hardcover)
I'm new to astronomy and don't know my way around the night sky yet, so I invested in one of these after viewing a video on You Tube by Astronomy and Nature tv.

The Planisphere arrived this afternoon and I've spent the last 2 hours playing with it and can honestly say, it is without doubt the best thing (apart from a telescope of course!) to get you started in navigating the night sky!

I was a little daunted by all the constellations and stars and exactly how to view and identify them, but having revisited You Tube and Astronomy and Nature tv's explanation with my planisphere in front of me, I can now see where the stars {and a few planets} will be on any given day and time. I can also see when the sun rises and sets on any given day!

Obviously the planisphere cannot show you where the planets will be in the night sky i.e.they are not printed on the planisphere itself because they constantly move, however, on the reverse of the planisphere are details on how to use it, together with planetary tables. These give the position for Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn from 2012 to 2020 on the first day of each month throughout those years. For example, Saturn was at 218 degrees on the first of October. The degrees are printed on the planisphere, so simply find 218 degrees on the planisphere and with a straight edge, draw a line to the Ecliptic line (the sun's orbit) and that is roughly where Saturn is.

I was amazed I could actually find my way round as easy as I did because reading some books, you seem to need a degree in maths for astronomy and trust me, I am mathematically challenged!

The other great thing about the planisphere is that you can engage in armchair astronomy when the sky is covered in clouds! I do have an app for my iPhone called Star Chart which also shows you the constellations and stars, but I don't really trust it as one day is showed me Polaris in the North, where it should be of course and the next as I moved towards the South, hey presto! Polaris moved with me to the south! At least the planisphere doesn't make such great leaps of faith!!!!

All in all, I would say that a planisphere is an essential part of your astronomy kit and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planisphere, 25 April 2012
By 
jim (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Planisphere (Latitude 51.5 North): For use in Britain and Ireland, Northern Europe, Northern USA and Canada (Hardcover)
This simple device is perfect for an amateur or beginner in getting to learn about the skies. It is of relatively rugged construction and waterproof, (although it needn't be - don't look for stars when it's raining). It is very easy to use once you have grasped how it works. A bit of thought about how it works will make the newcomer to astronomy understand why the Pole Star is always visible in any (clear) night sky, why some stars are described as circumpolar, how stars rise and set, what is meant by the ecliptic, and a host of other astronomical phenomenon. It can also show where the planets will be on given dates.
One minor drawback, it is only really suitable for use at our latitude; it becomes increasingly inaccurate the further away from our shores you go, so don't bother to pack it if you are going on Safari or to see your cousins in Australia.
However a word of warning! It will be of little use to budding astrologers because it is absolutely useless at predicting the future!
The price is reasonable all things considered; it doesn't need batteries, won't crash, or suffer from virus's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good tool for the budding astronomer, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
Michael Booth (Bromsgrove UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service as usual from Amazon. The planisphere was bought for my wife on the recommendation of the astronomical society she has recently joined. She tells me that it is perfect for identifying things in the night sky, and is invaluable in helping her understand this aspect of her new hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on stars, 9 Dec. 2010
By 
M. Hammond (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's just brilliant, opens up the stars in such a different way.
It's all there, easily explained in the booklet. Then using the planishere itself, it's so simple. Basically, you start with Ursa Major (the Plough or Great Bear) and navigate around the night sky. It's up to you how far you go, but even at a tenner, it's so much data, for nothing!
Excellent for all ages, even old folks like me, who keep forgetting the names, even though I can recognise them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the occasional astronomer., 21 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like astronomy then every now and then you want to know what is going to be visible at the time you plan to observe. It is remarkably simple to use. Simply turn the top disc for the time to align up with the date and you can see what is available at the time. Turn it forward to see what rises and what sets during your timeframe. When out and about you will need to know the general direction that you are looking in to home in on the constellations that you want to look at. Best thing is that it will be centuries before it is out of date. Only thing to do is make sure that you have the right one for your latitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin., 23 Mar. 2009
By 
Mark S. (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Providing you can read this in the dark (a red torch may be handy) then this does what it should. I don't see how I can give it a higher rating, though there isn't anything wrong with it.

There are others out there that give you more information, and I have seen some that glow a little in the dark (or under torch light) so they may be easier to use.

But for the price, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and straightforward, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
R. Toma (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very nicely done. The planisphere being made out of plastic, it's more resistant to wear and tear. An older similar counterpart, from ESO is made out of cardboard, which is not the best idea. The fact that it also has a "How To" guide makes it easy to use even by a complete novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars star gazer, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip's Planisphere (Latitude 51.5 North): For use in Britain and Ireland, Northern Europe, Northern USA and Canada (Hardcover)
i knew a few of the stars in the night sky but as i have moved to a country location in the far north of Scotland , on clear sky nights so many more are on view and i now look in wonder . the Planisphere now lets me know just what i'm looking at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews