Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener, 16 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts (Paperback)
For a moment, ignore the title of the book. Should you be, or know, parents in the process of seeking a diagnosis, or having received a recent diagnosis of ASD for their child, whatever the child's gender, Parenting Girls... could prove a very useful book and would make a great companion to the must have, The Thinking Person's Guide to Autism. For parents with daughters on the spectrum, this book could prove indispensable.
Eileen Riley-Hall has produced a book full of pride but without a hint of vanity. This is a mother whose pride in her, each very different, daughters jumps off the page. She loves, accepts and seems delightfully fascinated by the workings of these girls' minds. With a big dollop of honesty and bravery, Riley-Hall admits the difficulties she had at first coming to terms with her daughter's diagnoses which, to all intents and purposes, came at once and the "dark times" that parents of all children can experience.
For a fuller review:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a parent pleaser read it. If you are not then please read it, if you are not a parent, please read it !, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts (Paperback)
It's one of the best books I've ever read. I think every person in the world should read it. It describes the joys, the pains and the worries of a parent of 2 girls on the autistic spectrum. Both girls are on different parts of the spectrum and thus gives a good reflection of how different autism can be for every child. It also highlights and identifies how autistic girls differ significantly from autistic boys and how girls are a minority in the autism world.
There are good tips in this book and describes in detail the great achievements autistic kids can make.

Most importantly it will educate you to understand that autistic people have feelings, they too register everything said around them, and they too learn everyday. Never give up hope and always be positive. I wish I had read this before as I would have had a much better understanding of Autism and how it can affect real people and what it can also give you that can't be taught or learned by non autistic kids or adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter has just been diagnosed with ASD at age 12 and I wanted a book relating to girls. This book was like switching a light on. Every chapter was describing my daughter and the difficulties she faces and the quirky and often amusing sides of her beautiful nature. Very easy to read. I bought it for my kindle but am now going to order a hard copy so I can pass it to relatives to help them understand that ASDs not the end of the world just a different one and it doesn't change who my daughter is just helps us to understand her better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A positive and helpful guide to living with autism, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts (Paperback)
I've loved reading this book. It's extremely easy to read, and very informative and helpful to boot. The author has 2 girls at different 'points' on the Spectrum and so has a vast knowledge and understanding about living with autism. There are various sections, some of which discuss mainstream schooling, interventions and sibling/family relationships, and a comprehensive section listing all the valuable internet resources out there on the topic of autism. It's a very happy and positive book, and I've definitely learned lots from it. Would recommend it to anyone who would like to understand more about autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book., 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts (Paperback)
This is useful book and is came in excellent condition. I am happy to have bought this book to build a greater understanding of the Autism spectrum with girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for parents of girls on the spectrum, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts (Paperback)
This book was so easy to read and is user friendly. It is definately a book that I will keep going back to. I didn't bother to read the chapter on siblings as my daughter is an only child. But that is what's great about this book, you can dip in out of it. I related to so many of the examples and stories of the author. My understanding of my little girl and her needs are explained and make so much more sense. Thank you for a wonmderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars someone who really understands, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I sometimes feel that very few understand when I speak of my child being on the edge of normal and the difficulties that blurred line can mean to her. This book spoke volumes to me and felt like a friend. Not just spoken from the heart but researched and beautifully structured in a way that doesn't feel like it's just another sob story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really helpful, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written practical advice which I hadn't been able to find since my daughter's diagnosis.
I'm really grateful that I stumbled across this book & can highly recommend it. It's like having a cup of tea with a sensible, humorous friend giving sound advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Bev (Barnsley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts (Paperback)
Wanted some info on this subject because my Grandson has Aspergers/ADHD and my gorgeous Grand daughter who's approaching 5 is showing lots of signs too. Eileen tells a honest first hand view of the many challenges girls face. Amazing book couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to support your journey., 2 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts (Paperback)
This book is truly inspirational. Eileen Riley - Hall writes with wit,wisdom and warmth. Straight from the heart.She gives you every encouragement, just to accept your girls for who they are. A brilliant book.Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parenting Girls on the Autism Spectrum: Overcoming the Challenges and Celebrating the Gifts
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews