Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book
This book is excellent for anyone working with children in a capacity where they need to build a relationship and talk about difficult issues. Really easy read and fantastic ideas!
Published 9 months ago by Sivan Sasson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DIDNT FIND IT USEFUL
SORRY I WAS HOPING TO GET SOME GOOD ,NEW IDEAS FROM THIS BOOK BUT FOUND IT WAS A BIT DATED
Published 5 months ago by pat horan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
This book is excellent for anyone working with children in a capacity where they need to build a relationship and talk about difficult issues. Really easy read and fantastic ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Direct work with vulnerable children; playful activities and strategies........., 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
Direct work with vulnerable children; playful activities and strategies...

I have just started studying towards my MSc in play and therapeutic play and I work intensively with families and their children where the parents have an issue with substances that effect their parenting ability.

I would recommend this book to any practitioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Direct Work..., 6 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. D. Sharp "dougisharp" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
Good book that anyone can learn from, no matter their experience level! I enjoyed the sound rationale mixed with creative ways of working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential reading, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of excellent ideas which help you work with children in a fun, intimidating free way. Highly recommended! Buy, buy, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
Audrey and Helen both have long experience of working with children. Good to have a book written by front line practitioners for front line practioners. After 20 years of working with children I got some great ideas and pointers.

Must have for new and experienced practitioners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book., 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
This is a great book, simple but effective. It has lots of tips and acitivities that can be completed with children, without having to buy expensive resources. Within a few days of buying the book I was able to put some of the ideas into practice. I have bought other books that have been more expensive and a lot less effective. I would recommend this to both new and old practitioners within childcare, therapeutic and social care settings - I am sure you will gain something from it, I know i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
This book is full of very realistic practical ideas to communicate more effectively with vulnerable children. I have begun using the ideas straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 5 Aug 2013
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
In the current economic climate and with the rising workloads in social care, there is an urgent need for a book like this.

The authors share their well-developed and already tried strategies with us in a clear and down-to-earth way.

With the help of detailed explanations, case examples, suggested ideas and practical approaches, the writers guide us through the process of understanding and changing our attitudes. They provide us with a solid basis for working with children directly and also inspire us to rethink our professional practice.

This book is a common sense guide for a range of roles, particularly for busy social workers to gain rapport with children who find it difficult to express their wishes and feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
Reads well and have a variety of interventions. A unique book that is helpful when working with vulnerable children. A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great ideas, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication (Paperback)
Really interesting book, the author is very creative and dedicated and obviously spends a lot of time preparing for her work with children. I like the way it's written and the success stories included with each exercise make for an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews