Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying
As a CAMHS psychologist I found this an invaluable guide to working with attachment issues in children. I liked its practical approach and have recommended it to other professionals and to parents and carers. I have also used ideas from this book in my own work - there are some lovely activities described, such as a 'brick wall' of experiences needed for healthy...
Published 15 months ago by Dr Sally Morgan

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars okay intro but perhaps you might be better reading other more established authors
This is a nice introduction to the ideas surrounding attachment and the author is obviously very experienced in the area. However... I couldn't help feel that the core elements of the book are 'borrowed' from other authors (e.g. Kim Golding) and the dilution of these ideas makes it a little 'pop psychology' for me. As a qualified psychologist, I noted that many of the...
Published 5 months ago by NWPsych


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
As a CAMHS psychologist I found this an invaluable guide to working with attachment issues in children. I liked its practical approach and have recommended it to other professionals and to parents and carers. I have also used ideas from this book in my own work - there are some lovely activities described, such as a 'brick wall' of experiences needed for healthy development that help to make complicated ideas accessible and understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment in common sense read, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this very helpful in considering the attachment theories and discussions, the doodles are great, it will appear to all learning styles. Intend to use some doodles at my next training session
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not light reading, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Lovely book with lots of great information, it can be slightly too in depth at times though. But for someone who can talk it through with another who has similar issues its great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does what it says!, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
We were recommended this book by our social worker when applying to adopt. It is very easy to read and as someone who already works with children, rings a bell with children I've already met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment for all, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Miriam's book is full of common sense and genuine wisdom about the nature of attachment and how relevant it is for how we relate to ourselves and others. I'm a clinical psychologist working in adult mental health services. I have used Miriam's analogies and doodles with the adults I work with in therapy. I've also used them to introduce the concept of attachment to non-psychology staff to help them better understand attachment patterns and their implications for how we relate to each other and to the people who come to us for help. Understanding attachment in this way can help foster compassion and point the way to more secure and fulfilling relationships for everyone. A truly wonderful guide and relevant to all! Thank you Miriam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 July 2013
By 
Valerie (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
book is very clearly written, easy to understand and fun to read. Very helpful diagrams that make concepts easy to remember and detailed examples to highlight points- definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
This is the best book I've read about attachment, it's very clear, informative and full of great activities and stories to help make sense of each issue.

Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful for anyone dealing with attachment difficulties, very clear and easy and quick to read. I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best attachment books on the Market. All Foster carers should by this book wonderful !!!!, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. E. Graham (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recommended the practical guide to all my foster carers. I have used the practice guide as a practical tool for all foster carers, who foster for TACT Fostering (Bristol & South West).

The guide is easy to read and understand. It will help foster carers understand and hold on to children and young people, who have had difficult experiences and a complex start to life.

It is by far the best book on the market!

Elaine Graham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attachment in Common Sense and Doodles: A Practical Guide by Dr Miriam Silver, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Attachment in Common Sense and Doodles is the first book by Dr Miriam Silver, a Consultant Clinical Psychologist specialising in parenting, attachment and the impact of early trauma. Aimed primarily at anyone who has contact with children who have experienced early trauma, neglect or abuse (e.g. foster carers, adoptive parents, kinship carers, social workers) the book aims to explain how attachment theory can support our understanding of problematic behaviours and guide what responses might be helpful. However, Dr Silver’s balance between common sense, psychological theory and practical advice makes this an equally fantastic resource for parents and mental health professionals.

The presentation of the book is excellent, using ‘doodles’ which are consistently clear, concise and relevant to the theories being presented. The chapters are brief and easy to navigate, ideal for those put off by more traditional academic textbooks. Most chapters are supplemented by discussions of example cases and activities conducted with clients, helping to demonstrate Dr Silver’s experience and expertise in her field. As a mental health professional, this brings the book to life and acts as an inspiring insight into the creative ways in which a wide range of families can be helped to improve their relationships with their children. The book also regularly encourages reflection and suggests useful activities or conversations to try, making it a practical tool for people supporting children who have experienced difficult starts to their lives.

Whilst Dr Silver draws on and summarises relevant and recent research throughout the book, some chapters would benefit from additional references to help prevent the text from being unfairly considered a ‘pop psychology’ book. It may be that a reader accepts the presented material as unequivocal fact if they are not able to critically appraise the content in line with current research. For example, Chapter 9 (“The Calm and the Storm”) is particularly lacking a balanced appraisal of relevant research which would help to support Dr Silver’s theories around how provocation may be develop as a survival strategy to “burn off conflict as quickly as possible” (p. 108). Additionally some discussions of brain structures and neurotransmitter systems could be considered over simplified, lacking discussion of the different perspectives and contrasting literature which currently make up the ever changing field of neuropsychology.

The book is presented in a way which starts simply but gradually builds up towards tackling core beliefs and shame, emphasising the importance of empathy and creating space for change. The well presented chapter on diagnosis provides a balanced and practical overview of relevant diagnostic labels and warning of how they can become explanatory. Supportive and non-blaming methods to help shape behaviours are offered, alongside a clear summary of how formulation can be useful will be a useful read to the professional and layperson alike.

Though further links to research may help both the professional and layperson to feel confident in the advice provided, Dr Silver meets her aims in providing a text which is coherent, clear and concise. Attachment in Common Sense and Doodles successfully fills an important gap in the market and despite it’s brevity, provides a thorough overview of attachment theory and it’s usefulness in helping children build secure and loving relationships.

Will Curvis
Trainee Clinical Psychologist, Lancaster University
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide
Attachment in Common Sense and Doodle: A Practical Guide by Miriam Silver (Paperback - 28 Mar 2013)
12.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews